Graffiti at the feet of Aconcagua, the highest mountain in South America (Argentina)

in #art5 years ago

DSC_003.JPG

When I was in Argentina earlier on this year, I had a three day stay in Mendoza. One whole day was spent in the Aconcagua National Park. The main reason I wanting to visit this park was to get close to the highest mountain in South- America – Aconcagua (6.960 m.above sea level).


On our way to the national park, we stopped at Puente del Inca - a place with a natural bridge made in the rocks and only three kilometers away from the park entrance. A real small place with some cafees and souvenirshops. The "street" with the souvenir shops had a large painting of Charles Darwin! I did wonder if he had ever been here. Galapagos is what I associate with Darwin. I wouldn't be surprised if I should find out that he has been in the Andes. At the end of the railway track there were more graffiti.


Once I had a dream of doing the hike to the top. Since I never did that hike, I wanted to see the mountain. The drive from Mendoza to the National Park is a little over 100 km. From the car park at the entrance the Chilean border is only 15 kilometers away. The photo above shows Aconcagua. Highest mountain outside Asia and one of the Seven Sumits. We followed the path for some kilometers to a bridge crossing the stream. From there only climbers are allowed. But all the way this was the view.


Please do follow if you want to keep up with my next street art. Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated!

Latest street art post, check out :
STREET ART #56 – The coolest school in Granada, Spain (part 1)


U.J

Kristiansand, Norway

All the photoes are mine, Ulla Jensen (flickr, Instagram and facebook)


Read about us? // Main page!
Latest content: Travel, Art, Food, Article, Poetry

Sort:  

Beautiful Aconcagua view... You can't climb like that, access is controlled? With a guide ? Like you, Darwin did his Worl Tour with the Beagle :-)
@tipu curate

I am not sure if it is possible to climb by yourself, but when I was thinking of doing it, I wanted to go with a company that arrange everything, also with a guide. When in Ushuaia I did do a boat trip on the Beagle Channal :) named after his ship. when he did his tour he was also in Mauritius where he did a hike to Le Pouce mountain..so I followed in his footsteps :)

Follow Darwin's steps is great way to travel, the map of his World tour that makes you want to pack :-)

Thanks for showing me the map! Yeah! I definitly want to travel! I am actually planning the Azores in september..... I didn't know he has been there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33