Two rooms with a view- ice sculpture

in #art5 years ago



This could all do with a spot of colour and it did get some in the end but, unfortunately I had to leave the project before this was done. All my images are with the work lights used during construction and carving.
Ice really lends itself to playing with lighting and I suggested to them that they lit this piece with many changing colours from different angles to give it a painterly feel, hoping that I would see some photos of the piece complete. But alas I never got any images.

This is one of the things I don't like about working on large commercial Ice projects, I always have to leave before I see how everything comes together and finding out if my vision was correctly resolved.

This Collection of room scenes was made for the 2004 Oberhausen, Germany ice sculpture festival by another carver and I. (For the life of me I can't remember if it was Jeroen Meijer of Martijn Rierse.) We were asked to make two houses with very different scenes within, one was a reproduction of Van Goghs famous painting 'El dormitorio en Arles' and the other a Christmas scene. Don't ask me why, I was just just following orders.




Source

Room 1

Trying to make a sculpture of a painting is like trying to make a poem about a dance. Certain mediums are chosen for a reason. I'm sure Van Gogh was a great ice sculptor by he wanted to express the world through paint and colour. Anyways, this is the painting above.



The building came with no roofs so, the first thing we did was hobble together some sort of snow block covering on top with a wooden support for safety. Then we had a closed off box. It was then necessary for us to cut a door so that we could enter and then at the end seal it off again.



Each of the elements were made outside and then brought in. It really felt like we were making a stage set. All would be viewed from a small window which we cut in the wall. To give the look of the painting from the 1 point perspective of the window we tilted the floor and carved, well constructed all the furniture in perspective. From the window all our warped furniture came together quite well. We left it with the floor still to be covered in a layer of white snow powder but before we sealed the door, as a nod to the creator of the original I made a dismembered ear from ice and left it on the table.

Room 2



The second room was simple enough in idea. Just three characters representing a family at Christmas with a tree and a wood-burning stove in the center.The mother had a present in her hands that she was about to give to her child. Can you guess what it is? 1 SBD for the first correct answer in the comments below.



On the outside of the building I was asked to make a figure in the windy street to contrast the nice cosy inside. (You want a cosy ice sculpture‽) I made him being blown away by the wind trying to hang on to the window frame. His head was carved like a mask so that people could look at the scene inside through his eyes. This was me just trying to add a bit of creativity to an otherwise pedestrian scene.



I actually enjoyed making these Dioramas. It was nice to have restricted views of sculptures so that the audience had something to discover.

Mouse house




As a last minute thing I was asked to come up with something simple which would make the side wall of one of the houses more interesting. It was a area of the project where there was nothing really of interest to see. So, I made this little mouse maze for people to play. Nothing really deep or meaningful, just a bit of fun and apt for what would be going on in the walls of a house. It had a few ways that would lead the mouse to a trap or cat but if successful the mouse would get home to his own little house.



The mouse house was a miniature with one mouse already home playing snooker and other furnishings.
Overall it was a nice little project where I felt I was more a carpenter than sculptor. It was just a pity I didn't get to see it all with it's final lighting. I did however get this image from someone obviously showing that they ignored my ideas on lighting altogether. pishhhh?!!!





clickablesm.gif



Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Zhoushan 2004 - sand sculpture

Temporal nostalgia - sand sculpture


Mirror mirror - sand sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=two-rooms-with-a-view-ice-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

The ice sculpture of the painting worked really well! And the mouse house and the other house were pretty cool too XD You never fail to impress :) (regardless of how you feel about your work at the time or afterwards XD)

Sorry for delayed response, Real life has keep me pretty busy I I've been missing time to comment. Thank you as always.

Holy moly you are a true artist, wowzer!!!!

Thank you very much.

The detail is simply amazing. Love the TEDDY IN THE BOX and the ear on the table
What we need is an Ice Museum for permanent display if we can have a Leprechaun Museum I'm sure an Ice Museum be as successful.

Thank you Robbie. and sorry for the late reply. Would love to do one here in Ireland. If you know anyone with a couple of hundred thousand euros to invest I'm sure we could make an amazing show.
I will send you your prize for the first correct answer.

This is fascinating. There's so much to see, so much detail.
In the third image, what are the guys in the top right corner getting up to?
Climbing on top of each other's shoulders with some kind of tool?

Thank you Deirdy, I think the guys were supposed to be decorating a tree made from snow. The sculpture was made on a pallet so it could be rolled into it;s correct position at the end. Sorry for the delay in replying but real life has suddenly got very real for me. I need a holiday. xx

Hi @ammonite!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.328 which ranks you at #2549 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 6 places in the last three days (old rank 2543).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 233 contributions, your post is ranked at #89.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

WOW! Amazing! And wonderful idea the VanGogh room!!! :-D

Thank you Caroline. Van Gogh was really out on his own doing some amazing work. A bit like you.

Thank you for the big compliment :-)))) I really like his art..... and also your art!!!! :-D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 56386.16
ETH 2529.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49