Watercolor Painting Of Two Boys With Spray Bottles - Entry for 10th ARTstyleART Challenge

in #art7 years ago

header2.jpg

Here is my entry for the 10th ARTstyleART Challenge. The theme for this week is REALISM + VILLAGE LIFE. That is tough! Other than pencil portrait I have never attempted any realism art before. So this is my first time creating art in this style. I admit the theme intimidated me at first because I thought there is no way I could do it without experience or any practice. But I thought why not give it a try. My goal to participate in contests was never to win (it's a bonus) but to connect with Steemit community at large. And I gave it a try.

I am using a personal photo as the reference image for this painting. It is actually a picture of my son and another boy playing with spray bottles. However I did not include the reference image here to protect the privacy of the other boy in the photo. The picture was taken at my village - an Iban (my tribe) longhouse in Betong, Sarawak. This is not your typical village. The longhouse was built from timber and consisted of several 'bilek' or apartments. Each apartment belongs to a family. You can watch aerial video of my longhouse below. This video was taken during my cousin's wedding in June. Select a higher resolution for a clearer video.

If you watched the video, you would realized that the photo was taken at the open-air verandah at the front of the longhouse.

Here are the progress photos of this watercolor painting.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

final2.jpg

What do you think of this painting? Please leave your comments below. Thank you!

My Previous Posts

Upvote and resteem if you think they are worthy. Thank you!

Our Family Life - A Sketchbook Diary

SAC Entry: Joseph and the Caravan to Egypt

Postcard From Viggo Mortensen (Aragorn of Lord Of The Rings)

Boat Ride At Kuching Waterfront, Sarawak

A Trip to Cat Museum, Kuching, Sarawak

Watercolor Sketch of A Mountain Village

It Takes Courage to Age - A Coloring Page

shop logo.png

Upvote, Resteem & Follow Me @coloringiship

Sort:  

Beautifully done, lovely picture.

Sangat lawa. Love it

BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!!!

Very nice! I like it!

Thank you @errymil . Realism painting is not my forte but I am doing this for fun. The more the merrier they said :)

Me too, I'm having a hard time finishing it. I might make it on time.😔

Can't wait to see your entry. I am sure it's stunning as always ;)

Thank you @thetruthbomb . I didn't see you around much these days.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62435.23
ETH 3369.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45