Follow the Star - ice sculpture

in #art5 years ago (edited)




Showing sculpture of a Christmas theme at this time of year is probably not the most seasonal thing to do, but you will have to bear with me. I am trying to document all my sculptures in chronological order and this is the next on my list, created for an ice sculpture festival in Eindhoven, Holland all the way back in 2004.

I was teamed up again with Niall magee and asked to make this for the Christmas ice sculpture exhibition. We were to depict the three kings following the star to find the son of God, who had just been born in Bethlehem. I'm sure you heard the story. It's from a good book



While Niall set about making the three king I decided to tackle the star. Our floor space was very limited as was the ceiling height so I opted to make it as a long backdrop to the kings.

I had one block of ice around 2m by 1m by 50cm and the off cuts of snow that Niall had from the kings. It reminded me of another story in The Good Book where many years later Jesus was able to use 5 loaves and two fishes to feed a crowd of 5000 dinner guests. Well, here was I trying to create a whole backdrop with bits and bobs.



Being a clever clogs and hoping to try something different, I first wanted to make the star like a sphere of atomic rings. So I constructed a compass jig to allow me to use my die grinder ( a large Dremil tool) to cut large rings into the side of the larger block of ice to as deep as my cutting bit would go. I them enlisted the help of Kimmo Frosty (a Finish ice sculptor that was much more experienced than I at using the 1 meter chain saw) to cut these ring free from the block.
Leaving the largest one on a base Niall and I then proceeded to fuse back in the smaller rings at different angles to give it a more globe like look. In the middle I made a ball of ice which was to be connected with an optic fiber I ran up through the tail This whole process is hard to express in words but the above image was the result.




The tail was made from the rest of the ice. It was a large feather like structure and running through its spine I ran the optic fiber to bring light up to the center of the star. You can see this in some of the images. Unfortunately I never got to see the light connected as I had to leave the project early with Niall finishing off.



Unfortunately the star didn't last too long and never got it's light like I wanted. Someone hit against it and the whole thing smashed into a million pieces.
The above image it what another sculptor did to try and salvage the piece.
With Ice you have to except these situations. Try your best but it is usually up to someone else, once you leave to do the finishing touches to your work. You can't be too precious about your work.
I really enjoy coming up with new ways of doing things and I really liked how delicate the whole thing looked. Maybe, in hind-sight a bit too delicate.



clickablesm.gif



Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Two rooms with a view- ice sculpture

Zhoushan 2004 - sand sculpture

Temporal nostalgia - sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

Sort:  

What a gorgeous star ice sculpture ! I love the idea that the head is a rotating constellation type of structure with its tail trailing behind it, forming a backdrop for the kings ! Absolutely magical ! <3

Too bad it got smashed :( The replacement is ... adorable, but does not do the piece justice...

I love your star so much !!!

Thank you @veryspider . It was a pity it never got completed I may try the same idea again some day as I too really liked the form.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, these are awesome ammonite. Love the two tone colour thing. Does anyone add food colouring to the ice sculpture ice? I've never seen it done, but it sounds possible.

Thank you. I have seen people try to mix colour in with ice. It can end up looking a bit tacky. More so than ice sculpture sometimes looks. More common is white ice which is made by adding skimmed milk. I much prefer to use lighting to create colour effects.

Posted using Partiko Android

I would imagine it would only work if used really minimally. Some gems in a chest. A stone in a ring, Eye irises. That kind of thing.

It was a pretty fine star while it lasted. It would have looked amazing with light in the centre, but then, the story would have lost something.

Thank you. I am seeing a pattern here, that my stories end up being an integral part of the sculptures from this era of my work. Writing them brings me back to when I made them and I like that making these posts adds another layer to their story with the comments I get.

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you very much.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hiya, @itchyfeetdonica here. I just curated your post to our daily Travel Digest #464 and upvoted it through @steemitworldmap. If you enjoy what we do, consider supporting us by:

Vote for the Daily Traveldigest
Follow our curation trail
Delegate Steempower


The more support we get, the more we can give back! :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=follow-the-star-ice-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @ammonite!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.328 which ranks you at #2579 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 2583).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 214 contributions, your post is ranked at #47.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello @ammonite, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49