[Digital Art] Sleeping fairy - FINAL

in #art7 years ago (edited)

(Versión en Español)

Hello my dear steemians.


Elys here, I’m the graphic designer and art director at Aurealistic. I'm also an illustrator and my favorite drawing techniques are watercolor, ink and digital, evidently one of the most used today. Though I am a real enthusiast of all drawing techniques in general.

A couple of weeks ago I entered @dcrockete's 2nd Weekly Sketch Contest with this illustration of a sleeping fairy.



I was very lucky to win a ticket to his Monthly Winners Circle Contest and got really motivated to do something cool with my little fairy for the grand finale.

You can check out his weekly posts so you can see the awesome artwork other talented steemians are sharing.

2st Weekly Sketch Contest
3rd Weekly Sketch Contest
4th Weekly Sketch Contest
5th Weekly Sketch Contest


Well, that image came to my mind a morning I went out to the backyard at my grandmother's house after a rainy night. Those mornings are the most beautiful in that town, with the warm light of the mountain and the cold rainforest. So I went back inside the house to get my phone to take some pictures. Unfortunately I did not have another camera with me, but I was lucky that the lens on my phone captured images good enough to develop some ideas. In the same way, I could spend all day taking pictures of the plants in the yard.

Gardening has always been my grandma's hobby. She has an orange and a tamarind tree, aloe vera plants, roses and other kinds of flowers.


This leaf on the floor made me think of a small sleeping fairy warming itself with the first rays of the sun. So when I got back to my house I made a quick drawing trying to reproduce that magical moment.




For this quick drawing I used Photoshop CC with my Intuos Pro.

003.jpg

First I started with the fairy, in a separate file, where I did some color tests until finally I decided to stay with the green tones.

004rsz.jpg

Then I took the drawing of the finished fairy to the photo, I blurred the background a bit to simulate more depth of field and added a color filter in the properties of the layer.

This is the final result :-)

hada_durmiente.jpg
right-click and open image in a new tab to see full size



Finally, this is my face of excitement and joy whenever I spend some time in that yard.

I love fairies <3
Elys


banner_steemit.gif

Sort:  

Love it @aurealistic on steemit ♨
Pleased to meet you !

Hello!! I liked the fairy, it's a beautiful and magical drawing and you did a great job combining the fairy drawing into the a real forest, it look´s natural :)

Hi! :-) thank you so much for those nice words. I'm really glad you liked it. Gracias por el hadita azul <3, está preciosa.

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

You're the man @kozak!! :-) Thank you and @minnowbooster. You guys are awesome!

You're so talented. Have you given her a name? I hope we can see more drawings from you.

Thank you so much @algigs, I haven't thought of a name for her yet, any sugestions? :-) I hope to be uploading a few more illustrations and some songs in the next weeks ;-)

I got a bellyRub and this post has received a 19.23 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @aurealistic.

This is great, I never thought you would mix the sketch with photography! I really like the result. Perhaps because I am into fairies :-D and perhaps, because picture editing on a computer is something I soooooo have to learn, but sigh...
Admiring the combination of different art techniques and their smooth assembly. Thank your for this artwork!!!

Aww @neumannsalva, you're always too kind <3!! Thank you! I have to admit though, the Wacom tablet is a really really useful tool for this kind of adventures. Super recommended, I'm sure you wil do even more amazing stuff with it. Give it a try whenever you can.

BIG HUG!

Directly googled this wacom tablet :-D But I have to admit I am at loss with editing on the screen. Perhaps I am also a little lazy and should invest more time in learning this stuff.
Hugging back (including your fairy :-D)

Awesome work and great skills! Congrats @aurealistic!

Thank you very much for those kind words :-)!

Nice work, great luck to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85