These birds are more clever than some of us!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #animal6 years ago

howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas
where we have LOTS of crows. I love having them around because
they eat all kinds of critters, bugs, worms, small reptiles, etc.

The other day when I did a post about the fire-starter birds of
Australia and learned how smart those guys were I started to
wonder how smart ARE birds anyway? Ya know, how smart can they
be?

This led me to discover something about crows which I think you may
not know but might find interesting.

First of all, crows are very social and work together on different
projects like gathering food and driving away predators. They're also
very good at warning each other of approaching danger and I've
witnessed this behavior in the crows we have here in Texas.

Joe-McKenna-Flickr.jpgsource

By the way, everything seems to be bigger here, the crows we have
here are huge, more the size of a hawk, they have to stand at least
15 inches tall.

There's a couple of experiments that demonstrate just how dog gone
smart these guys are. In one experiment they trained the birds to put
cards into a "vending machine" slot in order to get a piece of meat.

The cards were two different sizes, a small size gave a small piece and
a large card gave a larger piece. In that way the crows could choose
which size they wanted. Of course they learned real fast to put in the
larger size for the larger size meat.

Then the scientists took the cards away and put in a sheet of card-
board. Well you know what happened next. The crows used their
talons and beaks to rip off a size and shape matching the large card
that they were using to get the larger pieces of meat! lol.

crow-and-card_1024_1024.jpgsource
In another experiment they presented the crows with a beaker of
water which was half full and had a worm floating on top. The water
level was too low for the crow to reach and the beaker was too
narrow for it to get down to the worm.

They had a selection of rocks, pieces of wood and other items laying
around the beaker. So you can guess what the crows did right? They
not only selected the items which would fit into the beaker but they
selected only the rocks because they knew the rocks would go to the
bottom and displace the water, thus raising the water level and the
worm high enough for them to eat the worm!

maxresdefault.jpgsource

In the wild many crows have been observed using tools in the form of
sticks to get to worms or larvae located in holes found in logs. But it
gets better because they use sticks shaped like a hook in order to
grab hold of the food!

Beak-evolution-key-to-New-Caledonian-crows-tool-use.jpgsource

563a9e674.png

source

Another discovery researchers have observed is that crows will use
hooked sticks to connect objects like metal nuts. They hold the stick
in their beak, put it through the center of the nut and fly away with it.

dn12495-1_700.jpgsource

Scientists say they are the only animal known to use a tool to haul
away an object in this manner but flying away with both objects.

But wait, here is the coolest story of all. There's an 8 year old girl in
Seattle, Washington who started feeding crows that were in the area
of the family's backyard, she would take little pieces of meat and leave
them for the crows. No big deal, lots of people feed birds right?

here she is, 8yr old Gabi Mann:
1 (4).jpgsource

Anyone know what happened next? The crows started leaving gifts for
her! lol. I kid you not..they still do in fact. They leave coins, shiny
objects, glass beads, paperclips, earrings, they even left her a heart-
shaped pendant! Probably snatched if off another kid who wasn't
feeding them!

here's a small selection of what the crows have brought Gabi:
2 (2).jpg
source

When the story came out researchers came calling to check it out
and they confirmed it was true. It was the first story of it's kind that
they knew of but as it got out on the news there were other people
who confirmed being left gifts after feeding crows.

here they are on Gabi's backyard birdbath:
3 (3).jpg
source

ha! I love that but what do you call it? It sure ain't conditioning or
instinct. It's either a type of trading or of thankfulness!
Thankfulness??? Do birds have emotions? lol. I don't know.
Leaving gifts because of gratitude would mean they have morals!
Is that possible?

I don't want to upset anyone but when I was a kid and didn't know
any better I use to shoot them for target practice. Now that I know
how smart they are I feel bad. Now I have the uttmust respect for
them.

I'd love to hear any ideas any of you have on the questions I've
raised here, it's above my pay grade to understand these amazing
birds!

thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy Texas
the gentleman redneck

ps- ya know, you might just be a redneck if:

Your wife wants to stop at the gas station to see if they've got the
new Darrell Waltrip Budweiser wall clock!

texas-facts.jpg

Sort:  

Nature is much smarter than we give her credit for. I love birds my favorite being Ravens. They are smart too. Sometimes I am lucky enough that they come and visit me and I will leave them with some of their favorite food, watermelon. No idea why since they eat dead animals but they always eat it. Anyways, great post! What's your favorite bird? And don't say bald eagle hahaha

howdy this fine Wednesday sir balticbadger! are you talking about the Ravens coming to visit you where you are now or when you were in the States? I'm assuming that they are everywhere.
of course my favorite is the Bald Eagle, next of course, if you've read my posts I'm always talking about and showing photos of our amazing Road Runners but you may have started reading since I've shown one of those last, I figure people will get tired of seeing them. lol.

This was an awesome article @janton, and a lovely story.

Gabby and her weird little "trade" she had going on with the crows...

Amazing, I know they like to "steal" shining things, but I did not know they traded shiny-objects for food like that, cats do similar things sometimes...

This is a very nice story indeed!

Thanks for sharing!

-Edit: -Im resteeming this one!

/FF

howdy there friendly-fenix! I'm so glad you liked that one, I was fascinated by it and thanks so much for resteeming!

No problems @janton, good article!!!
Also I have don't want to say too much, but I am working on a friendship with one of these birds, not exactly the same species, but a sub-species from the same family... This one comes in to my place sometimes and tries to "knick" shiny objects...

=)

/FF

really? how interesting friendly-fenix! that is super cool and what an amazing post or series of posts that would make, good for you!

Thank you @janton!
Well, lets hope the bird comes back...
=)
/FF

howdy this fine Wednesday evening friendly-fenix! yes perhaps it will be back bringing gifts!

The problem is that this bird has too much trash to eat, from the yard. There is this a dumpster-diver that comes every night going through the trash bins looking for god knows what, and he trows the trash all over the place, then the birds come and they pick up the left overs and poke holes in the trash bags... =(

Nothing wrong if you are poor and you have to look for things in the trash, but please put the damn trash back into the container... This infuriates me, I am getting old I think...

/FF

haha! hey friendly-fenix ..you are getting old because you don't want people throwing garbage all over and trashing the whole parking lot? then I'm old too, that is disgusting! I feel bad for people like that if it is the only way they can eat but what a mess!

plus it makes it so the birds don't have to come get food from you! lol.

Oh wow. Hey, thanks for this interesting info. Makes me think.......in a survival situation, spare a piece of meat each meal for the crows. They might bring you something useful!

haha! or you could get them used to coming to you and then whack them for their meat, the ones here would make a good meal!

Oh man crows are some of my favorite birds. My wife and I stumbled upon the story of the gift-giving crows and the 8 year girl awhile back and we were utterly fascinated by this concept. We planned to attract a few to our yard, but haven't started the process yet.

sir papacrusher! that's super cool. we have them all around us but whenever we step outside they're gone, they're extremely skiddish and don't get within 100 ft of us if that so at least out here I don't know how you would attract them except leaving food out but then the other birds that stay closer to the house would probably eat it.
it's a very cool thought though.

I downloaded a crow call app on my phone and researched buying crow decoys to bring them closer. I've had them respond to the calls, but my wife made me stop because she wasn't ready to start with feeding and a routine...lol

howdy papacrusher! hey bytheway, what does your username mean? as far as the crows, that is very interesting..so you guys could try this experiment at any time!

hey no one has answered my questions yet. why do you think the crows leave the gifts? is it gratefulness? that would mean they have a conscious though would it not? or are they trading but that would mean the same thing. right?

I think it is no different than learning to place cards in a machine to get treats. i think it may be learned behavior to get more food/treats. If they have learned that if they leave a gift they get food, it would fall within the lines of the other learned behavior they have exhibited in studies.

Here is an old post where I explained the origins of my user name: https://steemit.com/life/@papacrusher/steemit-name-challenge-papa-crusher Thanks for asking. In special meaning associated with your username?

papacrusher! you are so correct in the assertion of the crows behavior.
as far as my username, no I wish I would have thought up a clever one like so many on here or a cool sounding one like you have but I didn't even know if I was going to stay or work this steemit thing, it was so unlike me and I'd never been on a social media site before.

so mine is just the first initial of my first name and then my last name.
so I see it as j anton but everyone else sees it as janton! lol.
I read your post, I admire Hemingway a great deal also.

Another great post Cowboy! Yes, Crows are highly evolved beings IMHO. They can teach us quite a bit...much like dogs and all animals, really. It's up to us to pay attention ;) hehe <333 btw ~ so glad to hear you feel differently about using them for target practice. Much love as always!!!

reikigirl! of course I feel differently, that was the old me that used to enjoy killing but that was before I got saved. After that is was only to kill varmits that were destroying crop fields or bad snakes and such.

Crows are highly evolved? how do you figure that? also, I don't suppose you have any around there because wouldn't that be fun to build a relationship with them in your forest? I LOVE that idea! they would be bringing you all sorts of things!

I am still working on developing my relationship with Birds but I will keep you posted! :) <3333 So far my gifts have come in the form of different plants as they gift me seeds by their very presence which seems to be correlated with the work I have done in the forest so far...the population of birds has easily tripled since I began in 2014 and I haven't even come close to identifying them all. I have noticed that Robins, Sparrows & Grackles observe me the most & most closely though ;) I am in the process of earning their trust (all birds, not just crows). <333

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

ok...alrighty then...... what in the world is a Grackle? hey wait, what about since 2014? you've been there for 4 years and you're just now starting to clean the junkyard up?
how could you stand living like a bum for 4 years?
were you in a drunken stupor the whole time?

LOL!!! Well, I am really not a big fan of alcohol, so that's a no hahaha but since you asked Cowboy....I started in the fall of 2014, and that's when I became aware of the level of rehabilitation the forest needed which was daunting but that wasn't my biggest problem or setback. You see, the neighbor out back with the chickens & rooster....we didn't used to get along so well back in the day. Let's just say she was hell bent on stealing the forest and not even treating it nicely! She really thought she was just gonna keep dumping shit (and I mean that quite literally as well as figuratively). On top of that, I didn't (and still don't yet) have enough financially to put up a fence, so contending with the daily dumpings from her donkeys, horses & multiple dogs (who would run freely through my forest and yard (she did try to use that as an intimidation tactic for a long period of time). I had alot to deal with. She used to also DRIVE through my yard (NOT A THROUGH WAY OR RIGHT OF WAY) which further complicated things. So in short, I was shoveling a shit tide and stuck patrolling my property (at the time with my trusty machete) to get the point across. It took a long while (and alot of my letting my Shadow side show itself!!) but things got better :) <333 and now I wouldn't say we are friends, but we are friendly, and the village knows that I am cool as fuck but not to be fucked with hahaha. So now, I am able to proceed <333 That's the short version LOL

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

oh wow reikigirl..that has been quite a test for you, now I see why you didn't get much done since 2014.. that neighbor didn't want you to be foolin with that forest that she considered hers and has been using as a dumping ground for years, probably decades!

You really had to maintain your cool and walk in wisdom, I'm impressed!
Now she only lets chickens in your forest?
ya know this whole drama could have been some great posting material!

It was hard Cowboy..so hard! During it all, I wasn't so proud of myself to be honest. I really think I could have done better, but truthfully I did what was necessary. I am just thankful to be on the other side of that situation (which honestly I didn't think was ever going to end). I suppose it would have been great posting material, except that it was drama. I really don't like drama. I am kind of embarrassed that I had to let out so much heat to get my point across to her & her family. Yes, now it's just the chickens and I am even going to make a community garden on the edge of the forest in between her & I <333 but there's much work to accomplish before that actually takes shape. But I did make it a point to communicate to her during spring of my intention :)

you communicated that to her and what was her reaction?
what kind of heat did you have to let out?
sounds kinda scary. remind me not to make you mad, especially when you have your machete.
they sound like real, real rednecks but not the good kind.

I heard about the crows leaving gifts for the little girl. It's such a cool story. The crows here just steal cat food that we leave out and don't leave a dang thing. LoL

hahaha! those crows you have there aren't very grateful or generous! ha! well that girl spent years feeding them but the article didn't say how long it was before they started leaving gifts for her so maybe in time yours will if they know you are feeding them consistently.

An interesting post. Yes, I have come across some of the experiments on crows you mentioned. Totally, absolutely awesome. They are certainly smarter than we think, and a bit more. :-)

yes sir I agree but no one has answered my questions about them, maybe people are afraid to or they don't know. why are the crows doing the gift thing, do they have some kind of gratitude? and wouldn't that indicate that they have a conscious? or a moral obligation? lol.

They wouldn't know the answer to your questions for sure. Going by what you posted, it would appear that they do have qualities like showing gratitude and morals. That wouldn't be surprising at all would it? Surely, humans are not the only animals that have consciousness and can show moral obligations. In fact, some humans behave so poorly, they are no better than animals.

howdy today sir quotes-haven! I don't know if they have consiciousness but it appears that they do at least to some degree. It would be very surprising to me because I've never heard of such a thing with birds. with dogs yes of course but not birds, I thought it was all instinct with birds but you are SO right about humans. I hate that about us! lol.
thanks for the great comment sir quotesalot!

You are most welcome.

Crows have to be one of the smartest birds janton, we see them getting into lunch boxes to eat the leftovers at school. They appear to be clever problem solvers. Interesting post and your crows are indeed big in your neck of the woods in the Northern Hemisphere.

oh so you all have them down there too huh? they must be all over the world then. that's very interesting.

I will feed the birds in the winter, in the summer I'd rather they eat the bugs. I leave out peanuts for blue jays also. One year there was a blue jay just making a huge fuss out front. After a bit I thought something must be wrong. I went off the porch and the bird started flying down the way and would stop and continue to make a fuss, this kept up as I trailed the bird around the corner and found one of her babies had fallen out of it's nest. I tried to get the baby bird but it kept running, then the momma bird squawked away at it and it stood perfectly still while I picked it up. There was no way I could put the bird back in the nest so I took it to a wooded area about half a block away that ran along a highway with a fence lining it. I figured she could take care of it and defend it from predators and that being along the highway there may not be as many predators. Birds are a lot smarter then we give them credit for that's for sure.

wow! oh my gosh sunlit7 that is a great story! ha! you went to all that trouble but then obviously the mother Bluejay was wanting you to help her, that is totally amazing.
well I salute you for not only helping but for doing it in such a careful and caring manner, I suppose it turned out well, too bad there wasn't a way to keep track of them afterwards, great job though!

The dolphin of the sky.

hahaha! yes sir Oatmeal! that is a great comparison or analogy because the Dolphins are also tremendously intelligent and appear to care about humans, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52