Gwen's Quilt Top Is Finished - Work In Progress - Needlework Monday

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Needlework Monday is here! I am super excited to report on the progress of the quilt I am making for my niece, Gwen! I just love the way the top has turned out - just perfect for a little girl.

IMG_0086.JPG

I decided to go with squares all around the stars in order to add to the quilt some. I cut out a bunch of 4.5 inch squares from coordinating fabrics. It really took a lot of squares to have enough to go around all nine stars.

IMG_0078.JPG

Then I started sewing together each square in a random order. I had 4-6 squares of each fabric cut out. I sewed some into lines 4 squares long, some 5 and some 3. I tried to mix the fabrics all up so that no two alike were next to each other.

IMG_0080.JPG

Next came laying out the pieces to see my progress and figure out how many more of each length I needed. Still a little work to go, but thankfully sewing squares together doesn't take a lot of time!

IMG_0079.JPG

After getting all of the lengths finished, I laid out the whole quilt how I wanted it on the ground. I'm glad that I took a picture at this point because the dogs decided to come in from the rain (soaking wet) and have a wrestling match on top of the laid out quilt top!! I was not a happy mama! There were fabric pieces flying in the air as they "played" with their newfound "toy" that was laying on "their" wrestling rug! Thankfully no animals and no fabric pieces were hurt in the process!

IMG_0081.JPG
.
IMG_0096.JPG
Did not get a pic of them wrestling on the fabric as I was frantically trying to get them off!
Here they are showing off their incredible wrestling skills.

Somehow I managed to get them off and out of the room while I finished sewing together the pieces to make the top. It ended up looking cuter than I thought it was going to! I was very happy with the final product and I know that Gwen will like it. Perhaps purple will become her favorite color as well!

IMG_0085.JPG

Be sure to check back next week when I show how I pieced together the quilt back. It's not quite done at this point, but it's getting close!

monday.png
#needleworkmonday initiated by @crosheille

SMbannersmall.png

To see my other quilts, click the links on this post.

Sort:  

The quilt looks great! Glad you didn't have to kill the dogs. I'm always having to fight the cats when they lay down on my knitting, they seem to think the string is a toy. But I've never had to deal with dogs trying to wrestle on top of my project! My friends Shiba Inu likes to take balls of yarn out for walks, so we've learned not to leave our yarn anyway he can find it.
You did a great job ramdomizing the blocks.

Thanks! That's so funny about the dog taking yarn on walks! Ha!

That was a close one! Glad all is well. That quilt is beautiful and Gwen will surely love it! Thanks for sharing.

Yes, they were in big trouble!! Thanks!!

It looks Bright and Beautiful!!! I love the different square patterns you put together. All of the colors look so great together!

I cracked up when you said no animals or fabric pieces were hurt in the process lol!! 😂 I can see you know frantically getting them off of those beautiful pieces. Your dogs are precious and looks like they have a wonderful time together!

Looking forward to your update next week!! 😃

Thanks!! I think it turned out great as well. It has some of my favorite fabrics in it, so that helps. :) Yes, I almost killed the dogs - they were in big trouble!! I guess I need to find a better place to lay out all of my fabrics in the future. We are shocked that the dogs get along so well. Akitas are usually not friendly dogs, but ours has accepted her new playmate pretty well and we're pretty happy about that! They love wrestling. Ha!

Oh I’m sure you almost did lol!! 😅 The Lord was with you in that moment!!!! 😄😉. That is so great they get along so well...awwww! 😍

It's so great to see it come together @apanamamama ! I enjoy seeing the process, but it requires precision and patience... both are my weakest points... 😉

:) I am not usually good at doing precision cutting or 1/4" sewing, so I'm glad most of the corners lined up and so did the measurements. ;)

The front is lovely! Ok, your dogs are lovely too, but they have chosen a dangerous playing ground :-D Next time they could end as a dog Quilt ;-)
Again, I admire your patience and your fabulous colour taste (not sure if the word is right...I mean you have chosen the colours well)

Thanks so much! :) Yes, they definitely could end up as part of the quilt next time. I'll have to figure out a new place to lay out the design...

Oh, what a beautiful quilt!!! Putting the smaller squares around the star blocks was the perfect idea to frame them and add even more color. I absolutely love it <3 <3 <3 oh, and when you said the dogs romped over it, I was utterly horrified on your behalf!

Lol - thanks! They sure did think it was a fun new mat to play on!! Grrr!! I think it turned out super cute. Now I need to finish up the back!

That's so much work! Beautiful, though. Keep at it. :)

Thanks! It's a lot of fun! :)

The result is just excellent! Looks so bright and homey at the same time, I'm sure that your niece will like it.

Thanks! I think it turned out well also! :)

Hi @apanamamama The quilt is beautiful, I am sure your niece will love it! The colors are so pretty!

Thanks so much! :) I think it's great too!

How beautiful! How long have you spent on it already?

I am only finding time to work on it on Saturdays and Sundays, so I've spent the last two weekends spending a few hours each day working. I have the back almost completed also. So I'd say around 15 hours so far...more or less!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58051.31
ETH 3136.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44