Watercolor Sketch of A Mountain Village

in #art7 years ago (edited)

header.jpg

Steemit is a platform that offers great opportunities for everyone to earn money by writing original content. Everyone can sign up and everyone can blog about whatever topic they want. However this also means providing a platform for impostors to pose as someone they are not for fraudulent gain. This user @katrinart was exposed by @sherlockholmes as an impostor who impersonating a Russian artist, Ekaterina Putyatina. You can read all about it here.

What does this got to do with the sketch I made? Nothing. I just thought to share this news to spread the word out that we should be careful who we vote for. Whoever behind katrinart account was obviously a very clever thief. He/she made some decent money before being exposed. All of her recent posts had been flagged and downvoted by @stellabelle. I doubt he/she dares to post again but that doesn't prevent him/her to create another account and impersonating someone else. Last I checked the impostor had powered down and transfered his SBD to Bittrex - running away with his loot obviously.

So enough about that and back to my watercolor sketch! This place is called Jiufen, a charming tiny mountain village in Ruifang District, New Taipei City, Taiwan. I visited this place several years ago and fell in love with it. It was so charming and I just love the lanterns. Taiwan street food stalls and tea houses were everywhere. But the most unforgettable thing was the smell of stinky tofu! I dared not taste it but according to my friend it was yummy...hard to imagine. Like a typical tourist, I went a bit overboard and bought quite a lot of cute souveniers for myself and family back home.

Some interesting fact about Jiufen. Did you know that Jiufen was the inspiration for the creator of Studio Ghibli's animated movie, Spirited Away? You can read more about it here.

Here are the progress photos of the sketch...

20623308_10155465767114070_152893958_o.jpg

20641337_10155465767469070_1431771290_o.jpg

20629036_10155465767014070_1739576157_o.jpg

20630000_10155465765944070_778286213_o (1).jpg

And also some of the photos I took during my trip...

Jiu Fen_01.jpg

Jiu Fen_04.jpg

Jiu Fen_05.jpg

Jiu Fen_08.jpg

What do you think of this watercolor sketch? Please leave your comments below. Thank you!

My Previous Posts

Upvote and resteem if you think they are worthy. Thank you!

It Takes Courage to Age - A Coloring Page

My Second Coloring Book Published In 2016 - Be Encouraged! Motivational Adult Coloring Book

The Rooster - Adult Coloring Page

A Dog Absorbing Its Surrounding - A Stencil Watercolor Painting

My Entry for 9th ARTstyleART: Steemitism and My Interpretation of the Theme

shop logo.png

Upvote, Resteem & Follow Me @coloringiship

Sort:  

This is great art.You deserve for Vote.Please check my post.

oh my God very beautifully created :) drawing sketch ! keep it up :)

Thank you for your kind words @hassanabid . I appreciate it a lot :)

Jiufen is a wonderful place, I loved it the moment I set foot on it a while back. Great watercolour sketch @coloringiship

Thank you @shlimmm ... yes it has that old oriental charm that you can't get elsewhere :)

What a gift you have - I am quite envious! Haha
Following to see more of your creations

Awwwww thank you for your kind words @sallybeth23 :). There is no need to be envious LOL. I am planning to do tutorials on pencil portrait sketch soon, perhaps you can learn too. It's not too hard and anyone can learn ;)

Very nice artwork!!! I started to paint using watercolors, so I really love to use them even if now I often use oil colors.
The pics of your trip are nice too, I love to see potos of places that I've never seen, thanks so much ^_^

Thank you @silviabeneforti . Yes I love to see travel photos too because we see the world from someone else's eyes. I hardly travel outside of the country but I do bring my children to visit local tourist attractions so I have plenty of photos from those trips. I will share some of them in my future posts 🙂

It's really good, I mean I recognized where it was immediately before reading your post, awesome!! Would love to see more sketches!

Thank you @melancholee . The staircase and the lanterns. Anyone who has been here would recognize it immediately 🙂

I am Groot! :D

interesting! good to know another talented Sarawakian :) #teamborneo

Thank you @enighui . Love the tag 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41