Finished sculpture head, the type of clay I’m using and my next creation.

in #art6 years ago (edited)


A big hello from my favorite spot at @caffetto. I’m starting another day sculpting while @kommienezuspadt finishes an awesome drawing that he’s been working on. Be sure to look out for his post later today....unless we’re caught playing Magic: The Gathering through to the evening.

This morning I woke up to see the sky snowing down on Minneapolis. Spring might continue to be delayed at this point. I thought I’d feel more discouraged with the change in weather but I’m quite the opposite. 

So here’s an image of the tools that I use when I sculpt. I don’t know the brand but I got then online, same with the Sculpey clay. I like using this type of clay because I can throw it in the oven for 30 minutes to harden it then I don’t have to worry about it getting squished.

Yesterday I got to talking with @mada about my sculpting and different methods I could use to make a casting. I recall him speaking about sculpting with wax and I’ve decided to give it a shot after speaking with @kommienezuspadt. It’s been said that I might enjoy it more because I’ll be able to get a lot of fine details into the wax. So these babies are mine to keep. I’m going to finish sculpting with my remaining clay before I make the switch.

Last night I finished this head sculpture by giving this Fae a scheming expression. What’s tricks does it have planned? I guess we will have to wait and see.

This morning I started sculpting something new. The idea was to have it become a rodent but it’s already changed since then. I’ll be sure to share more progress shots in a future post.


Thanks for stopping by to check out my work!

What tricks do you think these faeries are planning? 🦊

Sort:  

Magical thing you! This is lovely and I think the faeries are planning to bathe you in more inspiration to create fairyland creatures!🍃🐛🧚🏻‍♀️

Oh!!! That sounds like the best plan! I will gladly accept more inspiration.

I Like This Post. That's Very Amazing dear

Thanks for checking it out!

I might try this at some point to make my comic's character as figures, thanks!

That would be really cool! Let me know if you do and I’ll check it out.

Thanks to a conversation I had with @donnadavisart, I’ve been thinking about sculpting characters to use as reference. I’m alright at drawing certain limbs but full figure is still tricky for me.

It won't be now but maybe towards the end of the year with the coming up projects.

Yeah, I did see some artists sculpting themselves characters as for reference, must be so helpfull indeed!

This comment has received a 1.42 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @haedre.

i like your work, i havent had a go with sculpey in years but i remember it being a nice material to work with. Looking forward to seeing some wax carvings. good luck with the casting, i've always found that side of things quite hard to master!

Thanks! Luckily, I’ve got a bunch of friends who have dabbled in casting so I’m only slightly nervous. Do you have any sculptures shared on Steemit?

oh nice, first hand tips are always the best! I haven't got any sculptural stuff on here no, unless you count the Jewellery. The few times i've tried casting jewellery items they havent really been worth documenting

Now that is amazing talent. This is the extent of my sculpting prowess. I call it...Weiner Dog.

image.png

It’s very charming!

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

The cheeky grin was the perfect finish, great job! Looking forward to seeing how the new model comes together.

Thanks! So far it’s looking like a lizard but it might change again.

Your sculptures are very nice, I hope to continue to sell more: 3

Ooh, do you sell sculptures?

Jajajaja I meant to "see more" I think the dictionary of my phone I played a joke lol

Oh! That makes sense! Yes, you will see more. I ended up finishing the one I started this morning and then I brainlessly completed another. :D

half way between a reptile and a tree! amazing! can't wait to see more! :)

I’ve been really into trees lately and fairies so these creatures keep popping up in my mind. :)

Oh man, these little guys are so adorable! I've never really done much sculpting, (making overly complex play doh creations for the kids to destroy seconds later doesn't count) but your posts are making me want to get on amazon and order a few things so I can try it!

You should give it a try! Then next year your level up your cake decorating skills and they’ll love it. :)

Yes! That's a great excuse for even more art supplies taking up space... though I already make such a mess when I'm doing cakes, I can only imagine what my hubby would say if I started doing fondant/modeling chocolate sculpting on top of it. 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64294.06
ETH 3427.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59