A Mouthful of Summer With the Bitch on the Beach

in #animalphotography6 years ago (edited)

Lots of great photos, just some skinny text

JohnMuir-47.jpg

Photos taken with a Nikon D200 + Nikon AF-S 40mm f2.8 MG lens.
All images are sized to a width of 1680 pixels, so if you'd like to zoom in, you can use the right-click (CTR-click) options to 'view image' for more detail.
Thanks for stopping by.
🚣

divider.png

The DJ asked me if I'd like to accompany him and Shanti out to the beach at John Muir Country Park (google maps), half-an-hour away by car. I got my stuff together, including the camera and we set off in the warm sunshine.

The beach is a couple of miles from where we left the car
JohnMuir-01.jpg

Shanti led the way
JohnMuir-04.jpg

As we walked through the woods, where paths led off mysteriously into the interior
JohnMuir-02.jpg

Shady encouragement from Shanti, the DJ a red dot in the distance
JohnMuir-03.jpg

Until our first glimpse of the sea
JohnMuir-05.jpg

A drink, a sniff around and a chill for Shanti, smokes for the hyumanz
JohnMuir-06.jpg

JohnMuir-10.jpg

JohnMuir-08.jpg

Shanti had never seen BIG sea like this before, never been in amongst the waves
JohnMuir-09.jpg

JohnMuir-07.jpg

"Come on!" sez the doggie princess, atop her turret
JohnMuir-11.jpg

And on we go...
JohnMuir-12.jpg

...as the beach comes into being with Bass Rock in the distance, its snowy cap made up of centuries of accumulated birdshit (gannets)
JohnMuir-13.jpg

Seaweed, stones and finally sand...
JohnMuir-14.jpg

JohnMuir-15.jpg

JohnMuir-16.jpg

Gonna go in Shanti?
JohnMuir-17.jpg

...but she's off...
JohnMuir-18.jpg

...only to hurry back again, chased by a monster!
JohnMuir-19.jpg

What was that all about eh?
JohnMuir-20.jpg

The DJ spotted a stream of fresh water emptying onto the beach and we followed it up to where a dog could get a drink and we could chill and sit still at the foot of the sandy hill
JohnMuir-21.jpg

JohnMuir-22.jpg

JohnMuir-23.jpg

Formalities over, it's playtime again, hurray!
JohnMuir-32.jpg

JohnMuir-31.jpg

But who's listening?
JohnMuir-30.jpg

Anyone?
JohnMuir-29.jpg

Aha...
JohnMuir-24.jpg

JohnMuir-26.jpg

JohnMuir-25.jpg

I put the camera away and played with Shanti, running up and down on the sand and splashing in the water, barefoot and full of her playful energy. Time vanished
JohnMuir-27.jpg

I came across a snail stranded in the sand, or so it seemed. I picked it up
JohnMuir-33.jpg

It seemed relaxed and poked its head out, clinging slimily to my finger
JohnMuir-34.jpg

I placed it on a wet stone further along by the green and the rushes, where I thought it might fare better. I liked that little snail
JohnMuir-35.jpg

JohnMuir-36.jpg

Although no photos of Barge, the snail gets his hands, and the sand gets his feet
JohnMuir-37.jpg

We have another attempt at going in the sea, but someone is still a little nervous 😉
JohnMuir-38.jpg

Time to go, goodbye beach
JohnMuir-39.jpg

Shanti and the DJ wait for me to take photos, and then we head
JohnMuir-40.jpg

...through a forest of ferns and thistles, residence of Mr & Mrs Tick
JohnMuir-41.jpg

...and along through the woods again, in the late-afternoon light
JohnMuir-44.jpg

JohnMuir-43.jpg

JohnMuir-45.jpg

...past some WWII-era concrete slabs (they were afraid the beach would be invaded 😱)
JohnMuir-42.jpg

...and back to the car.
JohnMuir-46.jpg

JohnMuir-48.jpg

divider.png
Photography posts:-
Bees
Echinacea
Flash the cat
New York City
Tahiti & French Polynesia
Workers in Dubai
Diary Travelogues:-
UK to India overland by car (1973)
Eastern Europe - Poland, Russia, the Baltics (1994)
The Nile and the Pharaohs - Egypt (1996)
Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon (1996)

Sort:  

So glad Shanti escaped from that scary monster!

LOL, she met a greyhound later who stood still for a while and then suddenly took off. I was mesmirised by the chase and didn't think of taking a photo. She's a great girl and she sends a big woof of support to RTB 🔆

What a rad walk. Love the snail macro shots. Looks like you're really getting the shooting bug!

Yeah totally, which is why I don't always take it with me. When I do, it's full immersion. Getting better with the settings and modes. Focus still an issue and lots of great shots blurry. Also, the number of photos to choose from is vast, but I'm getting better at ditching the sentimentality ("oh what a nice shot") and discerning what to choose, to crop etc. I did get a little senti over the snail though :)

I like to have my camera with me all the time; I find that it makes me feel more present. Like most artistic endeavours, it's a constant learning curve, but if the passion's there, the motivation isn't difficult to find. It was that that made me ditch it a few years go and now I'm in the same quandary - two passions and splitting free time between them both. I'm just gonna see if it ebbs and flows and see where it takes me.

I hear you on the sentimentality. I'm still figuring that out, but culling is becoming more and more important for me now that I'm shooting video in 4k and 24 megapix stills. Yeah, disk space is expanding too so maybe manageability in that respect is staying pretty static in terms of stills, but video is just crazy big.

Yeah culling the missed shots is what I'm getting better at. Also discovering the joys of cropping, now that I have larger dimensions to play with. Below is my current wallpaper :D - couldn't get too close and shot in non-macro, but cropped it up.
fly-on-leaf-in-eve-sunlight.jpg

And video ain't getting any smaller lol, you just gotta keep running faster and faster. Keeps you fit I bet :D

Very cool! What are you using for your RAW conversions and editing? PS/ACR or Lightroom? As you know I'm a Lightroom guy and still use it every day. I've been with it since V1 and would struggle without it. It's like a comfy old pair of slippers now.

Hm yes, I've been thinking about lightroom, now that I am working with RAW. PS is good enough, but I'd like to see what I'm missing - be interesting to observe your workflow in LR. What's ACR btw?

Adobe Camera Raw. I don't know if Bridge is still a thing? LR's the way to go though.

Oh yes, I see :) ..... Bridge still was a feature of CS15 when I was in India 2 years ago. I use CS4, but don't use Bridge. Will torrent LR :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-08T10:28:06
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 19.50/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=barge
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-mouthful-of-summer-with-the-bitch-on-the-beach


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Amazing photography! Shanti looks photogenic :)

Thanks @wanderlass, nice to see you!

Yes, Shanti's great, I'd like to get a few pix of her leaping the fence in sunlight. Waiting on conditions and co-operation :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64275.79
ETH 3156.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56