Old Maps are Beautiful

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I came across a gorgeous map of France today while doing some research on how long mail would take to go from London to the south of France in the 1830s.

One of the things I do to make money is freelance historical research for period authors who just want to write and don't want to worry about making sure the details are historically accurate. I do the nitty gritty research work for them :) I got into this work kind of randomly, my sister writes romance novels set in the Regency period and I started off doing research for her before she introduced me to more of her author friends. At this point I have more of this freelance historical research available to me than I have time to do it; this could easily be my full time job if I wanted to quit my position as a project manager at a market research company (I actually make more on a per hour basis doing this then I get paid at my "real" job). If I wasn't getting cross-trained at my day job and gaining experience in the analysis side of the research industry I would probably just jump full on into the historical research. It is a lot of fun diving into different time periods and wading through original sources. In this day and age so many universities are digitizing their archives that you can find a surprising amount of books from the 18th and 19th century that are full text searchable.

Map of Communication Times between Paris and the rest of France - 1882


Map of French Communication Times from Paris.jpg

This map shows travel times from Paris as gradient tints. You can see the major transportation arteries and the slower diffusion out into the countryside. I think this is a particularly striking map but many old maps are works of art. This map is part of the collection of the University of Chicago - check out their online collection of maps here:
https://www.lib.uchicago.edu/e/collections/maps/
At the above link you can find maps of:

  • Paris in the 19th century
  • Late 19th- and early 20th-century Asian cities
  • Late 19th- and early 20th-century Latin American cities
  • Ethnographic maps of the 19th century
  • European transportation maps of the 19th century
  • Late 19th- and early 20th-century European city-planning maps
  • 18th-century maps of Central Europe
  • 19th-Century Maps of the Middle East, North Africa, and Central Asia

Have fun and happy hunting!

Cheers - Carl

Sort:  

i'd love to hear how you find research work, and what kind of requests you get. sounds fascinating. do does the fantasy map drawing hobby! now i'll have to toss thru your blog..

Thanks @torico - I do plan on posting more about this research side gig of mine. I need to speak to some of the authors I work with and make sure that they are okay with me sharing (with the identifying marks filed off) some of the specific research requests I have received, and my findings. Stay tuned :)

Your post caught my eye, I know what it is like to put in your time! Fortunately,
we have steem for evenings an as an outlet! Very interesting work you do part- time hope all of your dreams come true! Thank you for sharing.
@jadabug

Thanks for the great comment @jadabug :) May your dreams come true as well

I love old maps. Such art & technicality. Cool post.

Thanks @nkr - me too :)

My second major was history and love novels written in this period. Broke both of my feet recently and while I was in my wheel chair could not get enough of Bronte, Austin and Alcott. Happy to hear your second job is a peach. Sounds like the other will come around soon. Great things happen for those who can wait!
Love and Peace,
Melissa

Thanks Melissa! I'm following you now, very interested in edible wild plants / weeds myself :)

Oh so glad! Thank you!

Always find old maps intriguing, as a student who grew up with USSR on the map for at least five years after the Berlin Wall, I enjoy searching for globes and maps which qualify Tibet as its own country instead of a Chinese province. It must be a fun challenge to check period novelists for authenticity, it must get easier as you learn more. Great post.

Yeah I have been fascinated with old maps since childhood as well. Old maps, fantasy maps... I spent a lot of time when I was little drawing maps of made up worlds. I am just starting to get back into drawing maps again, I will post some of my works in progress on here at some point

I look forward to it.

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @carlgnash. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @carlgnash to be original material and upvoted it!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

This post has received a 5.45 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @carlgnash. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17