Six Reasons to Keep Your Grass Cut Short in TexassteemCreated with Sketch.

in #animal6 years ago

howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas
where you need to keep your eyes open when you walk outside!

lol. I was talking to a local Sheriff who told me that most people who
get bitten by snakes are walking around the yard with flip flops on
and not paying attention to where they're walking, much of the time
in tall grass!

It makes no sense to me but isn't that the nature of us humans
generally speaking? It's why they say self-driving cars will save so
many lives..because people get distracted so easily or they don't
pay attention in the first place.

Anyway we have some critters out here that it's best to avoid unless
you're wanting to catch them for some reason. Well, one of them is
ticks so I don't know why anyone would want to catch those but here's
a list of things to avoid in the grass in Texas.

here's that tick I was talking about, little blood suckers carry diseases:

tick-bites-s2-look-like.jpg
source

Copperhead. they're venomous:
1200px-Copperhead05.jpgsource

Water Moccasin. most deadly snake in North America:
cottonmouth7782.jpgsource

scorpion:
sculptured_scorpion.jpg
source

Now here's a picture of one of the front yards in our neighborhood
and we always cringe when we see the little toddlers out there
playing in the tall grass:
DSC00146.JPG

Sometimes the grass is even taller than that! Would you let your little
kids play out there in that grass in Texas? We keep our grass SHORT.
There's also chiggers and fleas that come with tall grass.

And I we don't walk around in flip flops neither. Ok well, after that I do
have some good pictures to show you that I got of our beloved
Road Runners:
DSC05461.JPG

DSC08845.JPG
the bottom 3 photos were taken by me.

The Road Runners are faithfully patrolling all around our house
catching all kinds of critters, they're a blessing!

Thanks for reading folks and God bless you all!
-jonboy Texas
the gentleman redneck

ya know...you might just be a redneck if:

If you refer to the 5th grade as "your senior year!"

texas-facts.jpg

Sort:  

Ive started wearing tall boots or snake guards when I walk through brush like that and always check for tics at the end of the day.

well howdy there solominer, it's good to see you here. Well that is darn wise of you sir, otherwise it's just asking for trouble. thanks so much for reading and commenting!

That's cool that you have roadrunners to eat some of the insects! My grandfather dearly loved roadrunners! I'm not sure he ever saw any in El Paso, Texas where we lived or if he saw them in New Mexico, where he would go to vacation.

howdy there violetmed! oh they are so fun to watch but they are so fast that I've taken dozens and dozens of pictures trying to catch them in a still pose like these were, they usually only stay still for a few seconds before dashing off!

I think it's rare to have them this far North because they like the desert but we're sure that God gave them to us as a gift because they're such a blessing!
thank you so much for commenting!

Congratulations @janton! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

The dog picks up ticks swimming in the water and being near cow dung in the fields. I examine him regularly and I actually love finding one. Little squeeze around where the tick has latched on will draw him or her up and then a little pull until you hear a pop and you got the bugger. Its like busting a spot when you were a teenager!! 😂. As for the copperheads, Id run a mile!

howdy again sir blanchy! yeah anytime Jack goes into tall grass we find ticks on him unless it's wintertime but we just use tweezers and get them off before they attach and start sucking blood. snakes are scary because they're always a surprise, you never know when they're coming around or where they'll be!

I am so glad that we do not have venomous snakes where I live. Ticks- we have plenty of those. Matter-of-fact both my son and my grandson have had Lymes disease from the nasty critters. Now I'm worried for those toddlers, too.

My buddy just got it too... Had to take a full week off of work during the worst of it. Nasty disease from nasty bugs!

It really is awful. When my kids were growing up it was not anything that we ever worried about. They got ticks and mosquito bites and all those things and it never occurred to us that they would get sick from them. They never did get sick from them, I guess, they were just pesky critters, not dangerous ones!

oh man sir dollarsandsense! is there a medical treatment for them or do you just treat it like the flu?

Not sure to be honest. I believe it’s just one of those things you have to ride out. Lots of fluids and rest, just like the flu

I ain't got time to rest or be out sick and you don't either! lol.

@melinda010100 ha! yes Ma'am me too. hey about the Lyme disease, what was that like? what kind of sickness or symptoms and how do they get well?

My son got bit by a tick when he was here at my house in Wisconsin and he went back to Chicago and went to work, without noticing the bull's-eye rash that had developed on the back of his knee. He developed a high fever and was sick enough to go to the emergency room where the doctor saw the rash and immediately knew what was causing the fever. they put him on an extreme dose of antibiotics for several weeks. He was really sick and off work for some time he had a lot joint pain and he had to quit running. My grandson was quite young at the time they did antibiotics with him and he seemed to recover pretty quickly.

howdy back melinda010100..oh my..that's some serious stuff. Well when he got well there are no lasting signs of it?

That was 5 years ago, and he seems pretty healthy now, thank goodness.

yes Ma'am thank God!

You certainly do not need to tell me twice

oh. really? does that mean you're in the South? like the South as in the United States not the South of France.

Lol you know I keep my lips sealed about myself for now. Okay I'll give you just this one... I do not live in the US

ahha! ok..well that narrows the mystery down..kinda..not much..somewhere else that has ticks and snakes which is almost everywhere except Antactica! lol. thank you empress!

Eesh, Texas gives Australia a run for its money in the "number of things that live here and will kill you" game!

howdy there @dollarsandsense! ha! yeah it IS kinda crazy. Of course I should have specified that this is just for those living out in the country but I figured people would understand that on their own. right? lol. thanks so much for commenting sir!

Good advice for living in most parts of the country. Especially the precious little ones. Personally, I HATE TICKS. LIKE EWWWWW!!!!!! I'd rather have a leach on me than a tick.

haha! yes ticks suck literally! and I think everyone has them until winter comes. and I don't know why they're here on earth, like what is their purpose?

I have often wondered that! Mosquitoes too. How do they fit in other than maybe food for another critter but why be vampires and disease bringers. Sounds like something made in a lab that got loose to me! What did cave people do about them? Did the pioneers get tick borne diseases? Hey, did cowboys? NO? Hmm........

yeah I have wondered many times what the Indians did about them, you know they had a way to deal with them.

Either that or they weren't a problem back then.

well they had to be unless those dang Europeans brought them!

Don't see many snakes or scorpions around here but the ticks will carry you off and suck you dry! My sister almost died from a tick bite when we were kids. Exactly why I love these spoiled guineas!
Great reminder!

ha! yes, great point but what have you been doing without them, do you spray yourselves down with something?

No spray. I have cats and parrots just to risky. Keep the grass cut around the yard and stay out if the woods. I forage along the edge where I mow.

oh I see..yes I agree.

Oh yeah! Tall grass is not your friend in the south, that's for sure. Lots and lots of critters including lyme disease if bitten by a tick.

That would be really hard to witness that tall grass in the childrens' play area. :(

makes us cringe whenever we drive by and it's always that bad or worse but howdy youhavewings! hows it going? did you post the last couple of days? I spend so much time commenting that I miss peoples posts.

so good to see you here, thank you for reading and commenting!

Good Mornin' @janton!

I did make a couple posts....I think you will like 'Ollie' ;)

I don't know how you comment so much! It seems like it would be difficult to keep up with so much of the Steemit activity - you have super-steemian powers!

I would cringe, too riding by that - just for the safety hazard and children. We had some neighbors that let their two and three year olds run the neighborhood and woods and I was in a constant state of worry for them. Fortunately, they are fine so maybe all will be well with the tall grass.

Always nice to see you - enjoy your day!

howdy this fine Monday youhavewings! I don't keep up with things very well, I'm usually running behind so I don't want to keep this pace up forever and want to concentrate on getting better posts out.

what is today like for you? I think you said you homeschool so it is a very full day yes?
I will go over to your blog today, thank you! I'm trying to keep track of so many people that some can slip through and I don't want to miss yours!

Maybe you can make a post out of your 'comments' and highlight the posts you find interesting - that way you are doing both at one time ;) "@janton's Daily Highlights" or weekly. I'm sure you have a pretty good pulse on a lot of things going on with Steemit.

I thought maybe we had this day 'off' because of the holiday but turns out that class is still on. Next week the full schedule kicks in with physics added but today it is just voice and piano.

ahh! that's a good strategy youhavewings, I may have to implement that one! I don't know if I have a good pulse on what's going on or not, I'm usually surprised that I haven't heard about something and then the people telling me are surprised that I haven't heard about it either but steemit is a big place and everyday I see people and groups that I've never heard of! But I have a couple of people who keep me informed who are much more connected to leaders and movers than I am.

So you have to teach physics?? or is this online classes?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57743.27
ETH 3083.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42