Beautiful Monster - finally colored!

in #art7 years ago

I spent some time messing around with an unfinished art project today. I submitted an earlier, unfinished version of this beautiful hermaphroditic alien monster for @juliakponsford's Art Explosion contest week 9. I finally finished coloring the monster today and am happy to share my strange imagination with you :)

First here is the colored alien monster against plain black background:


Body Closeup


Alien Flower Pseudopod Closeup


Alien Landscape Background


I made an alien landscape background but I am not sure it works - I think this may be too busy. The alien monster gets lost a little. But I made it so might as well share it:

Alien Landscape Background Solo


The alien landscape looks kinda cool by itself though :)

Smaller Alien Monster against Alien Landscape


Making the alien monster smaller works a little better with the alien landscape I think:

Alien Landscape Process

I made the alien landscape by painting the shapes pretty quickly in PhotoShop (adding texture with a few different special paintbrushes) then running it through the Deep Dream Generator. Here is the quick paint alien landscape before going through the Deep Dream Generator:

I used this composite style image that I made out of reptile and toad skin and eyes. If you are not familiar with the Deep Dream Generator, it uses a neural network/Artificial Intelligence to "learn" the "style" of a style image and applies that style to the base image you upload to create an entirely new thing. Pretty crazy. You can do all sorts of amazing things with it. Check out my Deep Dream Generator tutorial post to learn more :)

Reptile & Toad Style Image


Here is the uncut image generated by the Deep Dream Generator from the rough alien landscape and the Reptile & Toad Style Image:

Hope you like my weird ass drawing! Much love - Carl

Sort:  

Hey that means a lot coming from you! Thanks!!!

It is. Aww you're welcome keep it up!

pretty cool!!!!

this is soooooooooo awesome sauce!

It's so psychedelic, I can't look away. Slaanesh would be proud of such a creature lurking in existence.

I am digging it! I like how the composite turned out. All the weird frog textures gave it some cool depth.
The intestine snakes are cool too. :)

super cool carl! I love this use of deep dream. amd your little monster is totally wicked. I actually really like the very fist monster-alien background combo where its quite big and sort of gets lost in the background....Its feels quite complete like that somehow

Wow beautiful man!

I liked it a lot, beautiful and psychedelic colors! Good luck in the contest, I'm also participating I hope you can go through my blog watching it (;
https://steemit.com/artexplosion/@winizart/art-explosion-week-20-power-mind-original-illustration

This is peeping beautiful shizzle, mate!

I thought you were a musician but I didn't get to know this side of you until now. It's amazing and I love how you show the different steps of the process. It makes me think of an alien level in Halo combined with Salvador Dali.

The close ups are sweet!

Thanks for sharing this with the steemit world :)

by the way, I thought you mike enjoy my latest series called: 'Not Your Average Christmas movie'. If you can find the time, feel free to take a look at it some day ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56560.74
ETH 2390.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34