The Stories of my Tattoos: Part 6, Where the Wild Things Are

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Tattoos-6.png

So, the “Wild Things” have been a big part of our life for a very long time. I don’t know why, but the book by Maurice Sendak of “Where the Wild Things Are” was always a favorite. I, of course, did all the crazy wild thing sounds and maybe that’s why the kids loved it so much :) I had the book memorized, along with Dr. Seuss’s ABCs, several sets of Sesame Street books and many others, but the Wild Things have always been very… “Us” I even painted them on my husband’s leather jacket back when we lived on the road and I was painting on motorcycles and leather.

Tattoos-2-c.png

I have photos of the kids reading the book to their dolls and toys.

S-Ed-hw1a.png

I have sketches from my two artsy girls of their versions of the Wild Things (including the Max on my tattoo that was drawn by my middle daughter Paris when she was younger).

I even had a puppet show for a while that I did with my girls with a monkey puppet that I actually made and voiced. On that show, “Bean” the monkey read the Wild Things book with a younger @abyni

I had giant Wild Things painted in my hallway until we repainted in order to sell the house.

Tattoos-6a.png

Tattoos-6b.png

Anyway, this tattoo is part of a planned eventual sleeve. I’m hoping to get all of my kids (and maybe grandkids in the future) to draw me their own favorite/version of the “Wild Thing” to add to this arm. For now, it just makes me happy because it reminds me of all of our fun story times and all that. This isn’t my only cartoon themed tattoo and certainly won’t be the last by a long shot, but this one is probably more meaningful to me than the other, more ‘serious’ tattoos because it is just so… Me. So telling of our whole family and I love it.

Tattoos-6c.png

And that is the story of one of my favorite tattoos... a reminder of my kids, being a parent/mom to a young bunch of kids and the sweet memories of those days. Raising kids was something I always wanted to do from a young age and it is still the best thing I've ever done. :)

More About Me:
thumb-bynalways-cover.png
My #introduceyourself post

Thumb-Tattoos-1.png
My First Tattoo (and other stupid decisions)

Thumb-Tattoos-2.png
Tattoo #2: The Other Side of Married Life

Thumb-tattoo3.png
Tattoo #3: What Goes Around Comes Around

Tattoos-4-thumb.png
Tattoo #4: The One with the Dragon

Sort:  

Congratulations @byn! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

for many years this has been a favorite book at bed time...then we lost it...so of course had to buy a new one...only to find it again...but its fine...now they can read along together with there own book each...😎

That's a great idea for each kid to have their own book for a read along. We've owned so many copies, it's ridiculous. I bought a copy for my grandsons this year, too! Onto the next generation!

I love it! You reminded me of my dear friend, who was the grandmother of Spike Jonze, who directed the movie version of Where the Wild Things Are. She was so excited about the film's release, but died before it was finished I love your art work and attachment to this delightful story!

Awww, that is sweet that she at least got to know that he was doing it, but sad that she missed it.

Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62033.06
ETH 3004.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48