Nina's High School Sketchbook, Vol 5 - and a writing contest!

in #art7 years ago

2003 was a prolific year for art! But this is my last batch from this year that I'm going to share, and I think I saved some of the most complicated for last. You can check out last week's sillier batch here!

You Can't Use Butterfly Wings

You Can't Use Butterfly Wings
Ink, Photoshop
This is one of my favourite pieces that I've ever made - it's largely inspired by the lyrics in a little-known industrial song by Machines of Loving Grace which I listened to quite a bit that year:

Don't place faith in human beings
Human beings are unreliable things
...
Human beings or butterfly wings

I also was slightly obsessed with writing words backwards, so that was a running theme for a long time...

Treehouse

Treehouse
Ink, Coloured Pencil on Graph Paper
Someone gave me some graph paper for geometry class and I definitely didn't do any geometry...

The Fragile

The Fragile
Ink on Illustration Board
I had a cool idea for a music video to accompany Nine Inch Nails' song "The Fragile" in which a young girl got increasingly frustrated and started banging herself against the wall - which revealed that she was actually made of porcelain. There's a friend who tries to help her (...unsuccessfully) and ends up picking up the pieces to glue her back together. It would involve a lot of dramatic slow motion crashes and macro shots. Of course this is not my song and it's almost 20 years old now so it's hard to justify doing a video project for it, but I might still try that idea for something of own at some point!

Tis The End...

Tis The End...
Ink, Coloured Pencil
Another one from my big hardbound sketchbook which is probably why I have back problems in my almost-old-age. This couple had sold their souls to the devil in order to have fame and fortune and a mansion in Beverly Hills, but unfortunately were unable to fulfill their side of the deal which involved killing their high level executive boss. It just proved to be more difficult than they expected, especially with their newfound fame. Thus, he's come to collect! Karma's a bitch.

The Daemons of Life are Getting Old

The Daemons of Life are Getting Old
Ink, Coloured Pencils
I don't have a good story for this one. It lives in my previously mentioned magical huge hardbound sketchbook in which I took more effort on silly pictures for whatever psychological reason, but I still liked how this one turned out.

*CONTEST TIME!*

Write a story to accompany the above illustration "The Daemons of Life are Getting Old"!

Rules:

  • At least 300 words but no more than 600
  • Judged on creativity and character development
  • Upvote this post and put a link to your submission in the comments here as well as in your submission post - the top 3 submissions will be featured in next week's Sunday Artday post!

Deadline is Friday Feb 2 at Midnight PST!

Winner gets a resteem and 2 SDB!

As usual I sincerely hope you enjoyed my artwork and I look forward to seeing the entries on my very first contest here on Steemit!! Thanks so much for all your support!

DEROSNEC

WebsiteYoutubeFacebookTwitterInstagramSpotifySoundcloudBandcampMusicoinSociety6Threadless

Art, Music, Movies, Media
Join the Uncensored

Sort:  

So much talent!! I think you and @d-pend should hook up and do something together. Would be amazing!

thank you so much! ooh I'll have to go check out his blog...

@derosnec So, how could I not enter :) My entry can be found here. Hop on over to meet "Amelia".

YES!! I'm excited!! thanks for entering! :D

Definitely did not do any geometry.

As a math guy myself, that's way better than geometry. I'll go work on geometry in that tree house. Beautiful!

I also like the first one. Human beings and butterfly wings... some kind of jack in the box skeleton thingy. Also just listened to the song. Fits the drawing pretty well I'd say. Butterfly wings in the lyrics seem so random though haha.

haha yeah the song doesn't make a whole lot of sense, but neither does being a teenager, so it all works out ;)

I'm sure if I actually did pay attention in geometry I could turn that into a proper blueprint, LOL!

Thanks again @eonwarped!

@derosnec OK, I'm sorely tempted to enter this lol :). On a side note, my hubby wants to know whether you'd sell "The Daemons of Life are Getting Old" and for how many SBD :). I know it's in your sketchbook but if you don't ask... you don't get!

I also love "You Can't Use Butterfly Wings" the concept, the style and the colors of the magical, fragile wings.

oh my that's an unexpected comment! haha - well I'm certainly open to selling it, though that is contingent upon whether I can actually get it out of the sketchbook cleanly. Would you want a print or the original? (either way I have to get it out of the book!)

and thank you! I hope you do enter!!

@derosnec He'd love the original :) But we'd hate for you to ruin your sketchbook. Let's talk on Discord :)

awesome! yup connect with you there :D

Your very talented. Love the house one.

Resteemed so my other arty friends can see and maybe enter =D

Thanks so much! I hope I get a lot of entries! :D

I love the tree house! So fancy 😂. It's always a pleasure looking at your art and learning a bit of the backstory about it.

Thanks a bunch, @siucatti!

You just got a vote from Sndbox-Alpha! For more information, click here

oh my! Thank you so much!! :D

These are crazy good! I'll have some people join the writing contest but I am here to admire because I don't have any talent in drawing ahahaha

Thank you so much! Yes that would be great if you can spread the word - it's my first contest but I hope I can do more like this if there's enough people who are into it! :D

Oh go on then:
https://steemit.com/writing/@holothewise/the-daemons-of-life-are-getting-old

Can't resist a good writing competition :) Awesome work @derosnec ;)

YAY!! Thank you for submitting! I'm going to go read this right now :D

Amazing Art! Kudos

Thank you! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58091.16
ETH 2357.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44