It Takes Courage to Age - A Coloring Page

in #art7 years ago

header.jpg

I colored this page today. It's a coloring page from my book Be Encouraged! Motivational Adult Coloring Book. I talked about this book in my previous post here.

It takes a lot of self-respect, dignity, and bravery to walk in one's own skin as we age.

Why did I include this quote in my book?

Since becoming a mother 8 years ago, life has been a bit challenging physically. I feel exhausted easily due to lack of rest and sleep. I take care of my children full time all by myself since my husband often work long hours and I don't have a maid or family members to assist me. If you think staying home with my children is a dream life, it's not, at least not all the time. Don't get me wrong, I am grateful for the opportunity to raise my children but I tell you, the exhaustion and lack of me time (and privacy) often drives me up the wall. I wrote a post awhile back lamenting this very situation.

Now this exhaustion probably also due to advancing age. I mean when I was in my 20s, I could sleep for a couple of hours and woke up fresh and super energetic the next day. And I would function like someone who had 8 hours of sleep. But now not anymore.

And don't get me started with the unexplained body aches that weren't there 10 years ago...

And all moms would know this - stretchmarks, belly pouch, backaches...

It's a very sobering realization.

We all aged. We will reach our twilight years someday and that youthful appearance we enjoy now will be gone. Our physical ability like our sight and strength will slowly diminishing.

It takes courage to face that stage of life. And I have my utmost respect to those who are in their golden years like my mom.

mom-tile.jpg

The coloring tool & progress photos

My favorite colored pencils - Faber Castell Polychromos.

20622923_10155462805239070_399651747_o.jpg

20614354_10155462805319070_384051422_n.jpg

20624062_10155462805834070_230388149_n.jpg

20614619_10155462805589070_630167809_n.jpg

20641291_10155462805214070_355979663_o.jpg

What do you think of this colored page? Please leave your comments below. Thank you!

My Previous Posts

Upvote and resteem if you think they are worthy. Thank you!

My Second Coloring Book Published In 2016 - Be Encouraged! Motivational Adult Coloring Book

The Rooster - Adult Coloring Page

A Dog Absorbing Its Surrounding - A Stencil Watercolor Painting

My Entry for 9th ARTstyleART: Steemitism and My Interpretation of the Theme

Woodcarving I Made 24 Years Ago & Some Thoughts On Teenagehood

shop logo.png

Upvote, Resteem & Follow Me @coloringiship

Sort:  

It's a lovely, inspirational drawing and very colourful.
I have a 7 year old and a 22 month old, and no family help other than my husband. I do work however, which is like a break from the constant demands of childcare. There are no easy options as a mother! 🙏🏽

Thank you @fleur . Our eldest would be around the same age, but my son is 3. My husband and I are self-employed so obviously we have to work harder than most working class people; no project = no money. And on top of it we only own one car which my husband use to commute to work daily. I am home bound most of the time and that added to my stress level. But I agree there are no easy options for mothers.

Congratulations @coloringiship! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Beautiful <3 <3 <3 Followed

Thank you @yusaymon . I am giving you a follow too :)

It certainly is encouraging and comforting to learn the acknowledgement of aging. Ohh yeah, just love the idea of adult coloring book. Find it creative and soothing to the heart, to know such existence :) definitely a thumbs up.

Thank you @billionairebabe . Yes it's a therapeutic hobby and many those suffering from various illness use it as a form of coping with their struggles.

That's good to know. Might be getting one soon too. M attracted to it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77