Throwback of a Throwback: My dark past as a video game modder...🤓🕹📀

in #archdruid-contest5 years ago (edited)


image source


Yeah a while ago (2 years) I made this post about one of my favourite video games ever. Dawn of War, released in 2004 and I being a huge fanboi of Warhammer 40k tabletop since 1998 or so. You can only imagine my joy of finally being able to play a real 40k RTS.

Warhammer 40K video games had been made since the 90's but none were in RTS genre, some were good like Turn Based Chaos Gate, and perhaps Shooter Fire Warrior....but the others...well let's say they weren't my taste, I absolutely hated Rites of War 😡 I regretted buying it as I was expecting something like Chaos Gate but with Eldars and it was nothing close to that.

Anywaay, back to Dawn of War, being a relatively easy to mod game, not even past a day I got it I started modifying things, first my edits were merely about the unit stats but I started doing more and more modifications until I had a completely revamped weapons system and had included bunch of extra units available through modding sites and boards...that was when I started sharing some of my stuff on relicnews forums, first it was custom textures then I joined a guy making 3d models producing some missing units or revamping existing ones so they were more like their table top counterparts....


And then it was when I found about Firestorm Over Kronus, a mod made by a group of people who aimed to turn Dawn of War into a more faithful version to the table top original material, a very ambitious project TBH... And this aligned very well with what I wanted so I joined them after adapting some of my own stuff I had modded 🤓 like for example a fully playable Black Templars faction.

Together with Mod team leader "Mirage Knight" we tinkered a lot with what we have to create and implement many of the table top features, I became very experienced with the game scripts being able to create many walkarounds to code limitations and make the game do what we wanted to some extent hehe.

At some point Mirage Knight decided to retire so I was left in charge of the entire mod along a wonderful team of many people from all over the world and we kept trying to improve on what we had, until some disagreements in direction and heated up conversations between members split us...

I just wanted to mod so I kept doing it in solo for a while with a spin off called Pugation of Kaurava even receiving donations through paypal which was very nice....but well I also had to abandon the project as well eventually as the game was Old and other real life events required more my attention.

It wouldn't be the last time I modded a game as some few years later I also got involved in another project for Medieval 2 Total War... yeah another old great game from 2006 but boy it was fun as well, and it made me read a ton of medieval history info that I'm glad I did, because I think it has given me a whole lot better understanding of the world today.

Well this was my first entry for the fourth round of @archdruid's Gaming Contest, I hope you enjoyed my story about my past as video game modder during the early 2000's

Before I go, check this video a French guy did with the mod, too bad he never could finish part 2 though.

Sort:  

oh wow, melo is a game modder! that's so neat :D

great post! thank you for entering @archdruid 's contest \o/ !!!!

Thank you for making it visible! haha
Hugs spidey!!

Thank you melooo182! You've just received an upvote of 40% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Eh, I’ve heard (and written) darker pasts 😜

Good groups are amazing to work with. Splits can be pretty tough though 😵 long as you’re enjoying what you’re doing at the time 🙃

Think you’ll ever mod again maybe?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Maybe...although I'd be more interested in doing a for profit Indie game hehe...back when I modded these games I could allow myself the luxury of doing non for profit projects like modding...I lived with my parents so didn't have to worry about paying a rent hehe.

The other thing is that I barely play video games now a day, the only one I've played in 2019 is "Titan Quest" Anniversary Edition with Ragnarok and Atlantis DLCs...and I play it sparsely like once a week or so.

I fact I'd love to make something like Gris

Interactive playable story ah that's why I love video games


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

For me the best mod for Dawn of War or any game ever is Ultimate Apocalypse. Insanity ensured once you build the ultimate titans.

imperator.png

Oh yeah that one was good too, although I preferred the smaller scale and micromanagement of FoK and subsequently DoW 2 :3.

On a side note, in FoK we produced tons of content free for use on any other DoW mod, which eventually helped to kickstart other mods like Ultimate Apocalypse which had a much more ambitious scope hehe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14