The Stories of my Tattoos #7: The One with the Crazy Purple Monkey

in #art6 years ago

tattoos-06.png

This Tattoo Post Contest by @foxyspirit inspired me to finish up my "Tattoo Stories" series that I started a few months ago when I was a really new newbie. (if you want the truth, it reminded me that I had started this series and not finished it!)

drip-purple-lavendar-thin.png

The Crazy Monkey Tattoo, thanks to Jon at Just Another Hole Body Arts. I had set up an appointment for a Monday with just the words of this tattoo ready to go. That was all I had originally planned to get done that day.

The monkey part was added to the plan after attending a fantastic weekend workshop at The Actor Factory. It was a huge turning point for me in ways that actually have nothing to do with acting/whatnot, but it definitely opened my eyes to a lot of things and inspired me to get back to creating again. It really cemented for me how much I NEED a creative outlet to feel fulfilled and happy. (Currently steemit is that outlet for me and I am absolutely beyond thrilled to have the daily place to create, write, draw, share my real self, interact and meet so many other amazing people who are using the platform in the same way.)

As a mom of five kids, I spent way too many years refusing to do things for myself because it would cost something or take time away from things that I should be doing... instead of doing things FOR me because it would make me a happier, better person and then I would have more to give to those people in my life that were so important to me. I mean really, it's a hard lesson to learn, but it's pretty impossible to keep pouring yourself into others if you never refill yourself!

tattoos-06a.png

Anyway In our acting class, the instructor gave us each a little plastic monkey as a reminder of things that we learned (and as a big encouragement for the future, a lucky charm of sorts) I LOVED this monkey idea and when another student mentioned getting the monkey as a tattoo, I decided right then to sketch the perfect monkey to add to my tattoo appointment that I already had set up for the next day (I did have an open ended appointment with my tattoo guy, since I had a nice sized gift card and he knew that I had several things I wanted to work on.)

beans-monkey-biz-collage-600.png

The monkey is purple because of Bean's Monkey Business (a puppet show I did on youtube with a puppet I made), which was an especially big deal for my girls @abyni & @loliboofae and I.

purple-monkeys.png

Part of Patrick's purple monkey collection that the kids have been gifting him for Christmas/Father's Day since they were old enough to buy their own gifts for him!

THAT came about because of Patrick's (aka @serapium) habit of answering incessant kids questions (Where are we going? What are we getting? What are we doing? What is going to be there? What's at the Top/end, etc) with his favorite phrase "Eleven Purple Monkeys!!!"

And... of course, this was right before we were leaving to go live on the boat... which we named "11 Purple Monkeys" so in a way, this tattoo manages to capture a BUNCH of different parts of my life and I love it. My favorite part about this tattoo is that I see it all the time because of it's placement on my inner left forearm and that makes me happy :)

tattoo-7.png

Other tattoos:

Thumb-Tattoos-1.png

Thumb-Tattoos-2.png

Thumb-tattoo3.png

thumb-tattoo4.png

Thumb-tattoos-5.png

thumb-tattoos6.png

drip-purple-lavendar-thin.png

Click the icons to read some of my other posts!

creative-writing-500-contest-300.png

Thumb-sweetlikehoney-250.png

Thumb-10-free-rulers-1.png

drip-purple-lavendar-thin.png

All phtos and graphics are my own.

byn-sig.png

Sort:  

Great fun and totally unique tattoo! It looks really cool! The story of your whole design process is awesome!

Thanks! I know it's a bit... quirky, but it seriously makes me so happy. It's not even necessarily my favorite tattoo, but I see it so much more than most of the others, so I guess its on my mind more often.

So friggen Awesome!! i love this post, tatts, fam and story so much!!!

Eagle UpComm.jpg

Thank you! Love your graphic, too! What a great idea :)

Thanks! I kept saying this but it’s probably a little pushy lol
But I love raw, original, and beautiful content so I figured I’d let people know how much I enjoyed their work. :)

I know what you mean! I use the word "raw" to describe SO many of my favorite posts!!! I just love the 'realness' I guess and openness that some people have. It's awesome.

We are on the same wavelength 😁

Well great that is nice looking tatoo.
I think you have an experience in tatoo selection that is why jon made such a beauty art..good post

Thank you! I've very much enjoyed creating and choosing my tattoos~

Cool idea for a series!

Thank you! I was going to just make one post, but then I realized that each of them has such a different story and if nothing else, I wanted to write it all down for my kids to have at some point if they're interested!

So glad I have some time for reading today. What a cool series. I love my tattoos and (maybe weirdly) greet the owl on my collarbone when I wake up in the morning. Why is a picture such a comfort?

Photos of things/people/events and even my tattoos are SO comforting to me. Seriously, I am weirdly comforted by them and will find myself looking through photos (or even my tattoos that aren't on my back. I find it all so very calming and happy making! I'm so glad you enjoyed my post! :) I'd love to hear more about your tattoos as well!

A thousand and one meanings into 1 tattoo. That's amazing.
Are your puppet show videos still on youtube? I think my kids would be interested in seeing that!
Sounds like you have been having a wonderful adventure! Thank you for your entry ^_^ THis was a fun read :D

bout them disappearing again.

Thank you for the inspiration to get writing on this topic again!

*what the heck happened to the rest of my comment? I don't even know what i was trying to say!

HAHA ya I wasnt sure about that either... I was just like ok... phone got lazy or something lol. too funny!

Now that I'm back on the computer instead of the phone...

@foxyspirit the "Bean's Monkey Business" videos got deleted off of youtube and pretty much broke my heart. I'm not sure WHY and have no recourse, but YouTube just randomly deleted our channel. I am hoping that I still have the files on an old computer somewhere so I can upload them to Dtube and make sure they're saved on a harddrive or something so that I always have them!

Oh no! That's horrible! They have so much content that needs to be gotten rid of, much less a show for kids. Well I with best for you and that you find them. Like I said my kids would LOVE watching them.

Thank you! (And I KNOW, right? Of all the things they get rid of???)

If I find them and get them online, I'll tag you and let you know!

I'm glad you decided to finish it up and enter the contest. This is one of those rare tattoos that can encompass so much of our lives in simple pictorial history of who we are. I really enjoyed reading it and thanks for sharing it with us.

Thank you! I hadn't thought about the meanings behind my tattoos in a while and it has been quite an interesting stroll down memory lane writing about each one. I'm glad you encouraged me to do it now instead of putting it off (because then I would have forgotten again.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39