The Honeymakers: Clickety-Clicks of (not so) Busy Buzzing Bees

in #macrophotography6 years ago (edited)

bees.jpg

Both the front and back gardens where I live are left relatively wild. Primroses grow here and those guys are fussy! There are always plenty of bees buzzing around, and they love the bush by the gate in the front garden. This bush produces clusters of little white flowers with shades of delicate violet.

bees-01.jpg

Shanti gets interested too, of course! She snaps away at the bees half-heartedly and ignores our warnings about being stung on the nose. She points out matter-of-factly that I had been snapping away at the bees too - hmm what can I say to such witty canine use of human lingo punnery?

bees-02.jpg

Yes, she's a clever girl and has picked up that flying things are difficult to chase – no stings yet!

bees-03.jpg

Bees soak up energy from the sun, it activates and fuels them as they buzz about their bizz-ness. However, it is not always sunny in Scotland, and this can be a problem. When it rains, the bees can get wet, become inactive and unable to fly. Wet or not, if their energy is depleted, they need to find somewhere to sit and wait until conditions change and they can recharge again.

bee-chill-04.jpg


bee-chill-02.jpg


bee-chill-03.jpg


bee-chill-01.jpg

We had a lot of rain yesterday and this morning I noticed that there were a few sodden bees sitting on the bush. I thought they were dead and gently proded a large one with a twig – it wagged a limb at me in warning and I backed off, apologising. Not sure if they had been sheltering inside the bush all night, but it seems possible.

bee-limb.jpg

Later on, as the sun popped in and out of the clouds, the bees started to stir and buzz around collecting nectar.

bee-nectar-02.jpg


bee-nectar-05.jpg


bee-nectar-06.jpg


bee-nectar-07.jpg


bee-nectar-04.jpg

The bees were very gracious in letting me photograph them with a macro lens, checking me out on occasion, or just ignoring me and getting on with it before buzzing off to the next locus of attention.

buzzing-off.jpg

Thanks bees, you are my 700th post on Steemit :D.

divider.png

Photos taken with a Nikon D200 + Nikon AF-S 40mm f2.8 MG lens.

All images are sized to a width of 1680 pixels, so if you'd like to zoom in, you can use the right-click (CTR-click) options to 'view image' for more detail.
Thanks for stopping by.
🚣

Sort:  

Awesome macro shots! That's a beautiful garden with Princess Shanti. :)

Thanks @wanderlass LOL 🔆 🔆 🔆

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-20T19:00:12
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 6.50/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Superb shots my friend. You're having fun with that lens for sure! Interestingly enough, my first macro shots were of bees on flowers too. It was on a photowalk with a photo instructor in Luxembourg city. He let me borrow his macro lens.

I'd expose a stop higher or, if you're shooting RAW, increase the exposure by a stop or two . Macro's tough though, really tough. That narrow depth of field makes focussing tricky!

Nice to see your enjoying it and I liked your write-up too. Very creative!

Thanks Cams :) ......yup, I shoot RAW, so I have options. I'll do as you suggest and up the exposure a bit -still figuring it out as I go along. Funny about the bees eh - guess they are an obvious choice for macro photography if flowers and sunny weather are available!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56570.01
ETH 3028.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29