You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: These birds are more clever than some of us!

in #animal6 years ago

I will feed the birds in the winter, in the summer I'd rather they eat the bugs. I leave out peanuts for blue jays also. One year there was a blue jay just making a huge fuss out front. After a bit I thought something must be wrong. I went off the porch and the bird started flying down the way and would stop and continue to make a fuss, this kept up as I trailed the bird around the corner and found one of her babies had fallen out of it's nest. I tried to get the baby bird but it kept running, then the momma bird squawked away at it and it stood perfectly still while I picked it up. There was no way I could put the bird back in the nest so I took it to a wooded area about half a block away that ran along a highway with a fence lining it. I figured she could take care of it and defend it from predators and that being along the highway there may not be as many predators. Birds are a lot smarter then we give them credit for that's for sure.

Sort:  

wow! oh my gosh sunlit7 that is a great story! ha! you went to all that trouble but then obviously the mother Bluejay was wanting you to help her, that is totally amazing.
well I salute you for not only helping but for doing it in such a careful and caring manner, I suppose it turned out well, too bad there wasn't a way to keep track of them afterwards, great job though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59796.03
ETH 2732.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52