Don't confuse the U.S. with AmericasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #anarchy8 years ago (edited)

Here's a quote from Doug Casey that I liked.
Source: Doug Casey on the Recent Corruptions of the English Language

"Everybody likes the United States. Well, I’m not sure I do, because they so often conflate the United States with the U.S. government. Talking heads will say, “The U.S. did this. The U.S. should do that.” Wait a minute. Do they mean the nation-state that lies in between Canada and Mexico, or do they mean the U.S. government? They’re almost always talking about the U.S. government. So, they’re conflating the U.S. itself, a conglomeration of 300 million people, with the U.S. government.

They’re two different things. The U.S. government has a life of its own. And it only really cares about the U.S. the way a flea cares about a dog. A flea needs the dog; it wants the dog to survive. But not because it cares about the dog itself. The prime directive of every living being, whether it’s an amoeba or a corporation or a government, is SURVIVE. That’s the prime directive; it comes before anything else. The U.S. government is an entity that has a life of its own. Its prime directive is looking out for number one. So, don’t conflate the U.S. and the U.S. government. If you mean the government, say it. If you mean the country, say, “… the U.S., and I don’t mean the U.S. government.” Unfortunately, it’s now necessary to be extremely clear. Otherwise, people will assume what they will…

But it’s worse than that, because people now conflate the U.S. with America. They’re totally different things. America is a unique concept, and it was an excellent concept. Its values—what it stood for, at least in theory—were actually unique in the world’s history. But people conflate that with the U.S., which is now really just another one of the 200 nation-states that cover the face of the Earth like a skin disease. I’m all for the idea of America. It’s unique, it’s good, it’s wonderful. But the U.S. is just another nation-state, like Burundi, Burma, or Ecuador—there’s less and less practical difference. Be especially careful when you conflate the U.S. and America."

Sort:  

In order for others to reconize the difference between usa and america and governments all over the world One must first know the difference between nations and statets and also study the 3 ibrahamic faith, and then study constitution, common law and so on, great post @stan.

Hi there!

I'm not willing to add any fuel to the existing drama, still, I would like to point it out that this quote of yours is still copy-pasted text without any original comment.

Copying/Pasting full texts is frowned upon by the community. Sharing content by itself adds no original content and no value.

Share content and add value by:

  • Using a few sentences from your source in “quotes.” Use HTML tags or Markdown.
  • Linking to your source
  • Include your own original thoughts and ideas on what you have shared.

Repeated copy/paste posts are considered spam. Spam is discouraged by the community, and may result in action from the cheetah bot.

Please, next time you feel like sharing such quote, add your original thoughts on why you like it, we would all be interested in reading your own thoughts. :)

Thank you!

Stan,
Take a look at a post I made about 4 weeks ago.
Hiding Your Bitcoin, Steem, Eth, ETC.
I think some of the information applies here. I know that Monero has fallen out of favor, but Dash could be used as well.

Looks like your image is down Bro.

Yes. But I can't edit it now. Feeling nostalgic tonight.

Thanks, I like it!

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

removed the upvote I gave you after i seen the site you stole your post from. :/

http://thedailycoin.org/2016/09/16/doug-casey-on-the-recent-corruptions-of-the-english-language-part-ii/
Not a kool look yo!

I gave proper credit in the first line of the post....

I guess you did.
You know for it to be considered fair use you have to have 80% of your own work on it right?

Unless you got written permission from the original author.

I did not notice the whole post is one quote from someone else

My bad.

It looks like he said that this post was a quote right away...

       Here's a quote from Doug Casey that I liked.
       Source: Doug Casey on the Recent Corruptions of the English Language

Yes he did, I didn't realize till now.
my bad.
It is still not 80% of his own content so does not fall under fair use. I will fix my post about it now.
thankyou for letting me know where I was wrong.

Good idea, and I sincerely appreciate your whistle-blowing effort.'

I think that you know that, so I appreciate how you are handling this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63491.17
ETH 2618.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79