What to Expect: When a Non-Artist Joins an Art Challenge...

in #art7 years ago (edited)

THIS IS JUST A TEST. PLEASE BE GENTLE JUDGING ME.

The following is a non-artist's brave entry to an Art Challenge.

Just because I have already found my courage, I am posting my FIRST art challenge entry:
Learn To Draw With Friends! by @tonyr



This week's theme is animals - 3 animals chosen by the author. PENGUIN (Beginner), BIRD (Intermediate) and LION (Advanced).


As I kid, I loved to draw. I remember a lot of other kids or even the older ones asked me to draw for them. Until one day I seemed to have lost it. And very rarely do I draw again.

So I drew this penguin while at work.

In between demanding client calls, talking to irrational providers and loads of emails using 2 accounts, I totally lost it and decided to take a moment to peek at my steemit account.

There it was, it says "Learn to Draw with Friends".

Who would not want to learn how to draw?! Woundn't it be more fun if done with friends?!

On my desk I have a staedtler HB pencil. I grabbed it and a sheet of paper and started to draw. When I finished drawing and was about to color, I realised that of course I do not have an orange color pencil to use. So I used the closest thing I've got- a yellow highlighter.

Here's a snap of a part of my desktop showing original challenge photo:

I am not yet quite happy with my result but this would have to do for now. 😉


A Week Full of Challenges


This week has been the best steemit experience yet for me in the past 6 weeks that I have been here on this platform.

I am so happy that I have joined @merej99's Community Challenge.

It is a 10-day challenge wherein participants would have to write at least 7 articles and write 500 comments!

500 comments! That is a huuuggee task!

So for the past 6 days now, not only am I keeping up with @merej99's challenge. I have been doing what my original objective here is- post at least one piece per day.


Here's a list of my recent blogs that you may want to see too:

Post 1 = Nifty or Thrifty: What Kind of a Mommy are you? - Part 3
Post 2 = In the Eyes of a Child
Post 3 = The Quest to Olympus: Halted. Romans vs Greeks
Post 4 = English Only Please. The Struggle is Real! (My Story)
Post 5 = Where Am I? A Glimpse of Abu Dhabi


The challenge was also a great medium for my posts to be seen by more people. Twice, I was featured on @steemwizards' featured one of "Authors of the Day" on their Curation Trail. I already consider myself a winner because of that.

Steemwizards - New curation trail - Day 8
Steemwizards - New curation trail - Day 12


Sorry guys, my post... let me brag a little. LOL


This week I also realized (yet again) that the best way to enjoy steemit is to engage.

I wish though, that I can find more time to do this - juggling through an 8 hour job, kids, hubby and home...

I still think it is doable. So, here I am. Trying. Not quitting.


May the force of the STEEM be always in our favor!

Sort:  

it's actually fantastic.
Your skill is amazing.
How can you're not called artist?

Thanks @walterz. I can very seldom produce original drawings though. If i have references I can copy from then more or less I am fine. But if you'd ask me to draw from my "head", then I can have less chances. Lol

Are you kidding? You did an awesome job on the penguin! Time to move to medium and hard art challenge. I need to break out my pencils and try @tonyr's challenge too. I keep saying I'm going to but if I have a spare minute, I nap. LOL
You know what else is amazing? YOU ARE.
You're only one post away from meeting the challenge requirements and then you can focus on your comments! There is no doubt you are going to make it to the finish line. I have faith in you. Great job, @arrliinn :)

Thanks @ merej99! I think I am getting a little more confident I want to try the lion. Haha. Ahmm, maybe the bird, if i get the time today in between baby sitting, grocery,, laundry and steemit! Lol... ahhh, day offs! I love 'em. 😅😅😅

I work harder on my days off because I'm trying to cram everything I didn't do the entire week into one afternoon. It's crazy! lol Good luck.

I think you did a great job recreating the penguin. No need to be anxious about judgment. Congrats on being featured twice as well!

Yay! Thanks @thesimplelife! I have not drawn for a long time and come to thinkof it, I missed it.

You will have to find more time to draw then!

Yeah, and make sure my little ones don't run away with my paper or pencil. Lol

For a non-artist, your level of skill is superb.. You have a good concept of light and shade.. Really nice drawing ...

Definitely worth a winner @arrliin

Yay, thanks @dean-mno! I was shading/coloring in haste, just "copied" how it was on the challenge pic. It was surely fun being able to draw again.

Drawing is meant to be fun.. Be free in expressing yourself... Something outstanding could just be beneath the surface...

True.. i have to find my way back into drawing, one way or another so that I could stir my children's interest on art.

My sister @erangvee grew up watching me draw. She picked up when I lost it and she turned out to be a great artist.

Wow... That really really inspiring... Would check out her page @erangvee... .

Who knows, your children may be the next Picasso...

I think every parent would love that. 😉

Yes, please do check her page out. She's been sharing her childhood drawings she managed to digitize. So yeah, cool!. 😊

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by arrliinn from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

@arlyn Wahahaha.. cute... so this is what you told me ,that is why you are late.. ahahahahaha... i remember you draw something for me also... one tesdy bear... 😆

Haha.. yeah. Trying to complete the post in the office.

Thank you so much for taking part in the contest @arrliinn! This is an excellent entry and a fantastic post!

Please upload an image to the actual contest page though along with your comment so that it is visible in the comments and allow the community to vote on it. :)

You have a very interesting blog also and I look forwward to seeing more from you in future my friend!

Good luck in the contest and also in the Community Engagement Challenge. It is indeed a tough ask by @merej99 but a very fun challenge nonetheless! :)

So many good entries now Tony. I wanted to spend some time to work on my Whaleshares Drawing, I come back and your contest has so many more posts!

This is actually really cute! It reminded me of the linux logo. (not the red hat)
Keep practising! I too am technically not really an artist, and for me sketching animals can be quite a challenge.
You have hidden talent @arrliinn , and with practice you can achieve greatness!

Ohh thank you! I had to google linux logo though. Hehe

I will try to keep drawing, intending to de-stress and influence my kids to it.

Yes. I was a kindergarten teacher once and the first thing I trained the kids (during my time) is to teach them to colour (not to draw yet), that helps them to focus with patience and after that I influence them to improve what they colour and gradually encourage them to draw.
This is something we all lack these days. patience and focus

A lot of things are being handed over to us almost instantaneously these days we tend to get impatient unfortunately. That is why going back to basics is sometimes really great. Kids will at least realize how things "really work".

Exactly.
All the mobile games and photo editing may be very convenient, but it reduces the creativity for kids if they are exposed too much at too early age.

Hala ang cuteeeee! 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66521.28
ETH 3454.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67