The Quest to Olympus: Halted. Romans vs Greeks

in #literature7 years ago

A few weeks ago, I was talking to my sister @erangvee about my current reading list.

My reading list at the moment:

The Heroes of Olympus Series!


Image Source


She blurted in laughter and said, "Oh, very young adult!" . Yeah, yeah! Like I am supposed to JUST read adult fiction and current events? Of course not.

Heck, I care.

I thought it is a very easy-go-lucky read and can really help me de-stress...

I am wrong apparently.


Halfway into the Third Book - The Mark of Athena , I realized (too late) how poor my knowledge on Greek and Roman mythology is.
I hope my high school English teacher will never find this out. Though it was very interesting, I really find it hard to differentiate which god is from which - Roman or Greek.


Image Source

The Heroes of Olympus is a pentalogy of adventure, mythological fiction and fantasy novels by American author Rick Riordan that collectively form a sequel series to the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series. This series details a conflict between Greek and Roman demigods and Gaea, the earth goddess. Riordan introduces Roman mythology into his sequel series as well as several new characters. The first book of the series, The Lost Hero, was published on October 12, 2010. The final entry in the series, The Blood of Olympus, was published on October 7, 2014. (credits - Wikipedia


So now I deem it necessary to dig on a little bit on the Greek and Roman gods so as to make my reading a little "lighter".


Image Source


Image Source


Image Source


I will leave it to that for now... hopefully I will be able to continue with my "quest" with less complications.


May the force of the STEEM be always in our favor....


Sort:  

Nice post, enjoy your steemit ride

Thank you @gee-world.

Hope you enjoy your steemin' too!

When I was a teacher I was always reading young adult fiction. I found it was a way I could connect with students and give me some "street cred". I can't use it as an excuse anymore since I'm not a classroom teacher, but the ones that I did read and enjoy I frequently reread for the same reason...to destress. Read on!

Haha. I love the "street cred" part. Being adults and for you as a teacher, these students tend to think that we are "too old" and maybe boring. I remember when I wa s in my pre/teens, I would describe someone in his mid 20's old. Now I am in my mid 30's I dont see myself as "old" lol.

Yeah, I get then"old" comment a lot (it's mostly in the form of "you don't look that old!!!") it's mostly because I'm their mom's age or older (and I'm still in my thirties as well!) I'm starting to get a bit creakier with age but I don't feel old!

True. Age is just the number, as they say. I believe that now. Haha

Waiting for the movie of it, like harry potter and divergent. As of now me and my kids we do movie maratton. Full movies of TRANSFORMER is done. Full movies of STAR WARS is done. This evening is NATIONAL TREASURE... 😆😆😆

Yeah, I do not think they have movies about this book series but I remember watching Percy Jackson and the Olympians and Percy Jackson: Sea Monsters.

The Percy Jackson movie was so bad; I'd never seen a worse movie adaptation of any book than PJ's. :(

I always tend to get disappointed on the movie adaptations of almost all books that I have read turned into movies. But yeah, HP movies were good. Pj movies, can't compare.

Rick Riordan also has two more series that tie into the story line you are reading now. The first is "The trials of Apollo" which is a spin off kind of sequel for the story line your on now. Main character in this one so far is Apollo. The next is a Norse mythology line of books "Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard". The main character in this series is Annabeth's cousin.

Both of these series are turning out to be as entertaining as the omes you mentioned above. I rather enjoy how all these series tie into one another. Reminds me of Stephen King's Dark Tower series in that aspect.

Thanks for thay @lokii. Will check them out once I finish my current "quest" hehe. By the time I finish all them maybe I can already tell which god is Greek and which god is Roman. Lol

lol I wish you luck. Don't forget the Norse gods if you go to the Magnus Chase series lol.

Nyaahhh,, yeah. I guess have to find out more about these Norse gods eventually. Haha


See your post mentioned here

Sir Ben and Mrs. Buenaflor would be very disappointed. LOL. Did you see yet Rick Riordan's dedication page in The House of Hades? 😂 I just realized I haven't read the last installment yet... and it's been years since I last read The House of Hades. 😶

Mrs Buenaflor was your English teacher? She tought World History and Economics during my time. She was so amazing she had the books memorized.

Sir Ben was my 2nd and 3rd year teacher, we did not touch on the topic yet.

We tackled Greek/Roman mythology on the senior year with Sir Agot. You may not know him coz he went to to become a college professor.

*taught kasi 'yun, eh! HAAHAHAHAH

And nooo. Mrs. Buenaflor was in my World History, and she discussed Greek mythology - saulong saulo niya, bes. From every detail of the Trojan War to even the rarest mythical creature.

Hahaha... really she discussed them?! Maybe not during our time. Haha. Or absent ako.

Did you see yet Rick Riordan's dedication page in The House of Hades? 😂 I just realized I haven't read the last installment yet... and it's been years since I last read The House of Hades

Nope, I did not get there yet. I am still on book 3.

Thank you @noahinigo10101!
Glad you enjoyed it.

Thank you for appreciating @crisgojar

Learning is fun. Isn't it strange how it happens organically from the places you least suspect?

True. There I was, I tought I was just passing time reading these books. But look, now I am somehow revisiting my Greek/Roman mythology knowledge because of this. Cool eh?!

Hahaha @arrliinn I even watch the Pretty Little Liars series, I think this seems more mature than that lol

Just like we're back in high school. Haha.
Honestly, I have yet to see this PLL... maybe i am too old I have never attempted to watch this. Hehe

Oh its messy drama haha hot stuff

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84