🎨 Art by @andrijana/ White (2) / Circles in White

in #art6 years ago (edited)


Circles in White



To use or not to use white in painting?
Should it be pure white or just light colors?


I was told many times, ‘Never use pure white, it doesn’t exist in nature.’, but my interest in white is so huge that after some time a quest starts again: how to get it along with intensive colors?



prva.jpg



Except for the colors, and their contrasts, I'm interested in white
and how to combine white with colors.


Why white?


I can achieve huge contrast using white and other colors. Of course, the greatest contrast is achieved with white and black together, but I cannot use black. I just can’t paint black. I use dark colors only in small artworks, the larger the canvas is, less dark colors I can put on it. If I paint large canvas in dark I just feel like I’ll drown in it and suffocate. Light, on the contrary, has purines, it is like opening color, I feel I can express myself much better with it.



I was doing several workouts on smaller canvases, preparing myself for later larger one.


At first I used pure white, as you can see in this first two works shown down here:


I_II.jpg
Circle I & II, oil and pastel on canvas


After that I was exploring cooperation of intensive colors and very light ones, with only little pure white, as you can see it in two paintings below. On the last one you can notice also some drawings with black oil pastel. That is also something that I would like to research more on larger canvases.


III_IV.jpg
Circle III & IV, oil and pastel on canvas



What I like most in these works are some details:


Untitled-1.jpg



White is not easy to cope with, at least not to me. I have to explore it more.



Thank you for your attention!!




Some latest art stories:
ART by @andrijana / White (1) / Meet me as birds do
A few quick ink sketches of my cat (2)
ART by @andrijana/ A Winter Dream
Artwork / Painting // Expressing joy // '39 °C in the shade’(4)
Artwork / Painting // Expressing joy // '39 °C in the shade’(3)





Feel free to follow and enyoj my painting adventures!
@andrijana



potpis7.jpg


Sort:  

...and... I also really love your art. As I can see, your mind and creativity is very free and it´s really rare. Everyone can undisturbedly meditate with your pieces...

Thank you @jecminek!
I'm thinking about that freedom in your paintings. I have some control while painting and don't like it. I can clearly distinguish those moments when I'm inside the painting and those ones when the control takes over. I have to get rid of that control.

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61068.10
ETH 2655.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58