Portrait of Simon Reeve | In Love With BBC Earth

in #art6 years ago (edited)

header.jpg

I rarely checking out the crypto market because I do not want to discourage myself if I see the "red numbers". However, I knew Steem/SBD have continued to dip further and even though this hardly affects me before, I do feel a little bit down lately. And I knew if I feel restless, bored and discouraged, it's a high time for me to step back and immerse myself in things that are not related to Steemit (and its stupid, childish politics).

Other than creating art, one of the things I love to do is to watch documentary channels like BBC Earth Asia which is my favorite. My husband @voltranrex also shares this simple "luxury" too. Notice I used the word luxury. We rarely have time to devote to TV or movie watching so the time we do it is a luxury indeed.

The best thing about watching documentaries is that we got to learn some interesting facts about the world. My kids often watch them together with us and my daughter would often have some questions about the things she saw on TV and this is a good opportunity to teach her some science or history lessons.

My favorites documentaries from BBC Earth Asia are those by Sue Perkins, Ben Fogle, Joanna Lumley, and Dara O'Briain and Ed Byrne.

Sometimes there would be one or two documentaries about Malaysia and it is always exciting to see my country through the eyes of these foreign journalists. Sometimes they talked about funny things Malaysians did like for example in Dara & Ed's Road to Mandalay, they were amused to see Malaysian motorcyclists wearing their jackets backward!

Motorcyclist-630x499.jpg

Source

I am so used to see that since I was a child and I didn't think of it as funny, until now LOL. So what's the reason for wearing their jackets this way? Malaysia is a hot and humid country. If the jackets are zipped up, it would be unbearably hot. Worn backward, the front of the body is kept warm while the back is kept cool. Make sense?

But of all of these documentaries, I love Simon Reeve's travel series the most! This guy has been traveling extensively for a couple of decades and been to 120 countries. I don't know how he does it since he's a married man with a son. If I am the wife I would demand to go with him on his trips LOL. Anyway, I just love seeing the world through his eyes. And of course, he's hot too....

So to celebrate my love for BBC Earth, I decided to do a quick pencil sketch of Simon. Here are the process photos and the final portrait.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg


Thank you for visiting! What do you think of this post? Leave your comments below.

My previous posts:


My Sketchbook | Can't Stop Doodling

A Page From My Sketchbook And My Kids Drawings

Death Is Nothing At All | Five Mini Paintings Inspired By A Poem

Five Pages From My Art Journal

Live In Peace And Let Go Of Your Bitterness

Announcing My Weekly Doodle Contest Week #1 | Flowers & Plants | SBD6 For The Winner!


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!


FINALUSE2.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

Beautiful! Me encanta. Te sigo.

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65353.50
ETH 3202.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61