Jerry and Barbie - A Tribute to Meteor Garden On 16th Anniversary

in #art7 years ago

jerryyanportrait.JPG

Perseid meteor shower makes me feel nostalgic. Silly, but it reminds me of this couple.

I have sketched many portraits and other than my husband and kids' portraits, this is my most favorite one. Just thinking of this couple is enough to make me smile. If you are Chinese (or Asian) there is a high possibility that you recognized them. If you don't well I am not surprised too.

Jerry Yan and Barbie Hsu. Or on screen better known as Dao Ming Si and Shan Cai, the main casts of Meteor Garden, a 2001 Taiwanese drama based on Japanese shōjo manga series, Hana Yori Dango, written by Yoko Kamio. 2001?! Yeah that long and that old LOL.

I am not Chinese and I don't speak Chinese but I do watch Chinese or Taiwanese drama now and then. Kinda odd.

Long before Korean drama craze spread in Asia (yes even before Winter Sonata), I think many girls of my generation relates to having Dao Ming Si as their first tall-dark-and-fictional first love. Meteor Garden (MG) paved the way for us girls realizing that yeah Brad Pitt and Johnny Depp were pretty but these Asian hunks were better. MG was immensely popular back then that people literally stop what they were doing to get giddy-ish about the love-you-hate-you relationship between Shan Cai (Barbie Hsu) and Dao Ming Si (Jerry Yan). The absurdity of their relationship was so comically and painfully endearing.

It has been 16 years since MG aired in Taiwan and across Asia but this couple still occupies a special space in my heart.

On the 16th anniversary of the series, it was announced that Meteor Garden fresh remake is slated to air in 2018; new casts, of course, to cater to the new generation of viewers (the original casts and many fans are in our 40s now...just saying LOL).

I completed this portrait of Jerry Yan and Barbie Hsu within a week, as a tribute to the original series. I used 2 reference photos and Photoshopped them together.

Media: graphite and charcoal on A3 paper.

Please ignore the grid marks. This portrait is for practicing and my personal collection. Grid marks are not visible on commissioned portraits.

I am going to write portrait sketching tutorials for complete beginners and post them here on Steemit soon. If you want to learn to sketch portraits (and impress your loved ones LOL) feel free to give me a follow so you won't miss my posts.

Here are the progress photos for this portrait.

1.jpg

2.JPG

3.jpeg

4.jpeg

5.jpeg

share.jpg

And couldn't help but share this beautiful and haunting music from the series - Lovely Memories by Alvaro Pierri.

What do you think of this portrait? Please leave your comments below. Thank you!

My Previous Posts

Upvote and resteem if you think they are worthy. Thank you!

Tiny Audrey Hepburn's Portrait

Satan Patrolling the Earth - A Painting

The Tiniest Portrait I Ever Drew

Watercolor Painting Of Two Boys With Spray Bottles

shop logo.png

Upvote, Resteem & Follow Me @coloringiship

Sort:  

Uuuuuuuuuuu legend!! Meteor garden! F4!

Jerry Yan is the godfather of the new generation of Chinese/Taiwanese drama. And F4 were better looking than any kpop boys. They are still gorgeous even in their 40s.

Wow, i remembered them too Hahahahaha but i love Shan Chai's mom hahahha she's the funniest

Her parents are silly but lovable and funny. But somehow I hated Shan Cai for her stubbornness...someone loves you to the point of being insane, renouncing his wealth and disowning his family because of YOU....haiyooo...just accept him and elope lah hahahaha...was so emotional watching it back then LOLOLOL....

I never realize Meteor Garden is already 16 years old... time flies...

Yeah...F4 were the 'kpop boys' of my generation. Makes me feel so old LOL...

I am not into kpop... 😅
I started with Aaron Kwok.. Then Jimmy Lin...
Then Backstreet Boys, The Moffats...

Me too LOL. I am too old for those stuff. I stick to the elder gentlemen hahaha...though I hardly watch drama. Only when buang tabiat will watch lah, like once or twice a year. Otherwise, hardly have free time :P

This is next-level stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51