🎨 ART by @andrijana / Rooted Strands

in #art6 years ago (edited)


Rooted Strands



IMG_2378_a_okvir.jpg


Rooted Strands, 2018.
Oil, acrylic and oil pastel on canvas
140 cm X 100 cm



Last summer I opened myself to all colors. Since then my paintings swim in them! I’m really happy thought it was my aim for years. It has to do something with me, with my opening to the world again after many years of fighting with some of my own demons inside. Now the warmth has come in me, like some magical strands rooted on the abandoned battlefield. It's not surprising that I take something of it and give it to everything I do.



The process of this painting was a long journey. I might stop in many moments, but the painting was carrying me till few days ago. Let me show you few steps of that process:


Untitled-1.jpg


Untitled-2.jpg

Untitled-3.jpg


I love all those previous steps. Red and purple are my favorite color combination. I like to use red, whether it is high or low intense red. Sometimes I mix it with white. The same applies to purple. There are so many purple colors. Those closer to red are my favorites. If I use green as a contrast, it would be olive green or yellow-green. I have discovered very interesting mixture of light purple (lavender) and yellow-green. You can find it in all those previous steps. When it comes to blue, I love all of them, but didn’t use them much here, blue does not come together with red-purple combination.



After all those playing with composition and contrasts of colors, in the end I have put another layer on and than scratch it with knife in some parts. That’s how lower layer came out but not pure how it was before.


Here are some details where you can easily notice knife scratching:


IMG_2382.jpg


IMG_2383.jpg


After scratching I have put another one or two layers of colors to connect lower layer with the last one. You can see it on details below:


IMG_2384.jpg


IMG_2386.jpg



At the end I gave up on purple-red domination, rather let orange to have the most important place, and giving it some blue contrast.


After all those prior steps I have show you, maybe you wonder how I decided to stop. I felt the painting have some life by itself, so that was the end. It is better to say beginning thou, new one is born!


IMG_2378_a.jpg



Thank you for your attention!!




Some latest art stories:
Art by @andrijana/ How to understand abstract art / The fog city
Art by @andrijana/ White (3) / Fifth Circle
ART by @andrijana / White (1) / Meet me as birds do
A few quick ink sketches of my cat (2)
ART by @andrijana/ A Winter Dream



Feel free to follow and enjoy my painting adventures!
@andrijana



potpis7.jpg


Sort:  

You have received an upvote from @slothicorn! Neigh neigh.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70979.17
ETH 3849.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48