How To Draw Kurt Cobain

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Today I am happy!
Just finished another art piece, and this one I'm quiet excited to share with you. I have been meaning to draw Kurt for some time now. I just wanted to get some practice in as to not disappoint the great Cobain. Like most artists I suffer from being a slave to my own perfectionism. A lot of the time when I complete a piece I don't even want to look at it because instead of seeing what went right, all I see is what I did wrong. This is the first drawing I completed in a while that truly makes me smile.

The feeling one get's when they decide they are going to do something, work hard and it all comes together as planned, is a Euphoria that no drug can match. The most depressing times of my life were those in which I was not accomplishing anything by existing. I feel it is no coincidence that creating and contributing makes us feel good. It's as though these reward systems are ingrained in our DNA in order to make a richer life for all. This is the type of instinct that drives a species forward. So if I am ever feeling down, I create and it makes me feel so much better. I realize that all sounds super corny, but it couldn't be more true for me.


This is my process, and with some time and determination I am sure I can walk you threw creating this art piece. Then you too can share with me the euphoria that is creation of art!

"Who knows? Not me
We never lost control
You're face to face
With the man who sold the world"

FullSizeRender.jpg

                    What you will need

IMG_7855.JPG

artists pencil set, paper, eraser, shader/q-tip


For the hair I suggest when starting out to just sketch the general shape and angles first.
Shade it in completely with a light grade pencil. The actual strands of hair will then be created by taking an eraser and making fine strokes in the direction the hair flows.
In order to get proportions and placement right think of where lines are in relation to one another.

IMG_8096.JPG

Add in the shapes on the jacket that will be the lightest

IMG_8101.JPG

Now start to shade in the dark areas

FullSizeRender.jpg

Use your shader to smooth out the graphite and make it look cleaner

IMG_8112.JPG

Repeat the process until you have the desired level of contrast

IMG_8113.JPG

When you get to this step I recommend using a blank piece of paper to put over the area your hand may be rubbing up against as to not ruin your hard work.

IMG_8135.JPG

Finish up by shading in the background just dark enough so that you can erase the area in which will be the smoke cloud

FullSizeRender.jpg
1967-Forever

Send a up-vote my way if you liked this and would like to see more.
If you have requests for possible future drawings let me know in the comments.


I hope you all enjoyed the tutorial,

Barry F Samways

AAEAAQAAAAAAAATxAAAAJDhiNzI5MzE1LTJlNGYtNGQxNi05Y2RlLWQ5YTFlOTFhNTVkNA.jpg

Sort:  

@thephrophet0 Words can not begin to express the sincere appreciation I have for your kindness in up voting me about 25$! because of you I am going to start my next post right away! I will give quality posts to this amazing platform #steemit. These gestures encourage and motivate people to continue to develop posts that benefit the community! so again thank you, and keep spreading the love!

This is fantastic. You are an amazing artist!

Thank you so much! you have no idea what that means to me. Cheers!

Of course! I also resteemed it. :)

many thanks :) you rock! followed you I will be checking your posts and upvoting

That's great. Seriously, very talented. And, on top of that, your writing is fantastic too.

@karencarrens That's actually really cool to hear, I was worried I was writing to much. I wasbasically just jotting things down that were on my mind. Was thinking maybe no one cared and I should just post the picture and be done with it. its nice to see someone noticed the extra touch :)

Keep adding the extra touches because it's those things that matter. Take a look at @sumatranate and @walkingkeys. Follow them. They are awesome. Their last few posts are going to encourage you. It encouraged me! And you also encouraged me. Thank you!!

awesome I'm glad you found my post :) I will check that stuff out right now!

So happy to see you join the community!

Wow you got some skills. I like how you made it like a little tutorial. I can't draw that well though :P

Great stuff!

Thanks my friend and I appreciate the resteem. motivates me to keep making these which I truly enjoy doing, but if no one notices them there is no point really. cheers!

Just keep at it. It takes time for some to get noticed. I shared your post in some servers on Discord chat so you should see more support.

Steem on.

WOW! much love. keep connected!

Of course man. You can catch me on SteemSpeak on Discord.

Look at your posts now ;)

@bitcoinparadise, what you did to encourage our friend makes me so glad to be part of this community. That was really sweet of you! 💥💥💥

He's got talent. It was @theprophet0 that really did something here. I just helped a little. I appreciate the kind words :)

Butterfly effect :) thanks for flapping your wings ;D

wow thanks for the resteem! sure thing buddy!

Great im so glad you discovered Steemit and can share your great work on here!

I'm in love with this artwork and the process of making it.

I understand how grueling and hard it is just to produce an artwork, more so a great one. Kudos!

That's so nice of you to say. makes me smile knowing people appreciate the hard work I put into my posts. If you would like to follow there is lots more to come. A new tutorial should be released tomorrow or the next day.

Already followed you, thanks for the invite!
Pat yourself in the back, no need to be so hard on yourself. You did an excellent job.

Will be looking out for the new ones. :)

Amazing!! Your shading is so realistic and detailed that I cannot describe how wonderful your picture is. It looks so great!

I always have the hardest time shading clothes using black --> white. I cannot "see" how shades will form traditionally. Do you have any tips? :)

A tip I have is don't look into the deepest details right away. even squint your eyes a bit so it blurs the details draw the biggest mass of shapes first. like u see here I draw where I see the lights will be then shade in around where the darkest points will be. then continue to look into drawing finer details as I go. once things start to come together it gets easier. Happy drawing! cheers.

This is so cool! I love seeing the artistic process like this! Can't wait to see what you do next. :)

thank you! I'm glad to share my next posts with you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64400.67
ETH 3506.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53