Papaver rhoeas

in #art7 years ago

Papaver rhoeas (red poppy) is a flowering plant, with petals that have medicinal properties. I'm drawing this picture on wooden plank with aquarell pencils. Plank size: 8x8 inch.

Papaver_rhoeas_03.jpg

I usually draw the character's hair and clothes just in the end.
I do some color schemes for what kind of hair and dress the color fits together.

Sketch on paper with pencil.

Details

Thank you for watching!

Sort:  

Really beautiful, as always. I love the colours and I am also obsessed with poppies, I have used them a lot.

I love the dreamy quality of the figures and the detail on the flowers is amazing and really effective on the wood!

Thank you for your very kindly comment! Poppy is always a gratifying subject. :)

Dear Artist ! FineArtNow is a new place for artists on Steemit ! Become our friend ! See you soon !

I love how delicate your pieces are. So soft ! 💕

Thank you for the praising words from you. :)

I may have missed it, but did you ever say why your creating this series? I saw the belladonna one and more in your feed. All of them look really beautiful :)

Thank you! I began the series with the most powerful plants, the ingredients of the notorious witch ointment (Unguentum maleficarum). Because of the hallucinations caused by ointment, they were innocently charged with witchcraft. I wanted to show, that this girls knew the plant's properties. But the poppy already I just wanted to show the beauty of the plant. :)

That's so cool! :) Yeah, before science, when people hallucinated, that must have been really scary. Like, why is this happening? lol

I love this!

Oh, thank you for your comment!

I'm really in love with your style.

This one captures both the innocence and wisdom of childhood. Although poppies can be dangerous. She might be playing with fire!

I wanted to show, that this girl knew the plant's properties. She is a white witch the same as the other daughters of the series.
Of course, everyone interprets the picture for yourself, but I'm happy to see if you like my drawing. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54339.14
ETH 2284.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33