Drawing & Painting - Fantasy Characters - From sketch to painting - part 8

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone,

Today I'd like to continue sharing my work as a character designer for fantasy games/ip's with you.

There has been a lot of posts before this one as we are on part 8 !

If you are interested in seeing the other parts, or more of my work in general? Please check out my blog :
https://steemit.com/@beekart

So as of this part I'll start sharing some of the characters i have designed for the famous RPG game 'Pathfinder'.

Here we go!

My first job for pathfinder was back in 2014 I had to redraw/paint some of the Iconic Pathfinder characters in new stances poses or clothes. It was sort of an art-test to see if i could adapt to the style.
It was quite a tough job and took alot of time per character as up to then the way I painted characters was quite different. All the little details and expressions in material/cloth and poses was very different to what i was doing back then. So it was great for me to learn from!
shaman-paint1b.jpg
This was first one I did and I remember redrawing the sketch and poses like 8 times.. I really wanted to do it right as I knew that if I would.. They'd probably hire me again!! :)

ranger-sketch1.jpg
This was how I sketched out the character first.. Then I would send it to my Art-Director for approval.. If it was indeed approved I'd go ahead and paint it up resulting into something like this:
ranger-paint1.jpg
brawler-paint1f.jpg
inquisitor-paint1.jpg
These are all from the first job I did for them.
Luckily for me they were very pleased with the job I did and this started a working relationship that last for about 3 years. Nowadays I'm too busy with other projects to take on work from Paizo.
But in that time I've painted alot of cool characters. This was the first and last job of me painting existing characters from the Pathfinder IP.
On all the other jobs I got from them I had the freedom to come up with characters and monsters myself.

I will share those in the next part!

Thank you so much!
See you soon!

Cheers
-Rogier

PS!!! Check out my PRINT GIVEAWAY : https://steemit.com/contest/@beekart/raffle-02-signed-print-giveaway-let-s-do-this-again - It is free ;) And you get a chance to win a cool artprint!.. Signed ofcourse! ;)

Sort:  

the thing that really blows my mind is not just the amount of details but the fact that each character is inspired by a different culture, but in such settle and nuanced way that you cant just simply say which ones :) Kudos!!! <3

Thank you @ankapolo :)
Yeah the people at Paizo sure know what they are doing.. it was a hell to paint in all the details! I'll share my own character designs for Paizo today, hope you find them as nice to look at too :P as these are indeed drawn/painted by me, they weren't designed by me, I just had to put them in different poses / weapons / clothing.

Oh, sorry @beekart i didn't get that from reading your post, I thought these were all 100% your concepts. I've seen some of your character concept work and its pretty tight, so i immediately assumed that these are fully your concepts. Still though, your skills are so impressive, i'm sure you put a lot of yourself into them, and I cant appreciate enough that you give credit to the people who were involved, (unfortunately i see a lot of the opposite happening here on steemit). Anyway, looking forward to seeing more of your work! <3

Thank you, Sorry I didnt make it clear enough. I have a new post up ( few mins ago) with 100% my own concepts haha :D

You got some talent there. You could have a nice little business selling your art

haha thanks.. well i get hired by companies to paint stuff ;) i guess thats selling art.. or do you mean like a gallery or stuff?

Thank you very much ^^

I do not understand, you draw them from scratch? On paper? On the pc ? Or 3d prints? Beautys !!!

I sketch and paint them on my pc with a pen tablet ( tablet that can simulate pen pressure so its like painting/drawing but then directly on the pc)

@royrodgers has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

cool indeed , very detailed
sry for my low vp ... but I will always come back :P

Thank you very much :)
No worries! I appreciate you upvoting and even commenting! :) Thanks!

Great drawings!! :D Btw which tablet and software are u using? :)

Thanks I use a wacom tablet ! :) with photoshop

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious?
The @resteembot's introduction post
The @reblogger's introduction post
Get more from @resteembot with the #resteembotsentme initiative
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58139.39
ETH 2454.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36