Tarot Major Arcana handpainted cards...Part XIsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

This is part 11 of my Tarot Major Arcana Series.
This is the final cards from my major arcana, based on the rider waite tarot deck. As written earlier the last 4 cards was lost and so I have made new ones.

Hopefully by posting them here They will not be lost again, having both a digital and a "analog" copy. Maybe if some of you decide to print your own versions of them, there might be more copies. Thats a nice thought.

Judgement day , the original card is called. I just called mine The Judgment or "Dommen" in danish. I wanted it to be less tied to the christian idea of judgment day and more to a general feeling of inevitable consequence. Not necessarily bad consequence but merely that sometimes the end result of something is out of your own hands and you must accept whatever judgment someone else passes over you. Much like posting your work on the web and hoping someone likes, it and not too many people are offended by it. I chose the "judge" to be an angelic figure but not quite an angel. I also gave it an axe instead of a sword, more like an executioner.
I placed the human figure in a kneeling position as if awaiting the verdict. I let the judge be green because green is the color of hope, and it fitted well with letting the human be red.

The final card in the Major Arcana is the world. Whereas the rider-waite has a naked woman in a circle of leaves with the apostles (or their symbolic creatures)I wanted something that was more general and less tied with christian symbolism, much like the former card. Thus, I switched the apostles for the 4 elements and let the person in the middle be replaced by something not quite defined but still unquestionably alive. Some fetus perhaps, maybe a human maybe a dragon, maybe something completely different. Even thought his card is somewhat crowded I think it works well and it can be taken as proof that I dont necessarily have to make nsfw images , even when the card I base it on has a naked woman :-)

this is part 11 of my Tarot card major arcana if you want to read the previous posts, check them out here:
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
Part 7
Part 8
Part 9
Part 10
if you want to print out these cards and use them to make your own major arcana deck , feel free to do so
I hope you have enjoyed following this little series and would like more. if so feel free to follow. If you have comments please write them below, and if you like what you have seen dont hesitate to upvote.


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. if you want to know more about me check out my introduction post here
If you like what I do, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem

Sort:  

Congratulations @evilhippie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you for creating and showing your tarot cards!
It was really nice to see,
what your ideas/concepts were behind them
and what you have adjusted accordingly!

Youre welcome :-) thanks for following me the whole way

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63179.13
ETH 2573.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72