The Search for Snow (Part 4 of 9)

in #art7 years ago (edited)


search-for-snow.png


To start the year, my family, my fiancée and I went on a trip to South Korea. This is part four of my nine-part love letter to the land of the morning calm.


search-for-snow-4.png

As with the second part, I will reserve the explanation for when the bigger picture is revealed. For those waiting for my overexplanation, all I can say is be careful what you wish for. Take note of all the subtleties, and feel every emotion resonating from the piece. Do let me know your thoughts in the comments section. I would be happy to read about them!


<< Part 3


한국, 정말 고마워요!




Look no further than @lukestokes.mhth to solve your STEEM woes. Help keep him as a top witness to keep the STEEM flowing :D


Join me in my Year of Resilience!

Sort:  

It makes me feel...hungry, lol, and like dancing, and it makes me think of the money I'll be dropping on our spring/summer road trip, actually it makes me think of the fun we'll be having too, the places we'll see :)

Oooohhhh!! Where are you guys heading off to this spring/summer? :D I'm glad it's what this artwork made you think about. Maybe I should start subliminally inserting images of upvotes for dem whales to pick up on hahaha!

We are going cross country, all the way west to Cali! But most importantly, we are going to see @therealpaul in the Ozarks, I at least get to meet one of you this year! Yay!

Awww woohoo!! Nice! Have one Shindig Shop CD signed for me before it runs out of stock!

Hey there brother! Korea! I spent four years teaching English there in my early 20s! Now I'm an old man at age 35 lol.

I see you are from the Philippines! Nice, where abouts are you from? I spent a couple weeks on the Island of Cebu in a place called Moal Boal. This was about 7 years ago. I'm due to revisit your country; as it's a very beautiful country indeed!

As far as looking for snow! I grew up in Up-state NY, there was plenty of that stuff. Now I've spent about 11 of the last 15 years trying to avoid the stuff while living out of a backpack!

Anyway I'll be following you and your fiance. Just let me know her screen name, just put you on my vote bot with the % I can spare. Have had trouble keeping that vote meter above 70% lately.

So happy to meet you! I sincerely hope to meet you in person one day as well! -Dan "World Travel Pro!"

Hey, hey, hey, Dan! I've just put you on my autovote as well. I don't autovote a lot of people, so I have no worries slotting you with a 100% :D

Man, that's awesome to hear! Living off a backpack has always been a dream of mine. Unfortunately, I never had the chance to take a plunge. I'm hoping that I could still catch up with a wife in tow haha! You're living the dream! It's great to hear how well travelled you are at the ripe age of 35. I mean, you wouldn't be a pro if you aren't!

My fiancee's handle is @randomli, but she's been a bit apprehensive about posting. She's had this cool idea for a series for quite some time now. And I think she's just waiting for the right timing to put that first post up. We live in Cavite, and I'm hoping to change that to a roaming value soon. I've never been to Cebu, but my fiancee has a few years ago.

Definitely looking forward to meeting you in person as well, brother! Until then, I'm just glad that we have this platform to interact on :D

Thank you so much Jed, any support I get and can reciprocate is always so appreciated. As far as living out of backpack it's my preferable way to live now. I had a house, swimming pool, two car garage.......and so on. But I hated it. Was like I was hostage to taking care of all my "stuff" when all I really wanted to do was travel. So I sold everything long ago and I've just been fortunate enough to have the funds to live how I have for over a decade now! Bought the house at age 22! I started earning $$$$ young! lol

Cavite, I'm unfamiliar with that place however I'm sure it's nice. Timing is important when starting a series, but I wouldn't be too concerned. I'd encourage your girl just to go for it!

Anyway, great connecting with you here. I'll be in touch. -Dan

Likewise! Always fun reciprocating support. I usually just stop commenting on people when I've commented more than three times on their posts and they never bother to visit mine.

That's such an awesome perspective, talking about being a caretaker to your stuff. I saved up a lot when I was young as well. How have you been funding your trips though? That's an awesome post or series there if you haven't written that already.

Cavite's about an hour away from Manila, so we're on that edge of provincial and city living. I live a stone's throw away from the ocean so that's always nice.

So glad you can relate. The only way I've been able to not work and just travel is using my travels as a way to save money. As you know living in London is a heck of a lot more expensive than living Lake Atitlan Guatamala! So I just use the world to balance my budget. My income through investments has been around 1,000 dollars a month for years. So I've got a nice savings, and I don't like to touch it or there goes my income, then I'm back to zero. Place I never want to be again.

I don't travel to be a tourist. I travel to live free of a JOB. If I went to Switzerland because I simply wanted to see switzerland. I go broke very fast. So my travels have kept me to mostly Latin America and South east Asia. But I'm going to be branching out now with my steemit income.

Anyway I suppose I could make a post about that. I probably should.

Cavite sounds really nice, near the beach! I'll be in touch! -Dan

1,000 USD a month!? Wow!! You made a sound investment there, bud! In a year, you're already a half-millionair here haha!

Definitely! I totally agree with your line of reasoning. I'm going to be following that series keenly for sure!

Nice post keep up the hard work! Theywillkillyou ,Angelo told me about you! Welcome

Likewise! Hoping to catch fire, hot enough to merit a mention in the Haas Picks haha! Thanks for stopping by, brother!

This is actually an amazing idea for a series of posts!! can't wait for getting all of them together! congratulations and thank you for sharing!!

Man, thanks for noticing! It's been a labor of love so any compliments are very much appreciated. I've been trying to spread my wings and touch on different media with this.

That's a very cool picture. It's yours? But that's not your hand, is it?

WHAT AM I SEEING :P lol

I guess the emotions I'm feeling from the picture are happiness tinged with whimsy and maybe a wee bit of avarice?

Indeed, I made it haha! Sometimes these hands of mine are used for more than writing words haha! Who knew! It's a tribute to South Korea, so it's far deeper than what it lets on. The emotions you felt are spot on with what I'm trying to convey though.

Neato bandito! May I ask how? An app like one of the ones you mentioned in a different comment thread?

I'm old school, I use GIMP (no, not the S&M variety), it's kind of like a free Photoshop.

Sweet. I'll look it up.

Let me know how it goes.

I will. The child is sleeping in the computer room, which is the only time I have time to compute.

Ha.

You could always put him to work. Never too early for child labor.

Looks like you were freezing there and spending money while the coins were falling into your wallet out of thin air. Just hope they don't make snow with Snowmaxx.

There were days when the cold was too much, but it was a great experience overall. I was happy to spend the money that I spent there.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jedau
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=the-search-for-snow-part-4-of-9


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Whew! Where would I be without you?

You got a 5.31% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jedau!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

The total is getting lower and lower...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59415.56
ETH 2593.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47