A Walk Along The Paths Of Memories

in #archisteem5 years ago (edited)

A hapless, hapless happening brought me back to where I spent my childhood. A walk on the paths of memories!

This place is very far from where I live now and that's why I rarely get there. The place is in northern Romania, closer to the cold Russia than to Bucharest, the city where I live now.

The city is very small and the neighborhood where my mother's home is is even smaller.

In spite of all this, a rather harsh winter wrapped it all in white. Winter hard enough to make it difficult to return home tomorrow morning.

I took a short walk from the village church (yes, this neighborhood is practically a small village with houses scattered among the small hills).

In this cemetery there are many of my childhood relatives and friends if I realize I left these places for over fifty-five years.

I don't want to sad anyone, I still want to start somewhere.

5roos4o2i5.jpg

Before showing you a little of my walk, I invite you to listen to a Romanian song. The song is a patriotic one, it's very old and it's about more than a hundred years old when this region was occupied by the Habsburg Empire, and the men were enforced by the Imperial army.


Source-Click here if the video don't play

The walk follows the former school where I learned to write and read ... now left and degraded.

99jcllrml1.jpg

The small and slope streets that I used to play with my friends.

ntv5drsivm.jpg

gay2w1oqju.jpg

28gwbra2fg.jpg

Although most homes have been rebuilt and renovated all these years, I search all the old ones besides my childhood, those houses where my playmates lived, my schoolmates.

kuf35m6gkd.jpg

nywhzuf4rl.jpg

vc3oh2gj8b.jpg

It was a #beautifulsunday because at every step of the walk I had a memory. A memory of a beautiful childhood!

However, something more than just a walk has happened. I went with my brother and his children to a mountain village about 30 km from the house. I went to meet a very dear person to me and my wife. An Orthodox Christian priest who is a friend and our confessor.

He is a gentle and good man, a professor of religion and he is ... shy. He doesn't like being photographed.

umv5wpsa58.jpg

g5vw25zbn5.jpg

a0i1udq25k.jpg

One of the Romanian customs is to offer a meal in memory of the dead. There is a special room in the churches for these commemorations. I participated in this day.

ktzpmblrws.jpg

rkj0xjzlts.jpg

Generally, these foods are offered to the poor and therefore have always been well received.

These places and constructions are due to our confessor, Father Radu! There are several pictures of his church on the edge of the forest.

5x4mdn12xp.jpg

c71mkqcdv0.jpg

jg3b9ayad9.jpg

favknydz3g.jpg

ffpkkl9m3q.jpg

The meeting with Father Radu always makes the day sublime. Now it was a #sublimesunday!

I showed here a little rural Romania. It's the city Falticeni (where is my childhood home) and the village of Buda (where is the church of Father Radu). I hope you are interested and see the beauty. Thank you!

Challenges proposed by @ace108 and @c0ff33a.

steemit-border

tjtzvzbvr3.jpg

Click Here For Details

steemit-border
Posted using eSteem Surfer
steemit-border

Sort:  

Hi @bluemoon!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.560 which ranks you at #5976 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 5980).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 391 contributions, your post is ranked at #109.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hey @bluemoon Love posting in curie? ❤❤❤

Join the Curie Member’s Community 👊

Dear @bluemoon,

Thank you for the submission for our project – 1001 Places to Remember. Hooray, your story is now listed in our project publication, you can check through our progressive report either from our @fundition project page or @archisteem account. We will be sorting out the seasonal shortlist authors and make an announcement soon for the seasonal reward.

Stay tuned and Steem on!

Sincerely from,

@archisteem and team

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 18 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 149 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi, @bluemoon!

You just got a 0.14% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

The snow clad place around seems so peaceful.
Don't know what the song means but feels like the men singing are united.

Yes, you have right about the song.

Thanks for confirming. :-)

So snowy and beautiful, what a wonderful place to visit and remember your childhood.

And how nice you were able to visit an old friend, a priest not keen on photography but loving for people the important part of life - and such a thoughtful part of religion to remember the dead with a meal for the living - especially those most needy.

Another special and poignant post, yet again I wish more would appreciate your work because you truly make every post a delight of words and pictures - I wish more people would take their time to appreciate it.

Thank you for sharing your work for #SublimeSunday, and always creating incredible high quality posts.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello @bluemoon, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you! It is a great pleasure for me and an honor.

I voted on this and wrote a comment which has since disappeared with the problems of Steemit last week. I love that song, it has an eerie quality, almost like sad, but you said it was patriotic.

The rural countryside of your childhood home is beautiful, Dan! @bluemoon I can only imagine how much snow you had when you were a kid. Snow all season long! I like the church and its customs.

Thank you so much for sharing this part of you. It was truly a wonderful, heartfelt post.

!tip

I'm glad you liked the song, especially as the text is in a foreign language.
I'm just as glad you could see the beauty of the place in just a few shots and a little story. Thank you!

It is always a pleasure, my friend!

For me too ... my friend! I hope you noticed that I don't often use this word "friend". Some use it very much with no substance. To be a friend needs a lot of time, knowledge and resemblance. If you let me, I'll tell you ... friend!

Thank you so much. That means a lot to me.

I have to thank. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61914.69
ETH 3017.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79