Follow the star - sand sculpture

in #art5 years ago



Still on a Christmas theme and still with the 3 kings following the star. I made this one just after the Ice sculpture in Eindhoven, Holland. A change of material and in a big glass house in Arcen, Holland. It was a small project with just Wilfred Stijger and Edith Van Der Wetering.

The location was a Glass house botanic gardens kind of thingy on the grounds of Arsen castle and who were we to say no to the king of the castle. (I don't actually think he was really a king)



There isn't much to say about the sculpture or the project as it was pretty quick and all our time was spent between the warm glasshouse and our accommodation.

For me i wanted to focus on the journey the lads had to make to find the newborn Jesus and it was more a picture than a sculpture.

Sand has great difficulty in being turned into long necked thin legged camels so, I used the landscape backdrop as support with some negative carving giving way to a more 3 Dimensional character up front. This allowed me to give the impression of verticality but still be quite safe from collapse. (Yes! I know Verticality is not a real word. My English teaching wife @clodaghdowning just spent the last ten minutes lambasting me for wanting to use it. I told her I wouldn't, so this will be our little secret. She'll never know as she rarely reads my posts. teeheeeheee! But, I hope you know what I mean, sometimes a word just feels right no matter what spellcheck or Clodagh says...So, there)

Carving sand dunes from sand should have been easy but creating natures subtle beauty can be quite difficult. I like the section just above the middle king although I think the area in-front of the largest king is a bit too busy. Less is more when it comes to these sort of things.




I'll put this post to bed now with a quick mention of how I did the star. I added a strong light behind and used a piece of white plastic at the front to give it a surface defused glow. The light was so strong that it was hard to focus on, just don't try this with the sun.

One more Christmas themed sculpture to go from 2004 and then onto something less seasonal, I promise. Tune in next time when I make up more words and rambles. Happy Christmas.



clickablesm.gif



Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Follow the Star - ice sculpture

Two rooms with a view- ice sculpture

Zhoushan 2004 - sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

Sort:  

How big is the sculpture? Do you do ice sculptures and sand sculptures as well? I've never done any of those (besides of sand castles on a beach :D ) but I would think that these are two completely different techniques that require different skills, no? You must be very talented! :)

Thank you for sharing and have a good weekend!

Thank you @delishtreats. Yes they are all quite different when it comes to the way I approach them as a material but that is why I like working in all of them. Each material has it's own strengths and weaknesses and so allow me to do different thing with each.
I have probably worked most with sand but have been lucky to have experience with most materials to more permanent ones like bronze and stone but what I like most about ephemeral materials is that they feel more like 3D sketches that one day I my use in a more long lasting material.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=follow-the-star-sand-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi @ammonite!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.328 which ranks you at #2582 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 2583).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 212 contributions, your post is ranked at #46.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Dear ammonite:

We are SteemBet, the next generation STEEM based gaming platform. We are honored to invite you to join our first fantastic dice game, which is just the beginning of SteemBet game series. Our dividend system has now launched. The prize pool has already accumulated 2,000 STEEM and more than 60 players have participated in staking mining token SBT. A huge reward of 40,000 STEEM is awaiting! Join us NOW with other 500 STEEM users to loot HUGE dividend reward!!

SteemBet Team

Official Website
https://steem-bet.com

Discord Server
https://discord.gg/95cBN3W

Telegram Group
https://t.me/steembet

Although I wish you luck with steem-bet I don't think comment spamming is a good advertising approach.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #466.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.72
ETH 3377.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52