Beautiful Monster - Art Explosion Week 9 contest submission

in #artexplosion7 years ago (edited)

I really hoped to have colored in this pen and ink drawing in time for the contest deadline, but I am nowhere near finishing that part of the project... so I submit for the judges' inspection a beautiful monster in pen and ink.

I use a hot pink background when I am cleaning up a scanned image because the high contrast helps me define edges. I kinda like the look of this bad boygirl against the hot pink so I am leaving it:

beautiful monster ink pink.jpg

First let's talk about the elephants in the room. I get a lot of questions about what seem to be phallic and vulvic elements in my art. So yes, that is an alien organism penis-equivalent and vulva-equivalent sticking out to the upper left and lower right respectively. This is an alien hermaphroditic sexually reproducing organism. And also, tentacles. This is what I consider beautiful, so deal with it :)

I am going to share my work in progress for the color version - this is a LONG way from finished. I will be working up the contrast between the shadowed and light areas to make the light source (coming in from the upper right) more obvious and to give this thing more of a three dimensional feel:
beautiful monster ink color work.jpg

When I get the coloring done I am going to apply reptile and amphibian and sea slug and jelly fish textures to various parts of this using the Deep Dream Generator. I did a proof of concept applying reptile and toad textures to a very simple tentacle drawing I whipped up and colored in PhotoShop:

Beautiful Monster1.jpg
Simple tentacle drawing

Beautiful monster dream werk.jpg
Tentacle drawing with reptile and toad textures applied with the Deep Dream Generator

The Deep Dream Generator only allows a maximum of .95 MP resolution (e.g. 950px by 1000px) so I plan on cutting up the master image (which was scanned in at 300 ppi to allow for eventual print use - I am going to use this thing in an upcoming D&D adventure I am self publishing, although this was created new for this contest first - the original image is 2896px by 2437px) into sections and applying textures to smaller sections of the drawing, then combining them all into the finished product. This will be the first time I use this technique to bypass the .95MP resolution limit of the Deep Dream Generator and create a truly HD Dream image - I am excited!

Stay tuned for a future post with the final colored image and final Deep Dream textured image.

Support me in the MAP27 Six of the Best Contest


If you like the content I post, consider supporting me in the current Minnow Accelerator Project MAP27 "Six of the Best" Contest.

Cheers - Carl

Sort:  

45/5000
well... it's still monstrous, but I like it. I can't wait to see the final.

I managed to sidetrack myself with all kinds of other projects this week, as I am wont to do, but I pledge by the alien eyeball that this will get finished and posted here eventually. Stay tuned and thanks for the comment!

:D well i think this is beautiful too, deal with it! Thanks for the entry!

OMG Bro!! you´re on fire!!

that cat is rocking out!

@resteem.bot
Resteemed to over 4000 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!
Read here how the new bot from Berlin works.
@resteem.bot

good wishes
upvoted

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by gnashster from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Your post was resteemed thanks to @beelzebub

Curious? Check out:


The @resteembot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in resteembot's feed.
Some of them are truly great.

Wow. Very cool art you are producing!! Glad you are in the map!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60860.14
ETH 2960.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61