Pop Art Painting - Cats Just Couldn't Care Less

in #art7 years ago

header.jpg

I love cats. But I don't intend to own one for some personal reasons. I once read a meme comparing cats and dogs. I can't remember the exact quote but it says something like this "dog has the intelligence of a 2 years old toddler but cat's intelligence is comparable to a 42 years old woman". I thought that was brilliant LOL.

I think that is the main reason why I like cats more than dogs. Dogs are sweet but I think they are too eager to please whereas cats are so cool they just don’t care. That kind of attitude really is comparable to a 40 something woman, well, for me at least.

Sometime last year I bought a non-fiction book called Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert (aff link), the author of Eat, Pray, Love. In one of the chapters, Elizabeth wrote this gem:

Long ago, when I was in my insecure twenties, I met a clever, independent, creative, and powerful woman in her mid- seventies, who offered me a superb piece of life wisdom.
She said: “We all spend our twenties and thirties trying so hard to be perfect, because we’re so worried about what people will think of us. Then we get into our forties and fifties, and we finally start to be free, because we decide that we don’t give a damn what anyone thinks of us. But you won’t be completely free until you reach your sixties and seventies, when you finally realize this liberating truth—nobody was ever thinking about you, anyhow.” ~ Elizabeth Gilbert, Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear

That is my all time favorite quote and one of my favorite books.

It is so true, people.

People mostly don't have time to think about you because they are too busy thinking about themselves. All of us have our own personal dramas to attend to, and why do we care so much about what people think?

Why not be like cats?

Cats sometimes couldn’t care less about what we think or want and just go about their business. Sure, they hear us when we address them, but they decide whether or not they want to respond.

It's all in our decision - to respond positively or negatively or just don't care.

So here are some progress photos of this painting.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg
interior.jpg
Thank you for visiting. I hope you like it!

I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER. Thank you!


My previous post:

Starry, Starry Night

The Rooster

Beautiful Vampires

Pop Art Painting: Bad Habit


shop logo.png

Upvote, Resteem & Follow Me @coloringiship

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by coloringiship from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Really like it <3 Love the color combination!

Thank you for stopping by @aishwarya ... glad you liked it ☺

@cmtzco has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

It's very good. I like both pets. Thank you for sharing.

Yes they are wonderful creatures. Thanks ☺

So nice pop cat!!! I love cats and I love pop art, so it's perfect ^_^

Thank you Silvia. Yes I love cats and their cool attitude...very amusing and annoying sometimes LOL

This post has received a 1.04 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

My favourite subject cats!

I am sure it is. Your Scottish fold kitty is so adorable. My kids would go crazy if they see it.

She is a darling. Now her favourite thing to do everyday is sunbathing.

pet cat that I really like. posting is very amazing.upvote me to grow big

Thank you for stopping by @bustamam .

My cat is a bit of both. She is eager to please when she is bored. She also have this compassionate side. She can sense sadness and hurt. She will make sure she is beside you when you are down just to hear her purr or lend a rug to your leg.

Yes that is the most amazing thing about keeping cats and dogs. They are the most loyal companions.

sometimes I feel that they love you more than they love themselves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68328.66
ETH 2639.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68