Sort:  

Wow really awesome Jon. Really like the style and the hidden faces in the background. I'm glad you took the time to make a drawing again. So much talent!

I can imagine I started of drawing small pieces and a lot of times I heard that I should draw bigger (for example at my last exhibition in a coffeeshop in Amsterdam) while a small one took me weeks (being a perfectionist doesn't help). Or I should use color and when I did some other say my pencil work is better and so on...I know I just started a big digital piece which will take months and already know it will drain all my energy. But I really like to be in the hyperfocus until the last 10% of it (I often think never again). After finishing I fall into a hole and have to recover until the next big project lol. And yes then I start doing small A5 sized drawings for a while :D or weird digital shirt designs.

Thanks for sharing and looking forward to more small drawing from you because they do matter too! ;)

.

Haha yes we should because eventually people have their on tastes and visions and you can't please them all ;)

Oh this is soooo awesome! Love the idea, and your level of skill too.

Aww thank you so much @opheliafu! I’m so glad you like it!!

This is amazing, in my head I've entitled it "Eating Bosch".

I'm so glad you were able to express your pent up art into a manifestation of something so wonderful. I started the act of daily art a few years back and have never looked back. Sure, I will have a piece I am working on for months, but in joy, because I make sure by the days end that I at least have a sketch of something that could be a larger piece. But, here is the thing of that, I began to realize that the 'process' work was also, in itself, self contained finished pieces of art. When I allowed myself to say, "Well, this sketch IS a finished piece" a light when on and the joy of the process was increased ten fold as I was then excited each morning for that 'me' time, or should I say 'we' time that Me and Art got to have together at my drawing table.

I am also always amazed by how much I feel encouraged and just a general desire to create since finding steemit. It's like having a little virtual art hang out to come to and share our things with others.

Keep making them and anyway, if you scanned it at High res you could make your tiny drawing as big as a building. The world is a vast place in the digital :)

.

Good. Stick with it, particularly if you are busy and have only limited time to devote. A large piece can be quite demanding, and if you have to let it sit, you may not be able to get into the grove again to finish (I have unfinished stuff sitting around for decades already). Since I moved back to Vienna, I had created oodles of small drawings, many of them in one sitting, in a few hours - one of the advantages is that you can send them under the radar across borders in an envelope, as I just recently did again for a show in Seattle (I ordered the frames for it in the USA and my friend Don Farrell framed them for me).
Wondering about your choice of Micron pen. I used it because of the Antipodes series that Ben Tolman started, but I was never very fond of them since they are more like for geometric drawings, and I found them rather "sterile". I still like my old fashioned dip pens that allow me to be more expressive (pressure, angle). My friend Michael Fuchs uses a Montblanc ballpoint pen for his drawings, and he gets amazing results, again, because of the kind of individual control you have with it. They are expensive, but you can get refills at a reasonable price that would fit into another pen.
upvoted and resteemed

.

Always enjoy a drawing with this kind of shading, hatching and cross hatching. I even do that on the underpaintings of my canvas paintings.

With glass, I'm naturally drawn towards smaller formats and most of my glass paintings are within 2 square ft. The bigger your sheet of glass, the more difficult it becomes to handle. My biggest in one piece is some 30x80inches and it was a pain to do.

So yes, here's to the small format. Your drawing is awesome!!

.

Never say again: 'It's not the best and I was a little rushed' :)

.

I recognise it, I always do the same. But now I read it by someone else, it sounds just the other way around (like: "Actually I'm way better than this").

I've become a big fan of the small format. They're usually quicker to produce, which means it speeds up the iterative learning process. Secondly, they're easier to sell.

Good drawing! I really like it!!! :-D

Scary. I wonder what that guy does to deserve a minnow dinosaur into his mouth and eye. Ewwww

Very fun self portrait.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57198.53
ETH 2362.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40