What Happens When The Sewing Machine Needle Hits Your Finger...Or Quilting Gwen's Quilt

in #art6 years ago

Yesterday I sat down to do the most dreaded task of quilting...actually quilting the sandwich together. It had its ups and downs, but overall, it went pretty well. Come along with me as I show you how the process went...and what happens when you accidentally hit your finger with the needle.

IMG_0835.JPG

There are various parts of making a quilt that I actually do not like at all. Quilting is probably high on that list. Making the top and back are usually my favorite parts and probably why I have quite a few tops just sitting around. Binding used to be horrible until I learned to do it on a machine...but that's next week's post (I hope).

IMG_0823.JPG . IMG_0824.JPG

The first thing I do to get ready for all over free motion quilting is change out my sewing foot on my machine. This is my free motion foot and it came with my Brother CS-6000i sewing machine. I then split my quilt into 4 parts and get started. I start on the corner 1/2 of the way up and sew to the middle and then complete the first quarter all the way to the bottom corner.

IMG_0825.JPG . IMG_0826.JPG

As I go, I stop at each safety pin and remove it. My machine stops in the needle down position or this would not be an easy task. The machine keeps my place just perfectly. The goal of all over stippling is to have the curves close to each other, not touching and no sharp points. I've been using this type of quilting for years and am better at it, but still not perfect!

IMG_0829.JPG

The first quarter is finally finished in this photo. I look at the clock and it took me about 30 minutes to finish!! I'm amazed because I was figuring this quilt would take 4-6 hours to complete.

You can see how the process goes in the video above. I am usually concentrating pretty hard while doing this and keeping an eye on my fingers, the top of the quilt and checking the back occasionally.

IMG_0834.JPG

As it got a little later, I must have gotten a little tired...or cocky. The needle hit my finger right as I was thinking I hadn't had any injuries or broken needles yet! Well, thankfully it just poked a small hole right beside my nail and only bled for a little bit, but it did break my needle! Got that replaced and finished up my quilt shortly after. Also had three bobbins run out. Not too bad for about 2 hours of quilting.

IMG_0830.JPG
Front detail
IMG_0831.JPG
Back detail

I am super happy with the way it turned out. I think my tension was off a little bit at times on the back so the stitches are pulled a little bit on the curves, but I think it will be okay. Other than that, the quilting is done and that's all that matters!!! Yea! Yippee!! Looks like it will be done on time if I can get the binding done in the next week or so (which shouldn't be a problem).

Progress posts on Gwen's quilt:
Starting a new wonky star quilt
Gwen's quilt top is finished
Making the quilt back
Personalizing the quilt back with my embroidery machine

monday.png
#NeedleworkMonday initiated by @crosheille

1panama ben fb.jpg

Sort:  

I am so impressed. I didn't even know interchangeable feet were a thing! Maybe that's why I break so many needles... 😅

Lol - yep - your machine should come with some or you can buy them. I even got a Pfaff machine that didn't come with a quilting foot, so I ordered one. Gotta try it out sometime!

My machines have always been second hand, so I didn't know. 😂

I was expecting gore! lol.

Im glad it wasn't that way.

Your quilt looks beautiful.

Lol - just a little blood and no pic of it. ;) Ha. Thanks - I love how the quilt is turning out.

What a beautiful quilt!! It's gorgeous and I love the colors! Great job!

I'm not sure if you saw it already, but just in case you haven't, I wanted to let you know that I nominated you for a something called the 7 day positivity challenge. If you want to check it out, here's the link https://steemit.com/7daypositivitychallenge/@snowpea/7-day-positivity-challenge-day-1

Hope you have a great day! ❤

Thanks for the comment! :) I tried to do a 7 day challenge and I just can't keep up with it at this point. :) Ha!

I love those colors! You've done a wonderful job. My mother owns an upholstery shop and has sewn her finger once or twice...and stapled it with the pneumatic staple gun a few times. Kind of just goes with the territory! Again, good job! I like it!

Ouch!!! Yeah, I've hit the edge of my finger (like this time) a time or two. Not fun. I named one quilt I did "Blood, Sweat and Tears." Ha

I believe that the quilting must be the most hated part of quilting! While cleaning out my aunt's house after her death, we found multiple half finished quilt tops and pieces from 3 generations of women. They seemed to like the piecing part, but not the quilting!
Gwen's quilt is turning out beautiful! Looking forward to learning about binding next week.

It is so true! I have quite a few tops just sitting in my closet. I even moved them to Panama with me planning to...at some point...get them made into quilts (but who for??). Lol!

Hoorrayy!! The most dreadful task is over. I can see you are very skilled in using free motion foot. Look at the patterns, they look very smooth. What is the size of the quilt, by the way?
Ouch, needles hitting fingers is very scary!

It's about 3 feet by 3 feet, so not terribly large. It's going to be a great size for the baby I think!

Perfect size for the baby blanket!

Yay! You are done! Your quilt looks so pretty! O dear.. Hope your finger is ok.

My finger is okay! Thankfully it just hit the edge of it. I'm loving the way this quilt is coming along. :)

Wow! Thanks for showing how you progressed with the quilt. Sorry about your injury with the needle. Your quilt is beautiful.

Thank you! I'm really happy with how it looks!! :)

Gorgeous!! ♥♥
It came out so lovely and professional-looking!
The one I am working on, (the same one I have been working on for months...) Instead of traditional quilting, we opted to put a big button in the center of each square. (My son wanted this.) At the time I thought, no big deal, it wont be any more work than quilting. Oh my goodness... It took me FOREVER to do it! I only just finished the buttons the other night, and now just binding the edges is left!

Mine is full of mistakes and no where near as nice as yours though!
So, so pretty! ♥

Thanks for the compliments! :) I love the way this quilt is turning out. I had no idea that putting buttons in each square would take that much longer! Wow!!

Haha, me neither, or I wouldnt have done it! But then, maybe I just stink at sewing on buttons... ;)

Owww I hope your finger is ok? My mother used to sow with a machine like that one and I saw her put holes in her fingers on numerous occasions. Great quilt BTW's

My finger is good, thanks! It was just the edge of it - ha! Yep, sewing is a dangerous activity. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63