Scrapyard houndssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #animals7 years ago


These were my Mother's two best friends, Lionel the Jack Russel and Mika the Spaniel.

After my mother died in the Spring of 2015 I moved back to her home and stayed for the summer to get everything in order including finding new homes for the dogs.  

She lived at the edge of town and the nearby farms were happy to allow dog walkers to use their paths and let the dogs exercise in the fields. One farmer had rented out a field to an adjacent rail depot for use as a surplus storage area for durable materials(like rocks and stone slabs) and also as a scrapyard for old machines and worn out oil tankers. 

We had a beautiful summer, the oil tankers were great absorbents of heat and when we reached the scrapyard the dogs would often climb on top of the tankers by vaulting up the plastic cyclinders lying parallel to them. They would lie on the tankers, enjoy the heat from the metal on their belly and the wind blowing over the cylinders.

The dogs were found new owners who could provide for them and give them the attention they deserved far better than I could at that point in my life. 

I thought I had lost all the pictures I took of these guys but I found these on my old gmail account. It put a spring in my step as they remind me that at the worst point in my life these two charmers really helped keep my spirits up.

To Lionel and Mika, I hope you guys are doing good and we will do more exploring in the next life, I promise guys. =D


 




Sort:  

Congratulations @steemit-oracle! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @steemit-oracle! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85