Nina's High School Sketchbook, Vol. 4

in #art7 years ago

For this week's Sunday Artday post, I've got a few more from 2003 to share! I've got a couple of silly ones today. Enjoy:

New Pen Explorations

New Pen Explorations
India Ink Pen
Whenever I used to get a new set of pens, I'd go nuts with them. It was my default thing to sketch with before digital tablets were a thing! Here's a nice one which I remember doing to break in a new prismacolour ink pen set.

Nina, Warrior Empress

Nina, Warrior Empress
Sharpie, Photoshop
The only thing that's accurate about this photo is the clothing style, makeup, and hair - I was quite a large kid, so whenever I drew a self-portrait I tended to embellish quite a bit... but it's a fun design anyway!

No Worries

No Worries
Pen, Coloured Pencil
Just a knight and his dragon, taking a snappy nap! Someday I'll get the opportunity to illustrate a kid's book that actually gets published, I hope.

Organic

Organic
Graphite Pencil
This is yet another sketch of an actual organ in the Bay Area- I can't remember exactly which one but it was a large organ in a small church in the East Bay. Having had to sit through many an organ recital growing up, I probably could easily fill a coffee table book with organ sketch studies! This one has Snape playing at the console just for some fun.

Ribbit

Ribbit
Gouache, Ink, watercolour
My stepmom is also a fantastic illustrator, and she frequently uses a technique called ink-wash in which you paint a negative image on a certain kind of paper stock with white gouache, then cover the whole thing with India ink to black out. Once it's dry, you run the paper under a water stream, which washes away the gouache, leaving crisp white regions of paper. It's very similar to making an oldschool print in terms of approach, and was really fun to learn. I lucked out in that I have a pretty cool stepmom who was willing to teach me this stuff. Unfortunately however I have not been able to get a good photo of this one, as it's in a frame and it's fairly large. But I think it's cute, and it's the first time I did anything in this particular medium.

I got one more batch from 2003 to share with you next week, then we're on to 2004! As always, thanks for checking out my art and I hope you get some pleasure out of them :)

DEROSNEC
WebsiteYoutubeFacebookTwitterInstagramSpotifySoundcloudBandcampMusicoinSociety6Threadless

Art, Music, Movies, Media
Join the Uncensored

Sort:  

Your art is great! I think the eagle/falcon up top, I think is my favorite. The organ is super clean. The napping on the dragon in probably number two, but it's tough. I've always been jealous of people that can manifest art like that with their hands. I doodle, but nothing worth talking about. I use it to store concepts or ideas. Anyways, great work again. Thanks for sharing.

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

awe thank you so much for the kind comments! Yes I lead with the eagle because that's a particular favourite of mine, too. I feel very lucky that I have a natural draw towards drawing, but please believe me when I say that I only got as good as I am by a helluva lot of practice. I post a selection of the view-worthy stuff, but it's only after sifting through potentially hundreds of doodles!

I can understand that! Very welcome. Just out here letting people know when they're awesome at something, lol.

Nice drawings, I like the eagle a lot although I 1st thought it was a raven because of the dark colors but then quickly realized my mistake xD

The Knight and Dragon snoozing is quite cute :)

Thank you! Yeah the photo doesn't really do the details very much justice on the eagle - it was too hard to scan because the sketchbook it lives in is actually a huge hardbound sketchbook! I still wonder how I managed to lug that thing around with me everywhere, but because it was so nice I ended up putting a bit more effort into the drawings than I usually did. Funny that!

hmm strange little psychological effects...
Now that I think about it I had two hardbacks sketchbooks that lasted until my 2nd year at the university and during those boring lectures/classes I used to make full page epic drawings, then for the remainder of the career I switched to self made ringbound ones mainly because I saved a lot of money...but then I stopped the full page drawings practice and just did collections of smaller doodles...

Exactly! It's weird how that small little bit of physical difference makes us want to make it "worth it" so to speak...

Now I'm left with the intrigue of what that technique is about!! Sounds awesome! I really wish you could paint something using it.

It's pretty simple! Basically, sketch out your image, and whatever you want to NOT be black, you just paint over with gouache. Once you cover it in india ink and wash it, the gouache dissolves and leaves only the paper, giving it a bit of a cut out feel. Then you can go nuts with colour however you want!

I'm out of gouache, but maybe I can make something with that technique at some point for Steemit this year...

Aw, I really like the dragon with the knight and the fuzzy castle in the background. I want a cute pet dragon :)

haha thank you! I personally love that one, too - I did that for a show, but it didn't sell. Who knows, I mihgt try to put it into some kind of a kids book!

Very cool! I need the eagle of course!! :)
The Badass chic is too cool, thank you so much for sharing your work. I love art and especially organic pieces. Love Love Love. xx

Haha eagles for life!! I love drawing raptors more than anything...

Thanks so much, I’m glad you dig my work!

Do you all have bots that upvote your comments? LoL.

Sorry I got distracted.

Eagles Fo Life Yo!!! Raptors wow, they’re eyes freak me out! Then the tone of their call makes my skin crawl. Are you an alien? LoL
Please don’t say you’re a lizard 🦎

I love your work!! xx🦅

hahaha by "raptors" I mean birds of prey! But it'd be cool to see some dinosaurs ;)

I don't use bots, but actually now that you mention it it looks like the mobile app was upvoting some of the comments that I was posting from there? I'll have to look into that...

Ooooh okay welll an eagle can prey sometimes 😁
Yeah I bet you could totally do a dinosaur.
Yeah you see that ? I notice it do that on others too!

Wow great artwork good job my friend :)

Thanks very much!

cool pieces :)

Thanks for stopping by! :D

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

I like the second photo beautyful draw

Thanks so much for stopping by! Glad you enjoyed them!

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

I try to respond to anyone who clearly isn't spamming, lol! Thank you :D

Lmao did you see who upvoted @iflagtrash, I love that name! 🤣🤣🦅

You welcome

Hey there! I like you drawings! :)

Thank you very much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59604.53
ETH 2413.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43