Oh, it's a Bird!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Look at that, I drew a bird! 😂

IMG_20180210_043439.jpg

How'd you like it?

Saw a bird drawing tutorial by @kristyglas that also became a contest and heck I thought I'd join. Didn't follow the exact steps though... I just drew it based off the reference pic. #whatfun

I used a normal gel ink pen. I have a Unipin but I'm mostly using pens since 2016. Any pen is fine with me. 😊 I can do the outlines and the guides but it's really just not my thing. 😅

Anyway so I took some pics and vids that I'm going to share with you.

Here's a short clip of me drawing it freehand. Oh boy.

And then here's the pic before I colored and shaded most of it in. This is step 4b or 5 if you do the tutorial. For those new to drawing, I will add the first steps below.

IMG_20180210_041420.jpg

Oh it's been a while since I drew any animal. It's nice to draw again whenever I can. 😉

Btw, it's better to use guidelines when drawing but hey maybe I'll do it next time. Oh wait let me put it here now. I did a pencil drawing with a guideline below. When I draw I never do guidelines unless it is for professional work. :) If it's just for fun and such, no need for guidelines for me. I can just draw 'em like I see 'em. Doesn't hurt anyone if I don't. Lol. It's just how I do things.

Guidelines are better if you need accuracy in drawing. That's tested and proven and always effective to use anytime. :)

So here's the first few steps I did using some guides.

First step, outline the body of the bird. You can do it like the body is 2x the head size. IMG_20180210_191024.jpg

Then you do the wings and the tail... Make use of an arc or half circle for the wing.
IMG_20180210_191145.jpg

And then add more details, like the feathers. Didn't really count the wing feathers this time. Just drew them and followed the arc.
IMG_20180210_195912.jpg

And then you can either shade it in first or ink it. Doesn't really matter, do what works for you. And then voila! The finished little bird is up there edited and colored for all the world to see.

Hope you enjoyed this birdy post.

XOXO,
@artgirl


All rights reserved.
© Art x Stephanie Rue


Want some more? You can check my other posts below that are still within the 7 day period upon posting this:


The Hand of An Artist
Some kinda flower pen hand art.

That Kraken Wall Art
My very first mural project. 💪

💜 Say Hello to Captain Jack Sparrow
Art contests are loooove. 😍 I get to draw stuff I wouldn't normally draw. 😂

Enjoy!

Sort:  

It is very cute :) And thank you for sharing the video ^^

Thanks. Glad I saw your contest. 😁

Thank you for participating :D
Slowly, but surely more people are joining, which is great! ^^

You're welcome.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thank you!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kristyglas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32