STEEM-POWERED GUINEA FOWL - THE NEXT ADDITION TO THE PAPA-PEPPER HOMESTEAD

in #animals7 years ago

A big thanks to @vcelier and @matthewtiii for this one!


Yesterday was a big day for our family. We finally bought our land, had a home-school field trip, and then went an met up with @richq11. Though we did not exactly plan out that series of events. it sure was a lot of fun and also a very interesting time.

In addition, we wound up hours away from home in the Fayetteville, AR area. If you are going to look on nearby Craigslist posts, it is either Springfield, MO or Fayetteville, AR. Most of the posts in those areas are a bit of a drive, but last night, we were in the epicenter. For some time now we had hoped to purchase some Guinea Fowl for our land.

Guinea Fowl are an interesting bird originally from Africa. They are all dark meat, and are excellent at helping remove pests like ticks from a property. I had already mentioned our desire to get some on steemit, and both @matthewtiii and @vcelier had already pitched in some SBD to help pick some up. THANKS GUYS!

Before driving back home from meeting up with @richq11 and helping him out, we decided to check the Fayetteville Craigslist out and see who had some Guinew Fowl Keets for sale. Sure enough, we had some options, so we chose a place on the way back home.

We picked up just under 30 of them from a nice older couple. They had some beautiful adult Guimea Fowl running around the yard too.

Since I did not know how hardy they were or how many would survive, I picked up extra, hoping that we could bless @bluerthangreen & @allforthegood with some later on if we still had extra.

With the amount of ticks that can usually be found down on the land, we are all very excited about our new friends and the potential help that they can provide us. Once our little keets reach maturity, they are a pretty tough bird that can fend and forage for themselves.

THE @LITTLE-PEPPERS AND THE KEETS


To see how the @little-peppers really feel about getting these new animals, you will have to click here to see their post on it. However, we do have a few photos and thoughts to share right now.

For one, these little guys are so cute right now! They are also very fragile and delicate, so we have to be careful. If we can take care of them good enough right now, we can raise them until they can take care of themselves. which will mean less chores!

Of course we really want to thank @vcelier and @matthewtiii for contributing to help us make this purchase. If we get these keets grown and reproducing, we may never need to purchase any ever again. Then, we will have meat, tick control, and perhaps even out keets to sell for generations to come!

When @vcelier donated, he nominated two of them to be called Nano and Marcel. We were thinking that maybe the daughters of @mattewtiii would like to name a few too. Since these ones are very young, and since we have just over 25 of them, we will wait to make sure we know if they will all survive before making sure that they all have names. If anyone still wanted to donate and maybe even name a Guinea Fowl keet, you could for 3 SBD. Of course no one has to, but anyone who wanted to is certainly free to.

@Mama-pepper got these little ones all set up to grow. We will be keeping a close eye on them and making sure that they are doing well. Thanks so much steemit community, we will keep you posted!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-guinea-fowl-keets



Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

They are pretty cute! XD and noisy little buggers too. A friend with some land got some to deal with the ticks and every time i go over all i hear is guinea fowl alarm. At least it's a hilarious noise! (At least i think so i currently don't have to live with it XD)

Hope they all survive to a happy adulthood :)

Yeah, we are very familiar with the noise, and looking forward to it actually. Thanks!

Those guinea fowl babies are so cute. Your children seem really excited to have them. My husband is a doctor and my son, a wild-life filmmaker, so you can imagine how much of animal talk there is at home. In fact, we always have injured birds and animals at home.

That sounds like some good animal fun too!

I am so glad for you. Hope they all survive, looks like @mama-pepper did a good job there setting them up. They look warm and comfortable. My late hubby used to get one-day old chickens and we kept them indoors till they were about a week old. If there is some that start to look weak you can use a syringe and give them a few drops of sugar water. With the chickens, it usually revived them. GOOD LUCK!

Thanks for the tip! Sounds good.

We used to have chicks too and they were fed with a (obviously needle-less) syringe. It's not easy feeding little birds with hand.

Reminds me of my childhood. I had chickens, ducks, birds

If you're anywhere near Springfield, MO go try the Springfield style Cashew Chicken. It's only made that way in that city, and it's incredible. As a Springfield "ex-pat" now living in Los Angeles, I miss it so much. (So much so that, I made my chef roommate download a recipe and try to recreate it hahaha). She did a pretty killer job.

18209386_10105134940804357_6139182714672341524_o.jpg

Get it while you can!

I passed through there about 5 hours ago!

OH NO! GO BACK!!!!

You're not going to, but if you do, and feel like packing some in dry ice and over-nighting it to me, I can make it worth your while :) Haha

Hmmm... I could do that next week, otherwise maybe @winstonwolfe or @giftedgaia could, since they live in town.

Let me know if they don't come through and perhaps I'll give it a go next week.

Hahaha, papa-pepper for the win.

Pretty much serious on that... just for the sake of doing it and blessing you.

Let's talk later, I think I'm busy until Tuesday!

Well, that's amazing. I would be so grateful. (My roommate will also be grateful because she wants to get the sauce right, and needs to taste it herself to actually nail it... perfectionists, am I right? :)

Great pics by the way, thanks for sharing! Talk later next week, I hope :)

I hope so too!

They are so cute!!!

Agreed! We fully agree!

They are looking very cute :)

It was a chicken I feared so much in my childhood.
I was once felt in chase by the chicken but the chicken is not chasing me even he ran scared because there is a motorcycle passing.
I think he chased me and I cried at that time: D LOL

the name papa=pepper reminds me of WWE wrestler Papa Shango http://www.wwe.com/superstars/papashango

I dedicatedly used to watch WWE in my childhood, the very image of Papa Shango used to send shivers down my spine...

But Papa-peppers is a good guy :)

nice post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66167.46
ETH 3530.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15