The importance of Play in Art for me. Adding digital manipulation and drawings to yesterday's prints.

in #art6 years ago

The fox joins friends upon the manipulated background of my print.

july13thumnbnail.jpg

Here is a larger section with the three creatures together on the new background.
july13bluesingle.jpg

And of course, I made it as a repeat so it could be fun to place on fabric, wallpaper, etc.
july13bluerepeat.jpg

Taking the original print I made the other day:
july12thumbnail.jpg
And simply sampling two sections, I made repeats and mirrored the top and bottom sections.
july13printaltered.jpg
This gave me a sort of modern abstract ground upon which to place some animals. Taking your physical work and making it digital gives you the freedom now to play with colour or size or layering; endless digital collage opportunities.

Next this cast of characters was sketched and then made digital and done in ink and watercolour.

july13animals.jpg

This allows me now to use them as I see fit. In this case I sampled the three of them in this configuration to use as a repeat upon the new altered background. I though the quasi-psychadelic feel of an enlarged garden would be the perfect place to put three natural enemies. Well, the fox at the least is the enemy of the other two; he loves to feed on them.

As artists we get to be story tellers and this random creation places these unlikely friends upon a repeated ground hinting at nature.

Changing the background colour to suit the colours of the animals is the next step of fun. I can then change the colours of characters and background for endless iterations.
july13orangesingle.jpg
Keeping these two elements as separate layers allows me to play with colour to no end.

At some point I will probably go in with another tool and make the sharp lines blur or smear or smudge. Or I'll add a third layer from the print by sampling a section of the original print just to build it up.

Digital collage is just an amazing way to play and create with your own pieces.

Now, back to my premise: Play and why it's so important to me. Whether I am in the studio with a mess of ink pots, silk screens and printing press or simply on my digital tablet with far too many windows open for inspiration, playing with ideas and images is very important to me. Now, is it important to the final result? Possibly, one would hope. But, in many ways, I think it is important to me, as an artist, as it keeps the fire going and the desire to create and to say something. Because, really, artists are trying to say something when they create.

Artist are the pictorial story-tellers.

Even in a sparse almost monotone abstraction an artist is telling us a story. So, for me, sampling and playing is really important.

When I first discovered using digital it was magical. I hadn't even a drawing tablet yet and was simply using digital tech to aid in my process for my screenprinted monoprints. I would pour over old family and other photos from the Victorian times, often focusing on the female form, and bring these into the digital world. There I could manipulate contrast and shadow until I could get a good silhouette or layer to print on plastic to use as a negative to make silk screens.

Thus my process would go in and out of the digital and real world.

Today I have found my love of oil again and I found it by playing in the digital world. I now can spend as long as I often did on a 'real' canvas painting and smearing oil to get effect. However, the digital world allows me to capture layers to use again and again or to readdress later if I wish I had done something differently.

All things are potential tools for artists.

I truly believe a stick from the garden, your finger, or the digital world are all tools in the arsenal of the artist as story teller. And in many ways, the digital world can be a playground for the artist. Even if an artists final work is only in the physical, the amount of preparation, experiment, and play in the digital could be so valuable for any artist in any medium.

Now, of course, 'play' to me isn't just messing in my studio or playing in my digital space, it is also other elements that I feel feed my creativity. I love to Garden, I've made no bones about that, but playing with plant and seed, herbaceous border or clay pot is enriching.

The colour of plants and the textures of soil and container are all inspiration to a hungry mind constantly wishing to tell pictorial stories.

My own obsession with animals also is part of the play I find so important to Art and Life. Watching my chickens in their little society, or nurturing an egg in the incubator to chick then adult then to her own motherhood hatching her own eggs, all of this is wonder and play to me.

I honestly believe that to give over to Play in our lives is important to us all whether we are artists of any sort or simply want to enjoy and enrich our lives. That moment of discovery and trial and error we take for granted as children often gets lost along the way. Yet, I am not saying we should remain 'childish' or think 'immature irresponsibility' is what I am lauding. I think to have the knowledge of an adults rationale mind with the joy and play of the childlike mind is really a fine quality and good goal for happiness and creative impulse. And anyway, I think it at least a good way to simply enjoy the Simple in life, which is important to ones feeling of well being.

Here I have gone off on some random tangent when I simply meant to share the next bit of Play I was doing with the gelliplate prints I shared in my last post.

Yet it does show how simple acts and pure observation can lead to creation and joy.

And I hope you make some time today for play, whatever Play might mean to you.


If you like my posts please upvote, resteem, and by all means comment, I love comments!


Check out my other posts:


Copyright @donnadavisart - All Rights Reserved

asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

Your post is my first read this morning and what a breath of sunshine it is to read your thoughts on playing withing with art. I couldn't express this act of play so succincly but I enter in the joy and wonder of the multiple facets of how the contemplation and execution of art renews the fresh, childish part of my soul, too. Be it digital or in real life nothing but art and creating anything can be rewarding and fulfilling. Well done and I love the colors and the animals.

I'm so glad I could make your day start out with sunshine! I hope today is just as fine for you!

It is so true that the child like joy making and also enjoying Art brings is SO important.

Thank you, dear. Hugs! I hope your day goes well, too!

I always so enjoy your posts and the mix of garden, animals, and art. Today I saw something in my garden I had never seen before: a flower opened before my eyes! As though it had an inner spring! Amazing. Then a black bumblebee with aqua colored wings came to poke around in my "campanules". (Don't know the name in English). Yes, nature and gardens are a constant source of joy and inspiration.

Thank you.

Oh, getting to see a flower pop open is always so amazing and magical. Whenever it happens, and it is rare, it always feels such a special gift.

We call them campanula or "bell flower" and it's funny, as I just added a new one to my herbaceous border. I found it in bad shape in the 'mark down' bin of my garden center and bought it very cheap knowing I could nurse it back to health. It just needed more sun.

Yes I too have my "plant clinic", a special sunny window where I nurse plants back to health.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 22 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 7 SBD worth and should receive 83 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Thank you, I am always appreciative of artificial life forms, they make our world easier and nicer :) I wish my post would make more too, trufflepig, but c'est la vie, what can one do? One draws and paints and writes and if it is found wanting, well then, no one leaves a tip. The saga of the busquer who apparently does not sing the song all enjoy :)

Well done! I could see these cute critters on Artist trading Cards😉

Oh goodness, I'd love to do artists trading cards, that'd be so much fun. I wonder how one goes about it?

Oh I think I used to make a few of these back in the day and sold them I think they were called ACEO or something. I'd love to make collectible digital cards today. I know they exist but not sure how to 'get in on it' as it were :)

This concept of 'play', it is an un-familiar concept to me. As is as similar, the idea of the short comment...

You get a thousand smiles for that one! :)
Again here I am so far behind and I am about to click your familiar name with trepidation that you shall have posted 5 things to which I have not responded nor voted. Get ready to chastise me!

Always glad to make you smile. I'm quite sure the world's spindle is greased with humor. And no worries, no chastisement in order here...I've not posted much to date. Kind of on a weekly schedule now. Just trying to keep up with voting and some commenting. I've been busier than that proverbial one-brush paper hanger. So, not much is written to date. At least I'm not wearing out my computer ( : Hope your Sunday is Sublime. I may go to the coast, to avoid the 100 degree weather. Then again, I have a pump and well to plumb. Hmm, do what we want, do what we NEED to do. Hmmm.......

The eternal struggle. That's why I try the system of each day, do what you NEED in the morning do what you Want the rest of the day, It doesn't always work, but practice makes perfect or some such .

Why so sad kitty? Do YOU want to eat the hare and the hedgehog and not let the fox get them? ;)

So amazing.. Awesome work!

i love this, donna ! so creative ! they look like wallpaper when repeated in a pattern * ___* you are right, of course, it is important to keep an element of PLAY in arting :> I also think arting is kind of a way for our internal spirit to have an outlet of fun and playfulness :D

The fox, rabbit and hedgehog are super cute, also * ___ *

Hello @donnadavisart, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27