Capsella Bursa-pastoris drawing process

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Capsella bursa-pastoris (shepherd's purse) is used both for human consumption and medicinal purposes, amongst other things.

Capsella_image.jpg

I love this plant, it looks very funny, as its many crops will turn away from it in all directions. In my childhood they told us that he could play with him to twist between our palms and give a little rattle.

Sketch on paper with pencil. The sketch size is A / 4. That's why I wanted to draw this plant as if the wind was blowing a little over it. I sketched the drawing so that the plants would not hanging out the edge of the image, just in the middle, as if they had grown from the same root and how the girl embraced them, as if it were a small fairy of plants.

Capsella_bursa_pastoris.jpg

So I had to plank the board so that the wood grain would also show it. I always make a sketch drawing and copy the contours on the board. From the outline, I applied the contours carefully to the board with copying paper, and I did not draw it there to keep the board as clear. I did not paint the plank on this picture, only I left the color of the tree.

Capsella_draw.jpg

When I was outlining the plant and the girl, I thought that the color of her hair should be harmonized with the color of the plant.

Capsella_bursa_pastoris_01.jpg

I'm drawing this picture on wooden plank with aquarell pencils. I use Terre d'Ombre, Ombre naturelle, Brun rouge, pink and white to draw skin color. I use paintbrush only on larger surfaces, but not for coloring the dress, because the pencil prints on the tree like a rustic surface, as if it were a linen cloth. The color of the dress is made in the end because I choose the shade that matches the plant and her hair color. In this picture, the color of the dress became darker in color, in contrast to the light of the hair and thus the clearer stems of the plant were better placed. Plank size: 8x8 inch.

Capsella_bursa_pastoris.jpg

What I also like is that if we look more closely at the crops they have a heart shape. :)

Capsella_bursa_pastoris_detail.jpg

After I photographed the picture I made digitally a unsaturated vintage-like version.

Capsella_bursa_p_sat.png

Thank you for your watching! I hope you enjoyed it!

Links to my previously illustrations

Sort:  

Great work! As always! :)
You know SNDBOX-ALFA:
You can submit your post here:
https://steemit.com/curation/@sndbox-alpha/submissions-for-art-and-music-this-week-sndbox-alpha-02-05-02-09

Thank you very much for your comment and support! I really appreciate it!

You're welcome! :)

Wow, amazing. But next time make it bigger showing us step by step how you made it. Also put fresh content. I found this on one site. You published it one year ago. If you want some big reword, you have to do that. But steem on, you are amazing artist. :)

Thank you very much for your comment! :)

Another lovely one, I like this plant. It makes me think a bit of chamomile as well. I love their expressions.

Thank you again for your very kindly words! Before I drew the Capsella have never looked at it thoroughly and have really small white flowers. Oh, I've been outlining the chamomile too long ago, but I did not draw it yet. :)

I love to grow it in my herbal 'tea' garden. I also have some low growing chamomile that you can walk on and it's scent is wondrous.

Unfortunately, we do not have a garden, we live in the middle of the city, but we always buy herbal teas and they fragrant.

Really nice work :)
I really like the way you made character and plant overlapping :)

Thank you for your comment! On this part I had to work a lot. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54147.93
ETH 2274.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35