Rodin Mishmash - sand sculpturesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)



Rodin in my one of my favourite sculptors. I saw his work in Paris many years ago and was completely blown away by the emotions his work conveys. Technically of course they are

amazing but it is the subtlety of gesture and poses that really got me.......I felt something and for me that is what art is all about. I'm not sure if I have achieve

this with my own work yet.

This sculpture was created for the 1998 Galway arts Festival by a group of us who had met in college. I think there were seven, Fergus Mulvany, Niall Magee, Kilian Vander

Velden, Brian Hegarty, Angus Martin, Liam Sharkey and myself which was way to many to create a coherent piece. Each with us with our own idea of what it should be and getting

in each others way while trying to work. But it was fun and we looked at it as more of a Jun-kit with no payment for the work but all expenses paid and we did also get to see

all the other stuff going on in the festival.

The Galway Arts Festival is Ireland biggest arts festival and It was great to be apart of it and see that sand sculpture was starting to be accepted as an art form.

We had decided on making some sort of tribute to Rodin but with a futuristic feel. Science fiction and fantasy were always a popular theme in sand sculpture in those days and

it allowed us to just go with the flow.



I don't remember exactly what parts I carved but I do remember making the large cut through running behind the figures, making it large enough to be able to walk from one side

to the other without having to go around the whole sculpture where there would be other sculptors in my way. As you can see the sand was quite strong and it was nice to push it

to the limits.

When finished I didn't feel anything for the piece. So, its was a fail there but Rodin's strong poses gave the sculpture some nice focal points.


clickablesm.gif


Ps

I'm nearly at a milestone of hitting 500 followers. Thank you to each and every one. I've been very busy lately so haven't had much time to post. Normal services will resume as

soon as possible. Hopefully Steemit be running more smoothly by then.

Thanks for reading and as always you can check out some of my recent posts below.




Loop de Loop - snow sculpture




Rescue - sand sculpture




Capture the flag - sand sculpture




Yogi -sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon and all comments welcome.
@ammonite

!steemitworldmap 53.276750 lat -9.057596 long 1998 Galways arts festival sand sculpture d3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations @ammonite! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!


This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 2700+ followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61