I am not a spiritual person But.....steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

While I was rummaging through some old papers looking for something, My Eye was drawn to an old box that lay forgotten on a shelf. I took it down and recognized it for what it was. My old Homemade Tarot cards. Thats where I decided i might as well share some of my old (and later maybe some newer) drawings with you here on Steemit. Today is the first of what will become a little series on my Tarot Major Arcana cards.
I am not a spiritual person. I am very much your average science fascinated agnostic. I do however have a deep fascination with everything fantastic, be it fantasy or science fiction movies or books or folklore and religions.
As a compulsively creative person I have always drawn on these thing as my primary inspiration, and thus it was inevitable that I should stumple upon the world of spiritualism. This happened a long time ago when I was a teenager. A good friend of mine was very much into all kinds of spiritual and occult stuff and since we played roleplaying games together at the time, we also started sharing this interest in the "occult"( yes I played Rpgs back when it was only for lonely male geeks and live roleplay wasnt invented yet)
http://evilhippie.dk/Misc/Steemit/2017_07/narren.png
My fascination was (and is) only in the creative and imagination side of it. but I find these symbols and images very evocative, so one obvious outlet for this would be to design and make my own deck of tarot cards. And so I did.
I bought a rider waite deck and found images of the deck designed for Aleister Crowley. and set about finding out what symbols I needed to have in there. Back then it was not a possibilty to do any kind of digital drawing so it was old fashioned pen and paper. I also didnt have the entire internet to get information so I went to the library and borrowed as many books about the subject as I could get my hands on
http://evilhippie.dk/Misc/Steemit/2017_07/magikeren.png
Today I will just give you the first two cards. The fool and the magician. I will endeavour to try and write a little bit of information about each of the cards and my thoughts on them, but bear in mind that they were made more than 25 years ago so I might not remember everything :-)
first of is the fool. this card is quite close to the one I based it on from the rider-whaite deck. the only thing i really chaged was that i made the androgynous male figure more feminine and I chaged the colour to be contrasting between yellow and violet. At the moment I found contrasting colours endlessly fascinating and I still think its a great way to give an image instant appeal.
The second one is a self protrait. At the time we where playing a roleplaying game using gurps as our system , which was quite heavily inspired by call of cthulhu, and we played ourselves in a setting where demons where real.(that is a bunch of highschoolgeeks from a small danish town )
It was great fun and gave rise to a lot of fun drawings and selfportraits. This image was based on one of these drawings. It was back when a lot of crazy people got a lot of attention by claiming that roleplaying games would make kids go crazy and think it was all real. We made this campaign as a joke based on this controversy, our way of saying "get real".
Next time, the Highpriestess and the Empress.

Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. if you want to know more about me check out my introduction post here

Sort:  

Great designs and post. Interesting the "non-spiritual" (obviously genuine) angle - thank you. Looking forward to the next. Upvoted and followed.

Very interesting and different!

Thank you. It was my intention to give them my own feel, without loosing the symbolism of the originals

Congratulations @evilhippie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49