Tarot Major Arcana handpainted cards...Part XsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

This is part 10 of my Tarot Major Arcana Series.

As I wrote earlier these cards are new. The originals where somehow lost, so I had to make them all over again in order to have a full Major Arcana. It took a little longer than I would have liked since I had to find my watercolours, which had hidden themselves beneath years of papers, I finally found them and this weekend I also found the time to colour the new cards.

I remembered the original sun card quite clearly. that is actually often the case with drawings that I have spent some time on. If I close my eyes and can picture some of the things I did while in highschool, often I can also remember the context, so it is a really good mnemonic technique for me to draw when listening to a teacher or lecturer. Anyways the sun in the original rider waite cards is a very positive card in that it pictures a triumphant child on a white horse with the sun filling the background. I wanted to emphasize the scorching and blinding ability of the sun also to open up the scope of possible interpretations, thus I let the woman be turned towards the sun shielding her eyes and standing in a scorched landscape.

I have always loved the Moon and all the mystical symbolism it has. For my Moon card I chose a mountainous scene with wolves. It is not as closely based on the riderwaite than some of my other cards but still takes most of the symbols from this. I did however clean it up a bit and left out some of the things that are in the riderwaite card, such as the water and the lobster-creature. I just couldnt get it in there in a satisfying way.

this is part 10 of my Tarot card major arcana if you want to read the previous posts, check them out here:
Part 1
Part 2
Part 3
Part 4
Part 5
Part 6
Part 7
Part 8
Part 9
if you want to print out these cards and use them to make your own major arcana deck , feel free to do so


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. if you want to know more about me check out my introduction post here
If you like what I do, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem

Sort:  

I love this series of posts. I had the same experience while sitting lectures. I think I drew all the art history in art school or at least a good part of it. I also remembered more by drawing small pictures of everything rather then writing down all the notes.

Glad you liked them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94