Is it worth the abuse? (My perspective as an Acting Student and how it's relevant to Hollywood now.)

in #art6 years ago

It seems that theatre institutions, acting schools and universities are tantamount to training grounds, not just for the art of acting, but also for the conditioning of the students that exposes them to the exploitation and abuse they are to expect and accept within the Hollywood industry. Given everything that is happening in Hollywood with allegations of sexual misconduct, abuse and harassment, I felt it's necessary that I share the experience of many from this perspective. It's not just within Hollywood that this is an issue, but for many aspiring actors something with which they're confronted in their very first theatre class before they set foot in Hollywood.

Two years ago I attended a solo show writing class, that was mostly composed of actors who wanted to write and perform their own show. My friend who had attended the class painted a realistic picture for me of what to expect, "He's knowledgeable but his way of critiquing students' work is abusive. ". I thought, " I can deal with that, I just want to learn.". After a few classes, I realized that I shouldn't have to tolerate all of the brash interruptions in the middle of reading my fragile and still vulnerable work. After such an interruption, the student would then be critiqued in a hostile manner, where they question his structure of their own show they would be sharply reprimanded. It's understandable to want to keep the class on track with respect to the lesson, but harsh criticism and needless disrespect can cause an artist to freeze and become fearful of venturing outside the box, which is crucial to their journey. After confronting him privately over email, he replied, "i am not known for tact, so i suggest you figure out a way to learn from me that works for you.".

After dropping out of the class, it got me thinking that this happens more often than we actors like to acknowledge. And I questioned why we tolerate it. I've realized the major reason is because we're passion driven and have become so focused on the end result of gaining knowledge that we tend to neglect the way we're being taught. Believing the ends justify the means while neglecting the fact that it is the journey, not so much the destination that counts. While I appreciate my collective training within and outside of the university setting, there have certainly been some acting teachers who abused their power, the following are two such examples. I hope to lend light from my experience to my fellow actors.

One well known teacher invited me to his house to learn something that as he put it, "would not be taught in class", because he believed there was something 'special' about me. I stepped into his house only to learn that what he wanted to teach me about was 'sexual energy'. While I could have left at anytime from feeling uncomfortable at the invitation, to hearing the words 'sexual energy', to him placing his hands all over my body while clothed, performing this 'sexual energy' on me; against my better judgment, my curiosity and unintended naiveté got the better of me. While I felt violated and wondered about the appropriateness of what took place, the next day, by another teacher's reaction to my vacant gaze, I realized something was definitely off. Because this had taken place under the guise of a learning experience being taught by the teacher and I naively consented, the objective fact that this was abuse, becomes subjective to everyone who has not experienced it.

Another teacher I studied under, Facebook messaged me about writing a review for his class. After turning him down, I received this angry message from him, "Out of all the celebrities I've asked...and performers I've worked with: You get the award. You're the first to refuse to endorse my work.". I didn't have the nerve to tell him why I couldn't write the review. And while I learned a lot in his class, thinking back to all the yelling, sharp critiques and his seeming emotional instability, much like the above message, using the excuse of 'preparing you for the harsh reality of the industry', I just couldn't endorse his class subjecting another person to that environment.

Why are so many acting teachers abusive, and why do they shamelessly try to justify their behavior even after having been confronted? Perhaps in an industry where abuse is rampant, where abuse begets more of the same, the training ground is hopelessly contaminated. But I believe many of them teach more so to feed their own egos than to impart any useful knowledge to their students...particularly those with such a history. Most students just accept it.

I've learned of similar stories from other actors of teachers crossing the line of professionalism 'for the sake of the art'. From my experience students who study with abusive teachers do not become tougher in the industry as they like to suggest you will, but rather take long breaks for years at a time or quit altogether. Mentors need to be nurturing, not heavy handed and domineering and I've had many such teachers; And while it's important to place trust in them, we need to be the guardians of our own creativity first. That basic human respect needs to be expected, protected and demanded at all times from student and teacher alike, no amount of knowledge, training or opportunity is worth the abuse.

Written by Jia Doughman
Edited by Warren Eugene Merrick III
June 27, 2014

Sort:  

Congratulations @jiadoughman! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28