TRAVELMAN ROME, ITALY: Cat Sanctuary Among Roman Ruins

in #animals6 years ago (edited)

This one’s for all the cat lovers out there. Although, I am not a cat lover, I can, however, be called a cat friender. I found this place through happenstance walking through Rome.

9E1DEB7B-B6B3-45EB-86E0-CD92120AF48A.jpeg

This area of town, near the Coliseum, Mussolini’s Typewriter, and the Jewish quarter (town? area?) has a lot of Roman ruins cordoned off like you see in the pic.

As I was staring at it, trying to figure out what it used to be and why I should be interested, I noticed a cat, and then a second cat hanging out in the ruins. Then I noticed a third, then more. Eventually I counted ten. I saw a sign asking people not to feed the cats because they’re well fed and have all their shots.

I found this to be curious. At first I’d thought it was simply a place that stray cats chose to live, plenty of mice. But then I saw stairs down to some kind of area and a sign on the corner (pic above and title card pic). I went down to investigate.

A cat rescue sanctuary was burrowed underneath the road, cats roaming in and around, lounging about and what not.

The woman who worked/volunteered there began talking to me and led me into another room where there were more cats under a higher level of care.

They find the stray cats roaming around Rome, take them in, give them medical attention and shots, and eventually let them out of this closed room to wander as they please in the ruins (probably using it as a giant litter box).

The cat with the soccer ball in front of it is blind and deaf (I think it’s name is Hellen Keller). The woman told me that Eleven of the cats in the room were blind. I think she was tugging on my heart to shake out some money. Don’t know What will become of the cats, I assume they hope for adoption.

The new arrivals have to stay in a kind of quarantine in the cages.

Stumbling upon this place was unexpected and probably one of the highlights of Rome for me, it was different and quirky. I’m sure you could go to their website if you want to donate.

!steemitworldmap 41.8954 lat 12.4772 long Cat Sanctuary Among Roman Ruins d3scr

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality-travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=travelman
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travelman-rome-italy-cat-sanctuary-among-roman-ruins


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This is a beautiful thing to do, I have a soft spot in my heart for cats and I am glad that people are taking care of them. It makes me a little bit sad thinking about blind deaf cats though.

I keep telling myself that I should adopt a cat from a shelter, that day never comes though as I think it's a little impractical for my living situation.

💖🐱

Thanks, very interesting. Especially for me,catlover

Wow, that's a rather marvelous thing to have in a city! I know there are lots of stray cats in Rome (at least there used to be) so I'm sure this is a welcome thing to have!

=^..^=

Congratulations @travelman! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Day 4


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63483.25
ETH 2601.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81