Mother Earth - sand sculpture

in #art7 years ago (edited)

One thing that has struck me over the years when researching ideas for different sculptures is how similar mythology is in different countries. The characters may be different but the way they are used to represent certain ideas seem to have a common lineage.

For the 2010 Dublin sand sculpture exhibition we had the theme of 'Vikings'. Normally we were the ones to choose the theme but this year the castle, who were funding the project asked if we could do something to tie in with a viking festival that was happening in Dublin at the time. Reluctantly we agreed. Too be honest I wasn't too inspired by it.



Mythical myths

I decided on the creation myth where Odin and his brothers used Ymir’s body to create the Earth mixed with Gaia the Ancient Greek story. In actuality, I just wanted to make a big naked woman and shifted the theme to fit it.

Making a human body from sand can be very difficult especially when working at a large scale. With all the familiarity we have with the body it can be challenge to make a pose which looks natural and is self supporting in sand. This is why it is always a good idea to have another element which can be used to support the massive overhangs you are sure to encounter.

With this sculpture I wanted to try my hand at making a large figure but keep it as just that. Luckily the beautiful @clodaghdowning was on hand to model for me. We experimented with different poses till we had one which was self contained, natural and had a certain pensive quality.



Mother Earth

On one side of the of the sculpture, where the visitors to the castle would enter I presented just a bare naked lady sitting in a nest of Viking design but as they got closer they would see that she was actually part of the braid and the toes formed it. As they walked around the other side the figures skin was missing revealing a rocky like structure. I really like to play with texture and the contrast with the smooth skin worked quite nicely.



Out foxed

The pictures above are the only pictures I have of her because I had planned to come back the next day and take more but it was not to be. That night just after I finished the courtyard was visited by a fox who decided he wanted to get a better look and tried to climb up her hands, destroying them in the process.

The security men from the castle told me they saw the whole thing unfold on camera but could not show me due to national security or some such nonsense. I could see the little foot prints they left so I have no reason the doubt the story.



A pigs ear out of a pigs ear

So what was I to do? I knew I could never build up her hands again due to the weight of sand required so I had to improvise and came up with the solution below. Cracks were running through her left arm and I knew that would fall with the next rain. With this I tried to give a negative effect hoping the arm would still be there, but not. The right arm was still stable so I thought if I worked it down and into the braid it might be an interesting approach.



You win some and you lose some

Damn city foxes. I really never knew they could be such clumsy critics. In the end I wasn't very happy with the repair but at least it looked semi finished for the remainder of the exhibition. I was disappointed as I really liked the way she sat there in the yard. I have to remind myself every now and then that I am just working with sand and mother nature can be a cruel mistress.


clickablesm.gif


Ps

I had a great time at the @steem-dublin meetup last Saturday. We meet once a month to discuss all things steemy and have a few drinks in the process to grease the social gears. The numbers are growing all the time and it is so cool to have so many characters from different walks of life coming together under the Steem umbrella.
Thanks for reading, commenting and your support. If you want to see more of my work stay tune to this channel. For now check out some of my earlier posts. one of which is a short film.
Quick question, do you think I should make another channel just for my video work?




CCTV - sand sculpture




Nina sowmoan - sand sculpture




Glitch - short film

I hope you'll join me again soon.
@ammonite
[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 53.343105 lat -6.267762 long Mother Earth - sand sculpture 2010 d3scr)

Sort:  

Those were the days....

Indeed, but now we are older and wiser. Thank you muse.

Great story and a super save on the broken hands.
I was doubtful about the urban foxes yarn. I thought it's some devil OPW guys havin' a laugh. But according to Google, we have quite an army of marauding foxes here. Who'd've thought?

Thanks, there are actually many foxes around the city center. I've seen lots in the wee hours of the morning wandering the streets looking for mischief.

We miss so much, those of us who don't rise before noon!

Wow!! It is very creative activities. original content. I like it very much.

glad I visited you again (by way of a comment on another tread) to find this magnificent work!
upvoted, resteemed and shared https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/958676525766848512
I am thinking about Campbell's Monomyth in relation to your text.

Cool someone tweeted it. Thanks for the info regarding Monomyth. It's a very interesting subject. I heard that there are actually only seven different stories.
Your comment also encouraged me to crop the first image in my post as it wasn't displaying in the thumbnail as a nice composition.
Thank you @thermoplastic

Mythology was a subject I had always been interested in. Interesting also in this connection is that there are tribes on opposite ends of the world that had never been in contact with one another, yet have similar beliefs and ceremonies.

Good question regarding separate account for your video work. Personally, I don't think the sculpting and your creative video work are that far removed that any of your audience would feel alienated.

Alot of my video work very much relates to my work as a sculptor. I probably will just keep it all on the one account.If people aren't interested they can just skip. Thanks @condra

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=mother-earth-sand-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

What is the problem you are having, sometimes it takes a while for the confirmation to come through the format of the location data on the post was [//]:# (!steemitworldmap 53.343105 lat -6.267762 long Mother Earth - sand sculpture 2010 d3scr) . Hope this helps

oh, I got yours, no problem. Mine does not work! I got the confirmation with the links. All it does it shows the generic map without any markers. On my post I actually included a screenshot of the map after I marked the location and got the code. I might try this again some time with another post, then I do what WC Fields suggested: "If at first you don't succeed, try, then try again. After that, give up. No use making a damn fool of yourself!"

got it cleared up now. Hope it goes smooth the next time. There are quite a few (future) posts I would like to use this on!

Great, i think it is a great way to visualise steemit . But hope they add a function to add my older posts.

well, I just hope it stays. Tying into Google maps, there used to be a site for artists, pinpointing them on the map with a link to their website. Alas, whoever was doing that project lost interest and it disappeared.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54414.30
ETH 2295.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30